Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:54:05 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970 simultaneous Diablo 3 and mining  (Read 3117 times)
tonto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


BubblesBit.com


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 06:07:09 PM
 #1

So if you're a gaming nerd like me, you might like to know that you can play Diablo 3 and still mine nearly full-bore at the same time, and not taking any noticeable (at least that I could tell) hit on visible FPS.  Any FPS loss that I could detect seemed to be from network lag
 
If there were any hits, my eyes suck then, or I'm just too used to old crappy video cards Smiley
 
I wanted to try it so that I could still mine and have the miner use unused GPU processing power when the game wasn't using it, thereby keeping me from "wasting" when I was gaming.  That way it would be above zero during my gaming time, too. Smiley
 
Using diablominer

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481115245
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481115245

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481115245
Reply with quote  #2

1481115245
Report to moderator
1481115245
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481115245

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481115245
Reply with quote  #2

1481115245
Report to moderator
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 06:14:41 PM
 #2

You're saying you're mining at the full rate - or just that you were able to play a game >30FPS?

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
tonto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


BubblesBit.com


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 06:26:56 PM
 #3

er yeah, the latter.  I probably didn't word that very well in my original post.
 
I guess I just meant that if you love to game like I do, you can still do so... i've had games before that crashed when I tried to simultaneously mine, but with D3, I haven't had that problem. Smiley

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 06:31:52 PM
 #4

er yeah, the latter.  I probably didn't word that very well in my original post.
 
I guess I just meant that if you love to game like I do, you can still do so... i've had games before that crashed when I tried to simultaneously mine, but with D3, I haven't had that problem. Smiley
Ah, gotcha. I hate mining for what it's done with my thinking. Any time I want to play a game, I'm thinking... "So... if I play for four straight hours, it'll cost $1 + additional CPU power." Goes beyond that, too... Now I'm thinking of how much it costs to watch TV, run fans during summer, turn on the exhaust fan when taking a shower, how much it costs to heat a pot of water, and on and on. - And then there's "how much does it cost to enable high-res shadows in Skyrim given I could otherwise undervolt and downclock the card for the same FPS rate in the game?" Pretty sure I'll be willing to play D3 instead of mining at the full rate, though.  Grin

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
tonto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


BubblesBit.com


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 07:09:49 PM
 #5


Ah, gotcha. I hate mining for what it's done with my thinking. Any time I want to play a game, I'm thinking... "So... if I play for four straight hours, it'll cost $1 + additional CPU power." Goes beyond that, too... Now I'm thinking of how much it costs to watch TV, run fans during summer, turn on the exhaust fan when taking a shower, how much it costs to heat a pot of water, and on and on. - And then there's "how much does it cost to enable high-res shadows in Skyrim given I could otherwise undervolt and downclock the card for the same FPS rate in the game?" Pretty sure I'll be willing to play D3 instead of mining at the full rate, though.  Grin

haha, yeah, before mining, it would be nothing that I might sit down in front of a game and just kill time that way, but now I have to ask myself, "Do you *really* want to play that game tonight?  At risk of losing that almost-daily bitcoin?"   Smiley
 
I've found myself getting more shit done around the house, fixing my boat, etc, etc. Smiley

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
Projects
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 09:47:12 PM
 #6

This thread seems like it was made for me!
Any advices from the op or others would be grateful.
I am new to bitcoin and have just purchased a pc to mine and for gaming  (cant really game on my laptop well) and I am also waiting for D3 and will be playing it intensively when it is released.
The PC I have bought was in a bundle with a 21.5 inch monitor, keyboard and mouse and was a good price however I know I need to upgrade to do the above.
Please advise me what I should/need to upgrade to do this

•Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
•Intel Pentium Dual Core processor
•4Gb RAM
•500Gb hard drive
•USB optical mouse and keyboard included
•DVD+RW drive
•21.5 inch monitor
•8x USB port; HDMI
•Integrated graphics
•Dell Inspiron 620 desktop PC


THANKS

Buying Bitcoins for cash or gold/silver bullion many methods to pay you - pm me for more information
Bank transfer, Cash, Postal Order, Western Union, MoneyGram, SEPA, Amazon & More  - Worldwide Transfers Available
*NEW* BTC for Citibank P2P transfers - USD/EUR please pm me for more information
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1021



View Profile
March 01, 2012, 03:53:46 AM
 #7

I would use USB graphics cards with that many usb ports.  Did you get the optional data glove?

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
Projects
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 07:19:03 AM
 #8

Hi can you reccomend any usb graphics cards I had no idea they existed.
Also what is an optional data glove?

Buying Bitcoins for cash or gold/silver bullion many methods to pay you - pm me for more information
Bank transfer, Cash, Postal Order, Western Union, MoneyGram, SEPA, Amazon & More  - Worldwide Transfers Available
*NEW* BTC for Citibank P2P transfers - USD/EUR please pm me for more information
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 10:55:37 PM
 #9

Dynamic mode in cgminer will allow you to mine and game at the same time as well. If you don't specify an intensity it uses dynamic mode.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 02:13:30 PM
 #10

Also remember Diablo 3 will have it's own marketplace when released.

In game gear for BTC or USD... yes please!

Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 05:30:47 PM
 #11

Also remember Diablo 3 will have it's own marketplace when released.

In game gear for BTC or USD... yes please!
Man... Blizzard staff would be so pissed if after all this work and criticism they've taken for implementing a USD AH, an underground market again popped up because people wanted to trade using BTC instead of USD.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
echris1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 04:38:57 AM
 #12

I have two cards running in my gaming PC using cgminer.  At first whenever I played I would just disable the GPU I was using for the desktop in cgminer, and the second one would plug along at full blast just fine.

Now I just set the desktop GPU to dynamic intensity.  Games are a bit choppy at times, but all in all you can't notice that mining is on.  Your MH/s drops accordingly, but only on the one GPU your using for gaming.

I am not in crossfire here, haven't found a game that really needed it and didn't feel like messing with the hassle for mining.

So, if you want to game, try setting cgminer to dynamic and check how the game responds. 

I've never had any problems, although I'm not sure how a single card system would handle this.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!