Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 01:33:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is my setup viable enough? Screenshot inside (1 x HD6990)  (Read 1729 times)
arvinrajsinghgill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 12:15:13 PM
 #1

Hey guys, so i just received my used HD 6990 yesterday, and was messing with the mining softwares and options. Decided to go with cgiminer. At the moment I am mining under windows, however when i am out of the house (usually 4 days per week) , the miner would be running under linux.

Below is the screenshot:



I am currently mining under the pool :mining.bitcoin.cz

Both GPUs clock has been set to 900MHz with the bios switch turned on.

Memory has been set to about 450MHz.

Fan is running 100%

Room temps varies from about 32+ Degrees in the afternoon - 29+ Degrees at night. I am from Malaysia.

Is this setup efficient enough? Is there anything wrong that you guys could grab from the output of cgminer?

Smiley

Edit: Should i underclock my CPU / any other components to promote more power usage efficiency?

Currently on my rig:

i5 2500K Processor @ Stock @ 3.333GHz
1 Samsung 1TB Sata HDD
1 Seagate 1TB Sata HDD
1 Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
2 Artic F12 PWM fans
1 Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler

(I could unlink all drives when i am running under linux using a pendrive , as mentioned above, when i am out from my house, usually 4 days in a row)
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin-Qt, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481290381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481290381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481290381
Reply with quote  #2

1481290381
Report to moderator
1481290381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481290381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481290381
Reply with quote  #2

1481290381
Report to moderator
1481290381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481290381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481290381
Reply with quote  #2

1481290381
Report to moderator
bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 01:29:02 PM
 #2

I would try and get your temps down below 80, can you improve airflow in the case? failing that drop the clock speed down as running the fans at 100% all the time will shorten thier life considerably, also might be worth setting the power management to spin down the hard disks when your not there as no point running them if they arnt in use

Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
arvinrajsinghgill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 02:34:38 PM
 #3

Thanks bangra. I have removed the side panel from my casing, Silverstone TJ08-E and temps are around 80 Celsius.

Will try lowering the clock speeds and see how it goes.

By the way, how would i set to spin down the HDD when the system is not in use in LINUX? I'll be running the miner under linux after this. The distro would be Xubuntu.
bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 03:27:35 AM
 #4

Any reason for the change to linux? just change windows power management to power down the drives when not in use after x mins, if you can clean any cable clutter from around the card front and back and give it acces to clear air it will help more, the card needs some breathing room if the ambient temp rises and the fan is already flat out the card wont be able to cool itself


Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
arvinrajsinghgill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 04:44:22 PM
 #5

Any reason for the change to linux? just change windows power management to power down the drives when not in use after x mins, if you can clean any cable clutter from around the card front and back and give it acces to clear air it will help more, the card needs some breathing room if the ambient temp rises and the fan is already flat out the card wont be able to cool itself



I noticed better Mhashes with linux. Perhaps its the drivers? On Windows 7, i am running everything at minimal, in which i mean the aero visuals and animations are turned off.

Cleaned my case and cleared the cable clutter. It seems better now. I've removed my Hdds except for the SSD.
Mark Rose
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 06:45:06 PM
 #6

Any reason for the change to linux? just change windows power management to power down the drives when not in use after x mins

You can change the spin down time of drives using hdparm in Linux.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!