Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:26:51 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining 7970 with linuxcoin bounty [20 btc]  (Read 5436 times)
abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 03:34:22 PM
 #41

well i use teamviewer to view my windows miners you can see the temps fine stop and startminers overclock but i do understand for a mining rig the less power taken up by hdd cdrom drive and cpu and ram the better so i understand if you use linux on a flash drive
1480912011
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912011

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912011
Reply with quote  #2

1480912011
Report to moderator
1480912011
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912011

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912011
Reply with quote  #2

1480912011
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 05:29:11 PM
 #42

why not just pxeboot/tftpboot/<whatever flavour of the month network booting method> all the linux boxes, no disk, no usb flash - just sufficient RAM to store something like BAMT, a network with a list of mac addresses of the cards to boot the relevant OS, and or driver configs required.

marked

That would be AWESOME!

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 05:32:24 PM
 #43

In 2005, I've setup "high-end" server using  P5AD2 motherboard, RAID SATA drives running Knoppix.
I just wanted to resell it today, guess what?  You cannot find Win7 drivers for sound, network and sata for that motherboard.
The machine has zero resell value.  Average desktop users don't want "old"  Linux machines.

So, do I understand correctly that you're moaning and bitching because ASUS didn't write Windows 7 drivers for a board released in 2003?
May I remind you that Windows 7 was released to the public in late 2009?
No, you're right, it's all Linux's fault.
Newbies... guaranteed to make you laugh Roll Eyes
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 06:22:33 PM
 #44

No. You misunderstood.
Anyway, the guy asked for help with linuxcoin.  Please help him install latest SDK, driver and miner since you are such an expert in Linux.  I've packaged Linux distros way back when; I know how much work it can be.  Maybe these days things are different, but I prefer to stay away from Linux because it can be very time consuming (if you run into problems).
If you are an expert in Linux, maybe you can release 7970 distro, you know, hardened, static modules compiled into the kernel, etc.  If you just using someone's distro, YOU are the Linux newbie.
Buy me a 7970 card and I'll upgrade linuxcoin, deal?
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 06:23:22 PM
 #45

Guess everyone can just laugh at me then running 13 rigs on Win7 and using SSD's too. Did I mention most of them are 2600K's and 2500k's. Also 2 rigs with 3 HD7970's each. Got a good laugh going yet?

However can any of you host a Lan/Gaming Party where no one has to bring their own rigs? Can you also mine at 500KHash for lite coins on your Semprons and Linux? I don't still hear the laughter..  Grin

OK enough of the gloating and here is my point. Why does everyone brag that they run this and you should too. Why are you not doing it my way? Why no Linux..

The guy just wants his question answered without all the problems.. If you can't help go blow your horn in another thread.

Sorry I can not properly tell you how to get the drivers packed in your install but I hope this got rid of some of the chatter so you can find your answer. Smiley

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 06:38:01 PM
 #46


I am not totally against windows..  even for mining.  before adding a card to miner5, it had been running steady for 3 months! win64

out of 18 rigs, 4 are windoz.  but 2 of them that have the 7x cards I would like to put back to linuxcoin for reasons previously states...


will 10 btc bounty get the job done?

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 06:41:00 PM
 #47

I have a linux buddy I will have him get in touch with you.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 06:51:31 PM
 #48

will 10 btc bounty get the job done?
Update the topic title, jjiimm.
There's bound to be someone with a 7970 willing to take the job.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 07:04:09 PM
 #49

will 10 btc bounty get the job done?
Update the topic title, jjiimm.
There's bound to be someone with a 7970 willing to take the job.
I purposely left it out of the title.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 08:33:04 PM
 #50

Guess everyone can just laugh at me then running 13 rigs on Win7 and using SSD's too. Did I mention most of them are 2600K's and 2500k's. Also 2 rigs with 3 HD7970's each. Got a good laugh going yet?

However can any of you host a Lan/Gaming Party where no one has to bring their own rigs? Can you also mine at 500KHash for lite coins on your Semprons and Linux? I don't still hear the laughter..  Grin

OK enough of the gloating and here is my point. Why does everyone brag that they run this and you should too. Why are you not doing it my way? Why no Linux..

The guy just wants his question answered without all the problems.. If you can't help go blow your horn in another thread.

Sorry I can not properly tell you how to get the drivers packed in your install but I hope this got rid of some of the chatter so you can find your answer. Smiley


That is sexy.  You got yourself some serious hardware.

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 09:41:13 PM
 #51

Guess everyone can just laugh at me then running 13 rigs on Win7 and using SSD's too. Did I mention most of them are 2600K's and 2500k's. Also 2 rigs with 3 HD7970's each. Got a good laugh going yet?

However can any of you host a Lan/Gaming Party where no one has to bring their own rigs? Can you also mine at 500KHash for lite coins on your Semprons and Linux? I don't still hear the laughter..  Grin

OK enough of the gloating and here is my point. Why does everyone brag that they run this and you should too. Why are you not doing it my way? Why no Linux..

The guy just wants his question answered without all the problems.. If you can't help go blow your horn in another thread.

Sorry I can not properly tell you how to get the drivers packed in your install but I hope this got rid of some of the chatter so you can find your answer. Smiley


That is sexy.  You got yourself some serious hardware.

Thanks.. Won about 20% of it from Folding@Home contests but still have a pretty penny invested. Its a fun hobby!

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
April 02, 2012, 02:07:42 AM
 #52



I guess I will pop this to the top again...

10btc bounty for step by step instructions to get linuxcoin to load 7970's. 

I dont need instructions to mine with it. as long as aticonfig can see and edit the card, or at least cgminer see and edit the card.


I bring this up again because of this:  I tried to put a 6th 7x card on win64.  it will only load 5 of them.  so I am now worried that when I get 4 7990 in the windoz box, i may have trouble.


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 02, 2012, 02:11:08 AM
 #53



I guess I will pop this to the top again...

10btc bounty for step by step instructions to get linuxcoin to load 7970's. 

I dont need instructions to mine with it. as long as aticonfig can see and edit the card, or at least cgminer see and edit the card.


I bring this up again because of this:  I tried to put a 6th 7x card on win64.  it will only load 5 of them.  so I am now worried that when I get 4 7990 in the windoz box, i may have trouble.


Are you sure it isn't just a mobo incompatibility somewhere along the line? Does the board work with more than 5 6xxx or 5xxx generation cards? (or 4 5970s)

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
April 02, 2012, 02:13:18 AM
 #54



I guess I will pop this to the top again...

10btc bounty for step by step instructions to get linuxcoin to load 7970's. 

I dont need instructions to mine with it. as long as aticonfig can see and edit the card, or at least cgminer see and edit the card.


I bring this up again because of this:  I tried to put a 6th 7x card on win64.  it will only load 5 of them.  so I am now worried that when I get 4 7990 in the windoz box, i may have trouble.


Are you sure it isn't just a mobo incompatibility somewhere along the line? Does the board work with more than 5 6xxx or 5xxx generation cards? (or 4 5970s)


I have rigs with 6 cards..  and 4 5970's on same mobo

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 05:33:47 PM
 #55


bounty raised

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
nathanghart
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
April 03, 2012, 06:17:04 PM
 #56


bounty raised

There are a couple manual steps to complete, but I am working through automating those now. If you don't want to wait, I can give you a link to my custom image to throw on a USB and run. You would have to run aticonfig --adapter=ALL -f --initial the coldreboot, change the cgminer.conf file, and possibly alter the networking rules.d/ persistence file. I could give instructions.

It's no BAMT, but it is a 64bit debian squeeze that will work with 8 GPUs and I have an alternate version that supports 7970s (which is what you would want).

Let me know if you are interested and I will find a place to post the current image.Since I have not finished the live-build script, its just an image copy of my working rig. 8GB. So it will take a while.

Not mining since 6-26-2012
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 06:31:53 PM
 #57


bounty raised

There are a couple manual steps to complete, but I am working through automating those now. If you don't want to wait, I can give you a link to my custom image to throw on a USB and run. You would have to run aticonfig --adapter=ALL -f --initial the coldreboot, change the cgminer.conf file, and possibly alter the networking rules.d/ persistence file. I could give instructions.

It's no BAMT, but it is a 64bit debian squeeze that will work with 8 GPUs and I have an alternate version that supports 7970s (which is what you would want).

Let me know if you are interested and I will find a place to post the current image.Since I have not finished the live-build script, its just an image copy of my working rig. 8GB. So it will take a while.


can you just detail the steps you needed to
Quote
and I have an alternate version that supports 7970s

I might be able to just reproduce those steps on my linuxcoin distro.  which would satisfy the bounty.

I would be willing to try your distro if I cannot do the above.  PM me with a link to the file.  I will not be able to try this for a couple of days.

txs

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
nathanghart
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
April 03, 2012, 06:35:54 PM
 #58

can you just detail the steps you needed to
Quote
and I have an alternate version that supports 7970s

I might be able to just reproduce those steps on my linuxcoin distro.  which would satisfy the bounty.

I would be willing to try your distro if I cannot do the above.  PM me with a link to the file.  I will not be able to try this for a couple of days.

txs

Sure, I can detail the steps for you, but the offer will still be open should you want a 64bit OS to support 8 GPUs....though I guess with 7970's you're not likely approaching 8. I will do this tonight when I get home....although it will be late, just to let you know.

Not mining since 6-26-2012
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 07:25:55 PM
 #59

can you just detail the steps you needed to
Quote
and I have an alternate version that supports 7970s

I might be able to just reproduce those steps on my linuxcoin distro.  which would satisfy the bounty.

I would be willing to try your distro if I cannot do the above.  PM me with a link to the file.  I will not be able to try this for a couple of days.

txs

Sure, I can detail the steps for you, but the offer will still be open should you want a 64bit OS to support 8 GPUs....though I guess with 7970's you're not likely approaching 8. I will do this tonight when I get home....although it will be late, just to let you know.

I will definitely be approaching 8.    4 7990

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
nathanghart
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
April 05, 2012, 05:17:13 PM
 #60

can you just detail the steps you needed to
Quote
and I have an alternate version that supports 7970s

I might be able to just reproduce those steps on my linuxcoin distro.  which would satisfy the bounty.

I would be willing to try your distro if I cannot do the above.  PM me with a link to the file.  I will not be able to try this for a couple of days.

txs

Sure, I can detail the steps for you, but the offer will still be open should you want a 64bit OS to support 8 GPUs....though I guess with 7970's you're not likely approaching 8. I will do this tonight when I get home....although it will be late, just to let you know.

jjiimm, I am having difficulties with my 7970 rig, so I am hesitant to offer any advice. Sorry for the delay, I am about to lose it and I wouldn't want you to have my problems. It keeps locking up...see: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74736.msg836914#msg836914

Not mining since 6-26-2012
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!