Bitcoin Forum
June 26, 2017, 04:07:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why would adjusting the DCRI cause cards to randomly lose 5mh/s off and on?  (Read 339 times)
ben8jam
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 07:41:31 PM
 #1

Playing with DCRI settings for ETH only mining. Shifting it from 30 to 5 I get peak hash rate, but noticed that the cards sometimes drop 5 mh/s on each cycle. I have to get the DCRI back up to 30 and it levels out.

I am using power-save BIOS on 470 cards. Wondering if the under powering is causing them to skip a beat?

Anyone have any experience with that?
1498493231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498493231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498493231
Reply with quote  #2

1498493231
Report to moderator
1498493231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498493231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498493231
Reply with quote  #2

1498493231
Report to moderator
1498493231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498493231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498493231
Reply with quote  #2

1498493231
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498493231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498493231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498493231
Reply with quote  #2

1498493231
Report to moderator
1498493231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498493231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498493231
Reply with quote  #2

1498493231
Report to moderator
dragonmike
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 336



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:40:50 PM
 #2

Why would you play with dcri if you're single mining ETH??

Old_Timer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:49:46 PM
 #3

Playing with DCRI settings for ETH only mining. Shifting it from 30 to 5 I get peak hash rate, but noticed that the cards sometimes drop 5 mh/s on each cycle. I have to get the DCRI back up to 30 and it levels out.

I am using power-save BIOS on 470 cards. Wondering if the under powering is causing them to skip a beat?

Anyone have any experience with that?

Do those GPU happen to be Asus Strix?
ben8jam
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 11:01:20 PM
 #4

Why would you play with dcri if you're single mining ETH??

Because claymore says to for ASM mining. And there is an increase in hashpower. Two good reasons I think Smiley

From his guide:
-asm   (AMD cards only) enables assembler GPU kernels. In this mode some tuning is required even in ETH-only mode, use "-dcri" option or or "+/-" keys in runtime to set best speed.
ben8jam
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 11:05:29 PM
 #5

Do those GPU happen to be Asus Strix?

No, Sapphire Nitro (non+) 470s
Old_Timer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 07:32:28 AM
 #6

Do those GPU happen to be Asus Strix?

No, Sapphire Nitro (non+) 470s

can you upload the bios so I can advise?
ben8jam
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 08:27:56 AM
 #7

Do those GPU happen to be Asus Strix?

No, Sapphire Nitro (non+) 470s

can you upload the bios so I can advise?

How does one do that?
Old_Timer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 08:41:11 AM
 #8

Do those GPU happen to be Asus Strix?

No, Sapphire Nitro (non+) 470s

can you upload the bios so I can advise?

How does one do that?
you must find an external file upload service (many free) then post link
dragonmike
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 336



View Profile
June 24, 2017, 08:45:28 AM
 #9

Why would you play with dcri if you're single mining ETH??

Because claymore says to for ASM mining. And there is an increase in hashpower. Two good reasons I think Smiley

From his guide:
-asm   (AMD cards only) enables assembler GPU kernels. In this mode some tuning is required even in ETH-only mode, use "-dcri" option or or "+/-" keys in runtime to set best speed.
LoL, I just learned something! Thx buddy, my bad! Cheesy

ben8jam
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 03:10:29 PM
 #10

can you upload the bios so I can advise?

Well, I set the DCRI back to 30 and the same thing is happened. Each card will randomly jump from 26 to 20 mhs. And last night the whole rig crash. Thanks for taking a look.

http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=00020553680711219980
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!