Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2017, 08:38:10 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 207 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Claymore's CryptoNote GPU Miner v9.7  (Read 854639 times)
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

Miners developer


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 03:42:45 PM
 #361

I see same thing on 290, and clock is stable on 280X. Some algos don't use memory heavily so driver reduces mem clock, it must not cause less mining speed if driver knows what it's doing. The questions is why it reduces clock for 290 only.
1493368690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368690
Reply with quote  #2

1493368690
Report to moderator
1493368690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368690
Reply with quote  #2

1493368690
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493368690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368690
Reply with quote  #2

1493368690
Report to moderator
1493368690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368690
Reply with quote  #2

1493368690
Report to moderator
Ik88
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 03:52:02 PM
 #362

I see same thing on 290, and clock is stable on 280X. Some algos don't use memory heavily so driver reduces mem clock, it must not cause less mining speed if driver knows what it's doing. The questions is why it reduces clock for 290 only.

jumps every second memory will not affect the wear of equipment ?

 *Link Removed*
deathchuck2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 03:52:58 PM
 #363

any thoughts on how to get 280x's stable with this gpu miner yet?

and why gigabyte 280x's seem to suffer very low hash rate, eg struggle to break 300h/s when compared to an asus 280x that does 360 with ease.

That's what you mean ? Gigabyte like my another rig ?
ol92
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 03:56:10 PM
 #364

I see same thing on 290, and clock is stable on 280X. Some algos don't use memory heavily so driver reduces mem clock, it must not cause less mining speed if driver knows what it's doing. The questions is why it reduces clock for 290 only.
Because the power saving features on R9 290 are more advanced  than in previous generation : the gpu and mem frequency are fastly adapted to the present charge.
For X11 mining (before recent optimizations), I obtained some minor performance increase with disabling this power management behaviour : in MSI afterburner, using unofficial overclocking with disabling powerplay : this forces always max clock.
Ik88
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 04:01:47 PM
 #365

I see same thing on 290, and clock is stable on 280X. Some algos don't use memory heavily so driver reduces mem clock, it must not cause less mining speed if driver knows what it's doing. The questions is why it reduces clock for 290 only.
Because the power saving features on R9 290 are more advanced  than in previous generation : the gpu and mem frequency are fastly adapted to the present charge.
For X11 mining (before recent optimizations), I obtained some minor performance increase with disabling this power management behaviour : in MSI afterburner, using unofficial overclocking with disabling powerplay : this forces always max clock.


for 290 and 290x not work for monero disable powerplay whit MSI all time crashes driver for x11 no need optimization MSI nice hashe whithout MSI... 4300-4400 for x11

 *Link Removed*
trogdorjw73
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2014, 04:34:22 PM
 #366

I get periodic disconnects from mining, at which point I have to manually restart. It would be good if the software could be updated to detect this and automatically restart. Also, support for multiple pools (i.e. failover) would be helpful. Last but not least, optimizations to performance are almost certainly still available. Are there plans to open source this eventually? Or do we just need to wait for ccMiner and sgminer to create their own Cryptonight code?

deathchuck2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 04:37:39 PM
 #367

I get periodic disconnects from mining, at which point I have to manually restart. It would be good if the software could be updated to detect this and automatically restart. Also, support for multiple pools (i.e. failover) would be helpful. Last but not least, optimizations to performance are almost certainly still available. Are there plans to open source this eventually? Or do we just need to wait for ccMiner and sgminer to create their own Cryptonight code?
If i'm not wrong, you're using port 80 as default as pool recommended ? Forget that port, change to another port like 5555 (moneropool) or 6666 (crypto-pool.fr), it will work well with more hashrate accuracy than port 80
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
June 12, 2014, 04:38:33 PM
 #368

I get periodic disconnects from mining, at which point I have to manually restart. It would be good if the software could be updated to detect this and automatically restart. Also, support for multiple pools (i.e. failover) would be helpful. Last but not least, optimizations to performance are almost certainly still available. Are there plans to open source this eventually? Or do we just need to wait for ccMiner and sgminer to create their own Cryptonight code?
It doesn't automatically try to reconnect? I have to restart the pool sometimes (often a few times a day) when the daemon gets stuck..
ozzy1926
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 04:39:05 PM
 #369

I get periodic disconnects from mining, at which point I have to manually restart. It would be good if the software could be updated to detect this and automatically restart. Also, support for multiple pools (i.e. failover) would be helpful. Last but not least, optimizations to performance are almost certainly still available. Are there plans to open source this eventually? Or do we just need to wait for ccMiner and sgminer to create their own Cryptonight code?
disconnects has nothing to do with the miner. monero.org and. fr having ddos attacks since yesterday  
nrg_wolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 10:30:08 PM
 #370

any thoughts on how to get 280x's stable with this gpu miner yet?

and why gigabyte 280x's seem to suffer very low hash rate, eg struggle to break 300h/s when compared to an asus 280x that does 360 with ease.

That's what you mean ? Gigabyte like my another rig ?


are they the windforce 280x's rev 1 or 2?

i run 2 of them and one can do 310H/s at 1200/1500 and the other does about 308H/s at 1200/1500. cant seem to push them any higher on mine. even tried different motherboards and the same affect, they are also the ones that drop out 98% of the time....
deathchuck2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 10:41:06 PM
 #371

any thoughts on how to get 280x's stable with this gpu miner yet?

and why gigabyte 280x's seem to suffer very low hash rate, eg struggle to break 300h/s when compared to an asus 280x that does 360 with ease.

That's what you mean ? Gigabyte like my another rig ?


are they the windforce 280x's rev 1 or 2?

i run 2 of them and one can do 310H/s at 1200/1500 and the other does about 308H/s at 1200/1500. cant seem to push them any higher on mine. even tried different motherboards and the same affect, they are also the ones that drop out 98% of the time....
R9 280x Windforce Rev2. I do it with default clock 1100/1500. Stop OC your CoreClock cuz it will not stable and increase very little hashrate compare with power consumption. I suggest use default for best performance. If you want to OC, just increase a little with MemClock. FORGET TO OC CORE, IT'S NOT GOOD AT ALL.
nrg_wolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 10:52:01 PM
 #372

any thoughts on how to get 280x's stable with this gpu miner yet?

and why gigabyte 280x's seem to suffer very low hash rate, eg struggle to break 300h/s when compared to an asus 280x that does 360 with ease.

That's what you mean ? Gigabyte like my another rig ?


are they the windforce 280x's rev 1 or 2?

i run 2 of them and one can do 310H/s at 1200/1500 and the other does about 308H/s at 1200/1500. cant seem to push them any higher on mine. even tried different motherboards and the same affect, they are also the ones that drop out 98% of the time....
R9 280x Windforce Rev2. I do it with default clock 1100/1500. Stop OC your CoreClock cuz it will not stable and increase very little hashrate compare with power consumption. I suggest use default for best performance. If you want to OC, just increase a little with MemClock. FORGET TO OC CORE, IT'S NOT GOOD AT ALL.

mine also does not have Hynix GDDR, i have Elpida, which iam assumeing is a much poorer quality brand of memory. i will knock back the OC and list the results.
do you have stock bios, or modded bios btw?
and do yours stay at 99/100% usage or do they bounce around alittle?

Edit.
both cards running at stock clocks with only +20% to power, one does 292 and the other does 288h/s.
very low considering my asus 280x both combined do 730H/s :-/
Captain-Karacho
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 11:41:43 PM
 #373

any thoughts on how to get 280x's stable with this gpu miner yet?

and why gigabyte 280x's seem to suffer very low hash rate, eg struggle to break 300h/s when compared to an asus 280x that does 360 with ease.

That's what you mean ? Gigabyte like my another rig ?
http://s2.postimg.org/5ps0gbt7t/gigabyte.jpg

are they the windforce 280x's rev 1 or 2?

i run 2 of them and one can do 310H/s at 1200/1500 and the other does about 308H/s at 1200/1500. cant seem to push them any higher on mine. even tried different motherboards and the same affect, they are also the ones that drop out 98% of the time....
R9 280x Windforce Rev2. I do it with default clock 1100/1500. Stop OC your CoreClock cuz it will not stable and increase very little hashrate compare with power consumption. I suggest use default for best performance. If you want to OC, just increase a little with MemClock. FORGET TO OC CORE, IT'S NOT GOOD AT ALL.

Cannot confirm your experience with overclocking. My Rig has been running stable with 1140/1800 clocks for 28 hours now. Each 280x toxic is hashing with like 360h/s.
Don't know about changes in power consumption, but I don't really care cause its free anyway Wink
deathchuck2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 11:47:57 PM
 #374

any thoughts on how to get 280x's stable with this gpu miner yet?

and why gigabyte 280x's seem to suffer very low hash rate, eg struggle to break 300h/s when compared to an asus 280x that does 360 with ease.

That's what you mean ? Gigabyte like my another rig ?


are they the windforce 280x's rev 1 or 2?

i run 2 of them and one can do 310H/s at 1200/1500 and the other does about 308H/s at 1200/1500. cant seem to push them any higher on mine. even tried different motherboards and the same affect, they are also the ones that drop out 98% of the time....
R9 280x Windforce Rev2. I do it with default clock 1100/1500. Stop OC your CoreClock cuz it will not stable and increase very little hashrate compare with power consumption. I suggest use default for best performance. If you want to OC, just increase a little with MemClock. FORGET TO OC CORE, IT'S NOT GOOD AT ALL.

mine also does not have Hynix GDDR, i have Elpida, which iam assumeing is a much poorer quality brand of memory. i will knock back the OC and list the results.
do you have stock bios, or modded bios btw?
and do yours stay at 99/100% usage or do they bounce around alittle?

Edit.
both cards running at stock clocks with only +20% to power, one does 292 and the other does 288h/s.
very low considering my asus 280x both combined do 730H/s :-/
i use stock bios, no OC, no powertune. My card performance info (stable constant all next info) : Core 1100, Mem 1500, Mem use 99%, fan speed 90%, temp around 55 - 60 ( environment around 30 celsius degree)
 I think Claymore build this miner base on ATI 280x factory default parameter, so that if you change or try to change any element parameter of your cards, it will lead to wrong data reply with miner algo. So the result is hashrate drop down or card works unstable.
deathchuck2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 11:50:33 PM
 #375

Cannot confirm your experience with overclocking. My Rig has been running stable with 1140/1800 clocks for 28 hours now. Each 280x toxic is hashing with like 360h/s.
Don't know about changes in power consumption, but I don't really care cause its free anyway Wink
i don't show off my OC experience, i just make the best and easiest way to config stable miner for another in forum Cheesy
nrg_wolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 12:05:06 AM
 #376

any thoughts on how to get 280x's stable with this gpu miner yet?

and why gigabyte 280x's seem to suffer very low hash rate, eg struggle to break 300h/s when compared to an asus 280x that does 360 with ease.

That's what you mean ? Gigabyte like my another rig ?


are they the windforce 280x's rev 1 or 2?

i run 2 of them and one can do 310H/s at 1200/1500 and the other does about 308H/s at 1200/1500. cant seem to push them any higher on mine. even tried different motherboards and the same affect, they are also the ones that drop out 98% of the time....
R9 280x Windforce Rev2. I do it with default clock 1100/1500. Stop OC your CoreClock cuz it will not stable and increase very little hashrate compare with power consumption. I suggest use default for best performance. If you want to OC, just increase a little with MemClock. FORGET TO OC CORE, IT'S NOT GOOD AT ALL.

mine also does not have Hynix GDDR, i have Elpida, which iam assumeing is a much poorer quality brand of memory. i will knock back the OC and list the results.
do you have stock bios, or modded bios btw?
and do yours stay at 99/100% usage or do they bounce around alittle?

Edit.
both cards running at stock clocks with only +20% to power, one does 292 and the other does 288h/s.
very low considering my asus 280x both combined do 730H/s :-/
i use stock bios, no OC, no powertune. My card performance info (stable constant all next info) : Core 1100, Mem 1500, Mem use 99%, fan speed 90%, temp around 55 - 60 ( environment around 30 celsius degree)
 I think Claymore build this miner base on ATI 280x factory default parameter, so that if you change or try to change any element parameter of your cards, it will lead to wrong data reply with miner algo. So the result is hashrate drop down or card works unstable.

i believe that its also dependent on the type of memory the card has been build with. as we know Hynix is what 15% faster then Elpida memory which is where iam starting to believe my issue is actually comeing from with low hash rates. weather that is something that can be overcome with fine greater tuneing to the miner itself by claymore or weather it can be adjusted to be stable via memclocks i cant say. how ever OC works well on 280x's and 7 series and even 6 series gpus. my 2 asus 280x's are OCed and are 100% stable for days. my 2 7950's produce 606h/s between them so that 303 H/s per card, and thats under OC, my 6950 modded to 6970 specs does 120h/s with a mild overclock and has also been stable for days. the cards i have listed are hynix/other based memory built in and when compared to my gb 280x's they all OC very well and are stable where the GB dont seem to be very stable even at stock clocks, which as i suggested i believe is due to the cheaper memory type that was used....
minhthuy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 04:23:31 AM
 #377

To deathchuck2 I live in Vietnam, please help me to run XRM
csa1234
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 06:51:53 AM
 #378

R9 280x GPU dropping activity SOLVED:

I found the problem was in relation with my PSU, i was pushing 6 GPU R9 280x with 2 PSU: 1300 watt + 1000w PSU.

I removed 2 x GPU and used only one PSU of 1300watt which can fullfill 4 x GPU (Rosewill 1300w PSU). Right now im mining with Claymore on my 4 x R9 280x with one good PSU 1300w without any problem of VM memory leak or GPU activity.

My 1000w PSU ETG was removed and ill add an extra 530w PSU to support the motherboard connections.

All people with over 4 x GPU and with lower PSU amp and watts, should try removing some GPU cards, one by one
TheUniporn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 09:09:20 AM
 #379

A 7950 in one rig that has two other 280x has video driver crashes even with stock BIOSes. The problem is that this results in the mining program closing. Is there a way to automatically start it when it closes or any other ideas? No problems with the rig until now.
Thank you!
patriot1889
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 11:09:38 AM
 #380

Argh. After mining with this miner I can't mine other algos any more. The drivers just crash. I managed to get them working again at lower clocks than I used to use.

Anyone got any ideas whats going on?! Sad
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 207 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!