Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2018, 07:06:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: Blockexplorer is either Down or Running Extremely Slow & Stuck at 166899 Blocks  (Read 3761 times)
ForceField
aka Vitaliy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 15, 2012, 07:36:19 PM
 #1

Blockexplorer is either down or running extremely slow and is stuck at 166899 blocks.

Currently using http://www.blockchain.info as it's the only available alternative.

PC Hardware & Electronics For BTC     Traded w/: Kansattica | jduck1987 | shakaru | newdude | nitetrader | midievil | blo8i | mb300sd | juggalodarkclow | Garr255 | Tril | Ringmasta | SysRun | CrazyBlane | sokay | BCB | str4wm4n | PinkBatman | Bitobsessed | matauc12 | antimattercrusader | BryanK
1524380786
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524380786

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524380786
Reply with quote  #2

1524380786
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524380786
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524380786

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524380786
Reply with quote  #2

1524380786
Report to moderator
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 15, 2012, 07:38:24 PM
 #2

For what it's worth, Block Explorer is always extremely slow for me.

Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 07:52:52 PM
 #3

BlockExplorer?  Pffft.  All the cool kids are using http://blockchain.info/ these days.

Smiley

Not sure what's wrong over there but blockchain.info works if you need something for now.

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
Herodes
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 07:54:39 PM
 #4

you could also download and use bitcointools by gavin. I don't have the link here, but it's been posted at the forum before.

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 07:58:16 PM
 #5

Looks like it's caused by a lot of traffic. Maybe a DoS attack. I'm fixing it now.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1001

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 08:42:58 PM
 #6

Blockchain.info is indeed nice eye-candy, and while I tend to use it more, sometimes Blockexplorer displays information differently than blockchain.info so it's good it's around.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
ForceField
aka Vitaliy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 02:20:19 AM
 #7

Looks like it's caused by a lot of traffic. Maybe a DoS attack. I'm fixing it now.

Was fixed for a short while but it seems like there is still an issue with Blockexplorer.

PM'd you theymos.

PC Hardware & Electronics For BTC     Traded w/: Kansattica | jduck1987 | shakaru | newdude | nitetrader | midievil | blo8i | mb300sd | juggalodarkclow | Garr255 | Tril | Ringmasta | SysRun | CrazyBlane | sokay | BCB | str4wm4n | PinkBatman | Bitobsessed | matauc12 | antimattercrusader | BryanK
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 05:19:59 AM
 #8

I think everything is fixed now. Sorry about that.

IPs will now automatically be banned (temporarily) if they connect much faster than once per second.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1018



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 11:58:30 AM
 #9

IPs will now automatically be banned (temporarily) if they connect much faster than once per second.

http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/blockexplorer.com

It looks that BE is still down.

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 12:37:48 PM
 #10

IPs will now automatically be banned (temporarily) if they connect much faster than once per second.

http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/blockexplorer.com

It looks that BE is still down.

Just to be clear, you guys are complaining that theymo's block explorer service is down, not the block chain itself.  Everything looks ok on Bitcoin Monitor.
EhVedadoOAnonimato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 01:12:45 PM
 #11

IPs will now automatically be banned (temporarily) if they connect much faster than once per second.

You should consider a captcha. Or you risk blocking proxies.
ehmdjii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 01:34:00 PM
 #12

IPs will now automatically be banned (temporarily) if they connect much faster than once per second.

how long is temporarily?

BTC: 1LsD5HpnX1Kfyti7CnHiVB1rjUEXGqmR2H
LTC: LQbpdMZmYyJa9bJG6NweBNxkSTfgZorkrG
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1018



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 01:52:06 PM
 #13

Just to be clear, you guys are complaining that theymo's block explorer service is down, not the block chain itself.  Everything looks ok on Bitcoin Monitor.

Of course we're talking about blockexplorer.com. How can be block chain down?

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1018



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 01:54:13 PM
 #14

You should consider a captcha. Or you risk blocking proxies.

Well, some services (like my pool) is using blockexplorer.com's API for confirming that local blockchain copy is OK. So captcha won't work for API calls, obviously.

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 04:48:22 PM
 #15

It's really fast whenever I restart the database and web servers, but then I guess it gets overwhelmed with traffic. I'll look into it later today.

(Usually I have two "master" servers constantly available and capable of either handling the full load or sharing the load, but the one that I have at home was unfortunately damaged when I moved recently, so I have to rely entirely on the Private Internet Access server.)

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 04:51:41 PM
 #16

Just to be clear, you guys are complaining that theymo's block explorer service is down, not the block chain itself.  Everything looks ok on Bitcoin Monitor.

Of course we're talking about blockexplorer.com. How can be block chain down?

you'd be surprised at how many noobs will think blockexplorer IS the blockchain.
broken
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:52:49 AM
 #17

Just to be clear, you guys are complaining that theymo's block explorer service is down, not the block chain itself.  Everything looks ok on Bitcoin Monitor.

Of course we're talking about blockexplorer.com. How can be block chain down?

you'd be surprised at how many noobs will think blockexplorer IS the blockchain.

Maybe the Internet is broken.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 03:20:08 AM
 #18

The server won't start up now, due either to a bad disk or to my tweaks meant to make the system faster. Rasengan (who, on behalf of Private Internet Access, generously provides this BBE server for free) is working on fixing it and maybe upgrading it so that it can handle more traffic. Hopefully at least /q/getblockcount will be working tomorrow.

Maybe the Internet is broken.

You're the Internet?  Wink

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 03:27:32 AM
 #19

Hopefully at least /q/getblockcount will be working tomorrow.

thanks, i'll send another donation on behalf of the clock Cheesy
Wandering Albatross
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 08:04:07 PM
 #20

Time to come up some ideas for a decentralized block data tool?

BTC: 1JgPAC8RVeh7RXqzmeL8xt3fvYahRXL3fP
terrytibbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 08:05:55 PM
 #21

Rasengan (who, on behalf of Private Internet Access, generously provides this BBE server for free)
Advertisers are also very generous, they donate millions of dollars to the cable companies. Oh, I forgot to mention they got an ad in exchange. Still "free", right?
Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 08:13:31 PM
 #22

Time to come up some ideas for a decentralized block data tool?

Everyone already has a copy of the blockchain.  All we need is a GUI or CGI to read it.

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 09:48:35 PM
 #23

Advertisers are also very generous, they donate millions of dollars to the cable companies. Oh, I forgot to mention they got an ad in exchange. Still "free", right?

I doubt the ad even comes close to allowing them to recoup the cost of running the server.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Wandering Albatross
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 10:07:10 PM
 #24

Quote from: Revalin
Everyone already has a copy of the blockchain.  All we need is a GUI or CGI to read it.

bitcoin has lots of commands that can be issued to a running bitcoin instance:

Code:
backupwallet <destination>
getaccount <bitcoinaddress>
getaccountaddress <account>
getaddressesbyaccount <account>
getbalance [account] [minconf=1]
getblockcount
getconnectioncount
getdifficulty
getgenerate
gethashespersec
getinfo
getmemorypool [data]
getnewaddress [account]
getreceivedbyaccount <account> [minconf=1]
getreceivedbyaddress <bitcoinaddress> [minconf=1]
gettransaction <txid>
getwork [data]
help [command]
keypoolrefill
listaccounts [minconf=1]
listreceivedbyaccount [minconf=1] [includeempty=false]
listreceivedbyaddress [minconf=1] [includeempty=false]
listsinceblock [blockid] [target-confirmations]
listtransactions [account] [count=10] [from=0]
move <fromaccount> <toaccount> <amount> [minconf=1] [comment]
sendfrom <fromaccount> <tobitcoinaddress> <amount> [minconf=1] [comment] [comment-to]
sendmany <fromaccount> {address:amount,...} [minconf=1] [comment]
sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> <amount> [comment] [comment-to]
setaccount <bitcoinaddress> <account>
setgenerate <generate> [genproclimit]
settxfee <amount>
signmessage <bitcoinaddress> <message>
stop
validateaddress <bitcoinaddress>
verifymessage <bitcoinaddress> <signature> <message>
walletlock
walletpassphrase <passphrase> <timeout>
walletpassphrasechange <oldpassphrase> <newpassphrase>

What other info do pools need access to?

BTC: 1JgPAC8RVeh7RXqzmeL8xt3fvYahRXL3fP
RoloTonyBrownTown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 10:30:16 PM
 #25

Yep, bit wonky at the mo.   Diff is currently shown as 623.38695987...

http://blockexplorer.com/q/getdifficulty

payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 10:38:18 PM
 #26

Quote from: Revalin
Everyone already has a copy of the blockchain.  All we need is a GUI or CGI to read it.

bitcoin has lots of commands that can be issued to a running bitcoin instance:

Code:
backupwallet <destination>
getaccount <bitcoinaddress>
getaccountaddress <account>
getaddressesbyaccount <account>
getbalance [account] [minconf=1]
getblockcount
getconnectioncount
getdifficulty
getgenerate
gethashespersec
getinfo
getmemorypool [data]
getnewaddress [account]
getreceivedbyaccount <account> [minconf=1]
getreceivedbyaddress <bitcoinaddress> [minconf=1]
gettransaction <txid>
getwork [data]
help [command]
keypoolrefill
listaccounts [minconf=1]
listreceivedbyaccount [minconf=1] [includeempty=false]
listreceivedbyaddress [minconf=1] [includeempty=false]
listsinceblock [blockid] [target-confirmations]
listtransactions [account] [count=10] [from=0]
move <fromaccount> <toaccount> <amount> [minconf=1] [comment]
sendfrom <fromaccount> <tobitcoinaddress> <amount> [minconf=1] [comment] [comment-to]
sendmany <fromaccount> {address:amount,...} [minconf=1] [comment]
sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> <amount> [comment] [comment-to]
setaccount <bitcoinaddress> <account>
setgenerate <generate> [genproclimit]
settxfee <amount>
signmessage <bitcoinaddress> <message>
stop
validateaddress <bitcoinaddress>
verifymessage <bitcoinaddress> <signature> <message>
walletlock
walletpassphrase <passphrase> <timeout>
walletpassphrasechange <oldpassphrase> <newpassphrase>

What other info do pools need access to?

how is the next difficulty estimated/calculated?
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 11:27:28 PM
 #27

Yep, bit wonky at the mo.   Diff is currently shown as 623.38695987...

http://blockexplorer.com/q/getdifficulty

My bitcoind is downloading the chain. You can see the progress at /q/getblockcount.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
kjlimo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2012, 03:00:28 PM
 #28

Looks like blockexplorer is down again?

I like the idea of the gui for reading the blockchain.

That sounds awesome, but unfortunately, we'd have to rely on donations to fund the project.  I'm no programmer, but if the price is right, I could try to get my buddy to start developing for bitcoins.

Unless of course, someone else is already working on it or willing to do it.

CampBX for buying BTCs, Coinbase for selling BTCs or Vircurex for trading alternate cryptocurrencies like DOGEs

PM me with any questions on these sites!  Happy to help!

Bitcoin Poker at Seals                  Strike Sapphire Casino  Free games every hour & day!
  Get Free Bitcoins here.

Spondoolies-Tech or KnC Miner for the fastest mining hardware available!

Bitpay to help your business accept bitcoin payments!
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 12:12:56 AM
 #29

OK, I think I was finally able to improve BBE's efficiency enough to make it work well despite the increased traffic. Most interestingly, I now have Bitcoin's block database stored entirely in memory.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 725
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 04:09:39 PM
 #30

Blockexplorer is still down for me.  Does anyone know where I can find the exact time of the latest difficulty change?

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 19, 2012, 04:25:51 PM
 #31

Blockexplorer is still down for me.  Does anyone know where I can find the exact time of the latest difficulty change?
The difficulty is updated every 2016 blocks, here are the most recent blocks where the difficulty changed/will change

163296 - 2012-01-22 03:55:08 - 1,307,728.36
165312 - 2012-02-04 10:28:28 - 1,379,647.44
167328 - 2012-02-18 11:24:53 - 1,376,302.27
169344
171360
173376

I just put the block number into this URL for info: http://blockchain.info/block-height/167532
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 725
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 05:14:10 PM
 #32

The difficulty is updated every 2016 blocks, here are the most recent blocks where the difficulty changed/will change

163296 - 2012-01-22 03:55:08 - 1,307,728.36
165312 - 2012-02-04 10:28:28 - 1,379,647.44
167328 - 2012-02-18 11:24:53 - 1,376,302.27
169344
171360
173376

I just put the block number into this URL for info: http://blockchain.info/block-height/167532

Great, thanks!

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2111
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 10:01:58 PM
 #33

Time to come up some ideas for a decentralized block data tool?

Everyone already has a copy of the blockchain.  All we need is a GUI or CGI to read it.

I would donate to that cause.
For me (as a programming novice) it sounds like not-too-complicated to program a blockexplorer/blockchaininfo clone which works with the local blockchain copy?
Someone make a bounty thread?

Ente
John Tobey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
February 19, 2012, 10:12:57 PM
 #34

Everyone already has a copy of the blockchain.  All we need is a GUI or CGI to read it.

I would donate to that cause.
For me (as a programming novice) it sounds like not-too-complicated to program a blockexplorer/blockchaininfo clone which works with the local blockchain copy?
Someone make a bounty thread?

Tried Abe?  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22785.0

Can a change to the best-chain criteria protect against 51% to 90+% attacks without a hard fork?
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1018



View Profile WWW
February 20, 2012, 10:04:27 AM
 #35

theymos, any update? BE is still overloaded ("Database connection timeout (likely due to overload). Try again later."). Is that regular traffic or it is some kind of attack? I don't believe that traffic increased so suddenly in last few days...

Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2111
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 10:31:32 AM
 #36

Everyone already has a copy of the blockchain.  All we need is a GUI or CGI to read it.

I would donate to that cause.
For me (as a programming novice) it sounds like not-too-complicated to program a blockexplorer/blockchaininfo clone which works with the local blockchain copy?
Someone make a bounty thread?

Tried Abe?  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22785.0


I love it! :-)

Ente
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 01:56:30 PM
 #37

theymos, any update? BE is still overloaded ("Database connection timeout (likely due to overload). Try again later."). Is that regular traffic or it is some kind of attack? I don't believe that traffic increased so suddenly in last few days...

Something does seem to have changed to make things slower, but I'm not sure what. I'm getting 6.6 hits per second right now, but I don't normally keep logs, so I don't know if this is much higher than normal. It's also possible the disk is broken somehow.

Anyway, I've made lots of changes to improve efficiency and I'll continue to do so. I introduced that error recently so that slow database connections wouldn't stop /q/getblockcount and other non-database pages from working.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1018



View Profile WWW
February 20, 2012, 05:24:19 PM
 #38

Maybe you should cache requests and avoid database lookup entirely? For example /block/, /rawblock/ will be the same forever, no need to ask database at all (don't forget to drop cache on blockchain reorg.

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 06:24:19 PM
 #39

Maybe you should cache requests and avoid database lookup entirely? For example /block/, /rawblock/ will be the same forever, no need to ask database at all (don't forget to drop cache on blockchain reorg.

There's already a lot of caching.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1018



View Profile WWW
February 20, 2012, 11:54:15 PM
 #40

Then there must be something seriously broken (if you're right and average load is ~6 requests/second).

ancow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 01:43:10 AM
 #41

The blockcount is stuck on blockexplorer (at 169217) - is that known and/or is there a reason for this?

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1018



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 01:52:38 AM
 #42

I reported it to theymos few minutes ago...

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2981


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 02:33:25 AM
 #43

It'll be fixed in a few minutes.

Putting the bitcoind block database in memory makes things much faster, but I think the data somehow gets easily corrupted in a way which causes bitcoind to reject all additional blocks. I'll try putting the database on the SSD instead.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1018



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 02:44:44 AM
 #44

SSD is really solid solution, I'm running a lot of instances on SSD disk without any issue...

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!