Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:47:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Thread about GPU-mining and Litecoin  (Read 31861 times)
drakahn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 04:56:11 PM
 #81

Its not useful though, i can mine enough btc to buy 3-10 times the amount of ltc this thing could mine

its just silly

14ga8dJ6NGpiwQkNTXg7KzwozasfaXNfEU
1481284021
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284021

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284021
Reply with quote  #2

1481284021
Report to moderator
1481284021
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284021

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284021
Reply with quote  #2

1481284021
Report to moderator
1481284021
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284021

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284021
Reply with quote  #2

1481284021
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284021
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284021

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284021
Reply with quote  #2

1481284021
Report to moderator
Vanderbleek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 04:58:00 PM
 #82

Doesn't work for me, gives a kernel build error.

If I helped, feel free to donate to:
BTC: 1DimPUBPnmZuWu5XrMa3xVnFgMz1iGBNdr
LTC: LLqQuvRZd4uZyenER2mE8d3ns1N1qBWQjD
shakti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 04:59:04 PM
 #83

Its not useful though, i can mine enough btc to buy 3-10 times the amount of ltc this thing could mine

its just silly
Well yes, but cause this implementation depends most of GPU-memory speed i think this scrypt miner will run wit same/better results on Nvidia GPUs Smiley so it's not that worthless Smiley

drakahn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 05:21:44 PM
 #84

anyone got any results from an nvidia card?

14ga8dJ6NGpiwQkNTXg7KzwozasfaXNfEU
shakti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 05:22:52 PM
 #85

anyone got any results from an nvidia card?
Nope, it's not source it's precompiled for 2 AMD chips, but theoreticaly if we get source it will perform ok on Nvidia.

tatsuchan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 184



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 05:33:19 PM
 #86

Running Windows 7, i5, Gigabyte AMD HD6850

DOES NOT WORK. Crash on start
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 05:36:10 PM
 #87

Error 28 getting work. See http://curl.haxx.se/libcurl/c/libcurl-errors.html for
 error code explanations.
3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 05:37:37 PM
 #88

Its not useful though, i can mine enough btc to buy 3-10 times the amount of ltc this thing could mine

its just silly
Did you miss a decimal point somewhere?
At current prices and difficulties it's almost par.

Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 05:47:33 PM
 #89

I had it running on a msi 6950 twin frozr at 310Khash,
it does work, but its a waste of time and power....

3phase if so not for long, checked the price of LTC in the last hour or so? lol

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 06:34:19 PM
 #90

Does not work with pools for me
To solo on windows:

1. Download litecoin daemon from github: https://github.com/coblee/litecoin/downloads
2. Go to C:\Users\{yourcomputer}\AppData\Roaming\litecoin\ and create litecoin.conf.
3. Put this in it:
Code:
# Network-related settings:
# Run on the test network instead of the real bitcoin network.
#testnet=1
# Connect via a socks4 proxy
#proxy=127.0.0.1:9050
# Use as many addnode= settings as you like to connect to specific peers
#addnode=69.164.218.197
#addnode=10.0.0.2:8333
# … or use as many connect= settings as you like to connect ONLY
# to specific peers:
#connect=69.164.218.197
#connect=10.0.0.1:8333
# Do not use Internet Relay Chat (irc.lfnet.org #bitcoin channel) to
# find other peers.
#noirc=1
# Maximum number of inbound+outbound connections.
#maxconnections=
# JSON-RPC options (for controlling a running Bitcoin/bitcoind process)
# server=1 tells Bitcoin to accept JSON-RPC commands.
#server=1
# You must set rpcuser and rpcpassword to secure the JSON-RPC api
rpcuser=user
rpcpassword=password
# How many seconds bitcoin will wait for a complete RPC HTTP request.
# after the HTTP connection is established.
rpctimeout=30
# By default, only RPC connections from localhost are allowed. Specify
# as many rpcallowip= settings as you like to allow connections from
# other hosts (and you may use * as a wildcard character):
#rpcallowip=10.1.1.34
#rpcallowip=192.168.1.*
# Listen for RPC connections on this TCP port:
rpcport=9332
# You can use Bitcoin or bitcoind to send commands to Bitcoin/bitcoind
# running on another host using this option:
rpcconnect=127.0.0.1
# Use Secure Sockets Layer (also known as TLS or HTTPS) to communicate
# with Bitcoin -server or bitcoind
#rpcssl=1
# OpenSSL settings used when rpcssl=1
rpcsslciphers=TLSv1+HIGH:!SSLv2:!aNULL:!eNULL:!AH:!3DES:@STRENGTH
rpcsslcertificatechainfile=server.cert
rpcsslprivatekeyfile=server.pem
# Miscellaneous options
# Set gen=1 to attempt to generate bitcoins
gen=0
# Use SSE instructions to try to generate bitcoins faster. For muliple core processors.
#4way=1
# Pre-generate this many public/private key pairs, so wallet backups will be valid for
# both prior transactions and several dozen future transactions.
keypool=100
# Pay an optional transaction fee every time you send bitcoins. Transactions with fees
# are more likely than free transactions to be included in generated blocks, so may
# be validated sooner.
paytxfee=0.00
# Allow direct connections for the ‘pay via IP address’ feature.
#allowreceivebyip=1
# User interface options
# Start Bitcoin minimized
#min=1
# Minimize to the system tray
#minimizetotray=1
4. Make this your litecoin.conf in the reaper directory:
Code:
host localhost
port 9332
user user
pass password

protocol litecoin

worksize 256
aggression 18
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 20
5. Run litecoind.exe and let it catch up with the network.
6. Run reaperDEMO.exe.  If it throws a kernel error, go into the directory.  There should be a litecoin-reaperv13.XXXXX.bin file where XXXXX is your architecture.  Rename litecoin-reaperv13.Cayman.bin to litecoin-reaperv13.XXXXX.bin.  Reaper should work fine now.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 07:23:37 PM
 #91

works fine on lc.ozco.in by ip but not url I have found

host 67.210.248.11
port 9332
user Graet.5
pass p

is all i changed in litecoin.conf Smiley

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 07:36:25 PM
 #92

Increasing gpu clock & memory clock increases hash rate, instead of just gpu clock
illpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 341


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 09:57:32 PM
 #93

lol this demo is broken for me.

Tym's Get Rich Slow scheme: plse send .00001 to
btc: 1DKRaNUnMQkeby6Dk1d8e6fRczSrTEhd8p ltc: LV4Udu7x9aLs28MoMCzsvVGKJbSmrHESnt
thank you.
Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 10:57:39 PM
 #94

lol this demo is broken for me.

Only works for 58xx and 69xx because its precompiled for them.
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Post rank racist


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 11:19:32 PM
 #95

If more effective GPU miner will be released, simple changes in algorithm will make it completely unusable. For example, we can use bcrypt() result as salt. I.e. add stage in hashing process.

Current algorithm is:

1) Calculate B = SHA256(A)
2) Calculate C = scrypt(B)
3) Calculate D = SHA256(B, C)
4) Return D

Probably future algorithm:

1) Calculate B = SHA256(A)
2) Calculate C = scrypt(B)
4) Calculate D = bcrypt(C)
3) Calculate E = SHA256(B, D)
4) Return E

Like scrypt(), bcrypt() is also using many pseudo-random operations with memory during encryption process.

novaco.in | VMWare VMHGFS driver for 3.19.x kernels | Ukrainian translation for Novacoin [Done]
฿: 1GV8D5SRkA3cPccpYhVc2wMkjwz3UREEpy: 4RgnHWtnJWEyMhqhDdazW3Hdr7cx5ybF6i
shakti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 11:34:00 PM
 #96

If more effective GPU miner will be released, simple changes in algorithm will make it completely unusable. For example, we can use bcrypt() result as additional salt. I.e. add stage in hashing process.

Current algorithm is:

1) Calculate B = SHA256(A)
2) Calculate C = scrypt(B)
3) Calculate D = SHA256(B, C)
4) Return D

Probably future algorithm:

1) Calculate B = SHA256(A)
2) Calculate C = scrypt(B)
4) Calculate D = bcrypt(C)
3) Calculate E = SHA256(B, D)
4) Return E

Like scrypt(), bcrypt() is also using many pseudo-random operations with memory during encryption process.

1) Well i'm sure there is NO WAY to create an Algorythm that will NEVER better implemented on some piece of future hardware.
2) LTC is used by bot-nets to generate some cash, and aslong it is in this situation it will never be accepted as "stable" currency.
3) The limits on how good current Algoritm can be implemented on GPU i've calculated somewhere above, on common hardware  best can be Nvidia GT 590 with smthg like 1.2 MH/s (unreachable maximum).  Is this that dangerous for LTC ? i think NO.

I think we should leave it atm as it is and spare afford for "fixing" situation for other more dangerous situation.
P.S. i think GPU mining for LTC can even be good for LTC stabilizing network hashrate. My idea is do nothing.

coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 11:45:11 PM
 #97

Given that it's currently not worth it to mine LTC using GPU, having a GPU miner out is not going to change much. But there are few potential problems I can think of:

1) This puts a cap on LTC price. When LTC price rises to make GPU mining profitable, we will see a bunch of people switching their GPU farms to Litecoin and sell the mined litecoins for bitcoins. This will put a downward pressure on Litecoin price. This is not necessarily a bad thing, because price doesn't matter that much.

2) Could lead to wild swings in difficulty as GPU miners move in and out of Litecoin mining. This will be similar to what happened with Namecoin before the merged mining. But since Litecoin retargets at 1/4 the time as compared to Bitcoin (3.5 days as oppose to 2 weeks), the swings shouldn't be that painful.

3) GPU mining makes it easier to 51% the chain. It would be easy for a decently sized GPU farm to 51% the chain.

I think I'm most worried about the last one.

Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Post rank racist


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 11:53:45 PM
 #98

My idea is do nothing.
OP_NOP is the simplest solution of any problem.  Grin

At the moment mining on GPU isn't effective for LTC and we can do nothing. But we must think about future, anyway.

novaco.in | VMWare VMHGFS driver for 3.19.x kernels | Ukrainian translation for Novacoin [Done]
฿: 1GV8D5SRkA3cPccpYhVc2wMkjwz3UREEpy: 4RgnHWtnJWEyMhqhDdazW3Hdr7cx5ybF6i
shakti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
March 01, 2012, 12:02:09 AM
 #99

Given that it's currently not worth it to mine LTC using GPU, having a GPU miner out is not going to change much. But there are few potential problems I can think of:

1) This puts a cap on LTC price. When LTC price rises to make GPU mining profitable, we will see a bunch of people switching their GPU farms to Litecoin and sell the mined litecoins for bitcoins. This will put a downward pressure on Litecoin price. This is not necessarily a bad thing, because price doesn't matter that much.

2) Could lead to wild swings in difficulty as GPU miners move in and out of Litecoin mining. This will be similar to what happened with Namecoin before the merged mining. But since Litecoin retargets at 1/4 the time as compared to Bitcoin (3.5 days as oppose to 2 weeks), the swings shouldn't be that painful.

3) GPU mining makes it easier to 51% the chain. It would be easy for a decently sized GPU farm to 51% the chain.

I think I'm most worried about the last one.

well without decent network hashrate it can be attacked easy by any botnet ... having GPU miner makes it cheaper to get better hashrate.
LTC is designed from start on to be smthg like 1/4 of Bitcoin ? bitcoins silver Smiley)) so we can't go around of it both currencies will be dependent on eachother.
there will be couple of Miners on Nvidia, cause it makes same hashrate as ATI for scrypt. so i think if network hasrate goes up with GPU miners it will be not lead to wild swings. and even better protection for 51% attack from botnet. Sure atm we have dangerous time where network hasrate is low and GPU miner makes it possible to attack the chain, but shouldn't we just try to make Network stronger insted of swing it with changes?

tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
March 01, 2012, 12:03:55 AM
 #100

Something I've wondered:

Why are you using N=1024, r=1, and p=1 for scrypt?  Why didn't the recommended values from the paper, N=1024, r=8, p=1 get used?

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!