Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 11:34:12 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Diablo Miner: URI can't be null.  (Read 4396 times)
jjustinn (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 07:39:53 PM
 #1

This is the error I've been getting with DiabloMiner. I'm new to the boards and am having trouble finding an answer. Thanks in advance for any help.


Starting DiabloMiner (GPU)...
-----------------------------
Exception in thread "DiabloMiner GetWorkAsync for [http://api2.bitcoin.cz]" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: URI can't be null.
   at sun.net.spi.DefaultProxySelector.select(DefaultProxySelector.java:116)
   at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.plainConnect(HttpURLConnection.java:906)
   at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.connect(HttpURLConnection.java:836)
   at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getOutputStream(HttpURLConnection.java:1014)
   at com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner$NetworkState.doJSONRPC(DiabloMiner.java:699)
   at com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner$NetworkState$GetWorkAsync.run(DiabloMiner.java:953)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:680)
[2/15/12 3:35:55 AM] Started                                                 
[2/15/12 3:35:55 AM] Connecting to: http://[http://api2.bitcoin.cz]:8332/   
[2/15/12 3:35:55 AM] Using Apple OpenCL 1.0 (Dec 23 2010 17:30:26)           
[2/15/12 3:35:56 AM] Added GeForce 8600M GT (#1) (4 CU, local work size of 192)
mhash: 0.0/0.0 | accept: 0 | reject: 0 | hw error: 0
"I'm sure that in 20 years there will either be very large transaction volume or no volume." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 08:04:14 PM
 #2

Paste the whole command line; all the arguments you started DiabloMiner with.
jjustinn (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 09:58:16 AM
 #3

Opened the App and this is what follows.



Last login: Wed Feb 15 17:52:53 on console
/Applications/DiabloMiner.app/Contents/MacOS/DiabloMiner-exe ; exit;
justin-xxx-macbook-pro:~ Justin$ /Applications/DiabloMiner.app/Contents/MacOS/DiabloMiner-exe ; exit;


DiabloMiner (GPU) menu
----------------------
1) Set up wizard / configuration
2) How to support article (opens in Web browser)
3) Start mining on login is OFF
4) Check for updates (opens in Web browser)

   
Make a selection, or press [Enter] or wait 15 sec to run the miner: 1


DiabloMiner set up wizard
GPU based Bitcoin miner.
-------------------------
Server host name or IP address [[https:api.bitcoin.cz]]:
Server port number [8332]:
Miner username [justin.xxx]:
Miner password: xxx

Start mining automatically on log-in? [yes/NO]: n


Starting DiabloMiner (GPU)...
-----------------------------
Exception in thread "DiabloMiner GetWorkAsync for [https:api.bitcoin.cz]" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: URI can't be null.
   at sun.net.spi.DefaultProxySelector.select(DefaultProxySelector.java:116)
   at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.plainConnect(HttpURLConnection.java:906)
   at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.connect(HttpURLConnection.java:836)
   at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getOutputStream(HttpURLConnection.java:1014)
   at com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner$NetworkState.doJSONRPC(DiabloMiner.java:699)
   at com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner$NetworkState$GetWorkAsync.run(DiabloMiner.java:953)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:680)
[2/15/12 5:53:55 PM] Started                                                 
[2/15/12 5:53:55 PM] Connecting to: http://[https:api.bitcoin.cz]:8332/     
[2/15/12 5:53:56 PM] Using Apple OpenCL 1.0 (Dec 23 2010 17:30:26)           
[2/15/12 5:53:58 PM] Added GeForce 8600M GT (#1) (4 CU, local work size of 192)
mhash: 0.0/0.0 | accept: 0 | reject: 0 | hw error: 0
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 03:32:32 PM
Last edit: February 15, 2012, 05:32:04 PM by jake262144
 #4

Look at the following lines:
Server host name or IP address [[https:api.bitcoin.cz]]:
...
[2/15/12 5:53:55 PM] Connecting to: http://[https:api.bitcoin.cz]:8332/

The address you specified is garbled: [https:api.bitcoin.cz].
As a result, DiabloMiner thinks you omitted the protocol part (http://) and appends it in front of your the hostname resulting in something as nonsensical as http://[https:api.bitcoin.cz]:8332/

You are not supposed to use square brackets when typing in the hostname, just enter http://api.bitcoin.cz
No brackets, no quotation marks.
The same goes for port number; it's 8332.


Please note that you can also provide the address and logon credentials passing them as parameters to DiabloMiner:
Code:
justin-xxx-macbook-pro:~ Justin$ /Applications/DiabloMiner.app/Contents/MacOS/DiabloMiner-exe -u justin.xxx -p silvermac -o https:api.bitcoin.cz -r 8332
-u as in user,   -p as in password,   -o as in pool,   -r as in port
This is usually the preferred way of launching any miner.
jjustinn (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 04:51:36 PM
 #5

Getting Closer




-------------------------
Server host name or IP address [api.bitcoin.cz]: api2.bitcoin.cz
Server port number [8332]:
Miner username [jjustinn.xxx]:
Miner password: silvermac

Starting DiabloMiner (GPU)...
-----------------------------
[2/16/12 12:43:45 AM] Started                                               
[2/16/12 12:43:45 AM] Connecting to: http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332/           
[2/16/12 12:43:45 AM] Using Apple OpenCL 1.0 (Dec 23 2010 17:30:26)         
[2/16/12 12:43:46 AM] Added GeForce 8600M GT (#1) (4 CU, local work size of 192)
[2/16/12 12:43:49 AM] ERROR: Cannot connect to api2.bitcoin.cz: Bitcoin returned an error message: <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<HTML><HEAD><META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<TITLE>ERROR: The requested URL could not be retrieved</TITLE>
<link href="http://resour.ce/err_style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head><body>
<div id="page">
<div id="content">
<div id="logo">&nbsp;</div>
<HR noshade size="1px">
<H1>Unable to determine IP address for <I>api2.bitcoin.cz:8405api2.bitcoin.cz:8405</I></H1>
<P>
Name Error: The domain name does not exist.
<P>What can you do to solve the error:
<UL>
<LI> Check if the web site address is correct.
<LI> Please try to refresh the page (Ctrl+F5).
<LI> The remote host or network may be down. Please wait for a few minutes and try again.
<LI id="sendfeedback"> If the error persists, please <A HREF="mailto:cache@manager.dot?subject=CacheErrorInfo%20-%20ERR_DNS_FAIL&amp;body=CacheHost%3A%20OpenWeb%0D%0AErrPage%3A%20ERR_DNS_FAIL%0D%0AErr%3A%20%5Bnone%5D%0D%0ADNS%20ErrMsg%3A%20Name%20Error%3A%20The%20domain%20name%20does%20not%20exist.%0D%0ATimeStamp%3A%20Wed,%2015%20Feb%202012%2016%3A43%3A49%20GMT%0D%0A%0D%0AClientIP%3A%2058.83.252.24%0D%0AServerIP%3A%20api2.bitcoin.cz%3A8405api2.bitcoin.cz%3A8405%0D%0A%0D%0AHTTP%20Request%3A%0D%0APOST%20%2F%20HTTP%2F1.1%0AAuthorization%3A%20Basic%20amp1c3Rpbm4uc2F1Y2VkbzpzaWx2ZXJtYWM%3D%0D%0AAccept-Encoding%3A%20gzip,deflate%0D%0AContent-Type%3A%20application%2Fjson%0D%0ACache-Control%3A%20no-cache%0D%0AUser-Agent%3A%20DiabloMiner%0D%0AX-Mining-Extensions%3A%20longpoll%20rollntime%20switchto%0D%0AHost%3A%20api2.bitcoin.cz%3A8405%0D%0AAccept%3A%20text%2Fhtml,%20image%2Fgif,%20image%2Fjpeg,%20*%3B%20q%3D.2,%20*%2F*%3B%20q%3D.2%0D%0AProxy-Connection%3A%20keep-alive%0D%0AContent-Length%3A%2039%0D%0AProxy-Authorization%3A%20Basic%20YXMzNjQ0Ny0wOmY5YWE1MzZjYTFlMTBkNzEyNzNiMzhiYmE4OTQ4YzFj%0D%0A%0D%0A%0D%0A">click here</a> to send a mail with technical details about the error to our support.
</UL> 
</div>
</div>
[2/16/12 12:43:50 AM] ERROR: Cannot connect to api2.bitcoin.cz: Bitcoin returned an error message: <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<HTML><HEAD><META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<TITLE>ERROR: The requested URL could not be retrieved</TITLE>
<link href="http://resour.ce/err_style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head><body>
<div id="page">
<div id="content">
<div id="logo">&nbsp;</div>
<HR noshade size="1px">
<H1>Unable to determine IP address for <I>api2.bitcoin.cz:8405api2.bitcoin.cz:8405</I></H1>
<P>





It'll give me mhash updates but it keeps cycling through the error message. Also, I'm not sure what Diablo is supposed to look like when it's running smoothly, only use RPC.


Thanks for your help so far.
jjustinn (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 04:45:32 AM
 #6

Got it going. Thanks dude.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!