Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 05:10:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods  (Read 104131 times)
KaTXi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 192


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2014, 11:01:29 PM
 #481

I have a transferable $105.6 coupon from Zeus (bought 2 Blizzards on may). Any takers for 0.15 BTCs ?

Poollo.com. Multi-Coin Anonymous Pool, No need to register!! Mine with us at 0.9% fees only.
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511543429
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511543429

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511543429
Reply with quote  #2

1511543429
Report to moderator
jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 11:05:10 PM
 #482


Update: Now I have 8 units made into 2 towers. Numbers @ 340MHz are looking good (see below).  Cool



see what 354 would do for you?

nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:21:30 AM
 #483

I just converted all my equipment over to 220v/240v circuits.  I have some more hardware arriving this week and really had nothing better to do besides mow the grass.  Figured I may as well get as much efficiency out of the power being used as I could.

Amp readings before and after? Awesome you did this... At least amp readings? Amps should be very much lower. More efficient and less electricity. In theory.

Edit, picture of the job?

I don't have any amp readings unfortunately.  I don't have the equipment to take those measurements.  A good clamp on ammeter has been on my "to get" list for a while, but I always end up getting other stuff instead.  As for pics....it really just looks like a standard outlet.  I wired it using 10-2 indoor house wiring and a 30A breaker so it should be able to handle whatever I throw on it with regards to mining/computer equipment.  That freakin' wire is a pain in the ass to work with in a tight space like an electrical box too.  Ironically....I got it all at home depot....using a gift card....that I bought through a smartphone app called Gyft...with bitcoin I mined...

jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:23:14 AM
 #484

well hey, if you're interested nst.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=678854.msg7695806#msg7695806

I am out man.
KC6TTR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:28:04 AM
 #485


Nice work.  What software are you using to control them?   

It's beyond me why they didn't put all the connectors on one end in the first place...stupid design to plug crap into both ends if you ask me.
I just converted all my equipment over to 220v/240v circuits.  I have some more hardware arriving this week and really had nothing better to do besides mow the grass.  Figured I may as well get as much efficiency out of the power being used as I could.

Thanks. I am using the new Pi image from Zeus (V4 07/02/2014) available here: https://mega.co.nz/#!UtYg2CLb!SgOThKBiqJwvopKUMKeoxPvGFtbJc8im7LfUHqlL9f4

This updated solution does work a little better, but it is still a work in progress and can be finicky if using 5+ Blizzards/Furies on a single Pi (latency issues when starting/stopping/modifying). I may split it up and assign one tower per Pi (2 pair per controller). Regardless, I am mining away with 8 on the single controller right now and it hasn't killed itself yet.  Tongue

Scott
winter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1293


i'm the true winter and no WINTER is not comming..


View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:35:32 AM
 #486

First post here so please be kind!  Grin

I had a few hours yesterday morning and gave myself a little 4th of July holiday challenge:
1.Take a few of my Blizzards/Furies from my mini-farm.
2.With ONLY a tray of various screws/wires, thermal paste, and some mini-heatsinks, use the parts that make-up the stock units and reconfigure the design to:
A. Consolidate cooling.
B. Consolidate size.
C. (Hopefully) improve performance.
3.Enjoy a nice cold Hefeweizen and whistle while I work!

(Items also present on my work bench = Weller soldering iron + solder, razor blade, Phillips head, and hex head drivers)

After repasting and improving the PCB to aluminum casing thermal transfer, the mini-heatsinks were applied to each individual ASIC. Next, I combined the V+ input of each set of (2) miner boards before running a new power feed line to the rear of each pair. I then soldered one of the available fans to one of the available PCB's. Everything is now reinstalled in to each cashing set and joined with the original fan housing bolts, which are also used to [temporarily] secure the now vertically mounted blower-fans. Just for extra cooling assurance, one of the other extra fans is plugged in to the stock location on the PCB and retained on the top of my "mini-tower of 5.5MH/s power" by seating it so its mount holes securely rest on the union bolt/nut tips. Lastly, to keep each pair of miners level, two M3x40mm hex-head bolts w/ nylon lock nuts are used in place of the (2) rear PCB mount screws on the lower miner of each pair. Now each pair of miners can be stacked and hooked up!

My opinion of the results: Veni, vidi, vici!

Overall, the units are running cooler and I can see approximately a 10-15% improvement in hashing effectiveness - including less HW errors (only approx. 10 over a range of 1000 accepted shares with less than 5 rejected shares). I am going to continue to test and see how it does over the weekend.

Update: Now I have 8 units made into 2 towers. Numbers @ 340MHz are looking good (see below).  Cool

Scott-











I have a question did u try to add 3 units together and have the 120mm fan blow on it ?
i wanted to try this maybe tomorrow but wanted to see why u did the 2 in 1 method
KC6TTR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:41:50 AM
 #487


Update: Now I have 8 units made into 2 towers. Numbers @ 340MHz are looking good (see below).  Cool



see what 354 would do for you?



Not good. Hash rate reduced a little and HW errors went up to 40%+.

I have not looked into the voltage mod yet, but that may be the next challenge.

Scott
KC6TTR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:58:21 AM
 #488

I have a question did u try to add 3 units together and have the 120mm fan blow on it ?
i wanted to try this maybe tomorrow but wanted to see why u did the 2 in 1 method

I wanted to consolidate the size and see if I could improve the thermal air transfer. I was also interested in creating a larger heatsink/grounding density to see if it helped.

Joining the two PCB's V+ together at the Q2 point also allows for the voltage regulator MOSFET's of each unit to run in parallel along with the filter caps so, in theory, the overall robustness of the voltage circuit of both PCB's is improved.

The two side fans blow air through the top heatsink fins and the smooth bottom surface of each pair. The top fan is made available to help keep the top unit fins similarly cool since without it, there is not the same amount of horizontal airflow in that area as there is in the lower section.

You could keep stacking unit pairs on top, but I believe two unit pairs per tower will suit me fine and allow me to monitor each union better.
kingscrown
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


http://fuk.io - check it out!


View Profile WWW
July 07, 2014, 04:31:12 AM
 #489

my review, unboxing and guide how to setup fury asic miner
http://fuk.io/gawminers-fury-13-mhs-asic-scrypt-review-setup-guide-and-unboxing/

casebeer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
July 07, 2014, 05:24:56 AM
 #490

Playing around with better cooling. I found some tiny heat sinks on amazon and I built a housing to cool 2 miners and the power blocks. I also added thermo paste to the backside of the chips. We will see how it goes. Thoughts on my design?  It does make the setup 4 db quieter at least.

http://i.imgur.com/MxgL3uZh.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/xTvIjJf.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/nV7SOCOh.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/v8ycYRLh.jpg
Junkbarman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 07, 2014, 06:02:35 AM
 #491

As far as I know coinking and nicehash are pools which do not work well.
Multipool.us and clevermining are really great... Also others report that single coin pools also working...


Got a Thunder x3 with male connectors grrrr now I have to fix this fabric fail to get it running. Hope my PC dealer has some 6 pin extenders to use instead of cutting the wires of my PSU

Did i read it right on the site, that's how they are shipping them now...

Remember, what the dormouse said: feed your head.
forzendiablo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


the grandpa of cryptos


View Profile
July 07, 2014, 06:15:26 AM
 #492

my review, unboxing and guide how to setup fury asic miner
http://fuk.io/gawminers-fury-13-mhs-asic-scrypt-review-setup-guide-and-unboxing/

nice, thanx

yolo
jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 07, 2014, 12:04:04 PM
 #493



Not good. Hash rate reduced a little and HW errors went up to 40%+.

I have not looked into the voltage mod yet, but that may be the next challenge.

Scott

I am guessing my unit is bad then? or just people with volt mods see the best results?
KC6TTR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
July 07, 2014, 11:23:07 PM
 #494



Not good. Hash rate reduced a little and HW errors went up to 40%+.

I have not looked into the voltage mod yet, but that may be the next challenge.

Scott

I am guessing my unit is bad then? or just people with volt mods see the best results?

I wouldn't say your unit is bad. It just happens to favor that frequency using the pool you are on. Yes, the pools themselves affect the hash throughput just as much as the difficulty. All my units are stock (no voltage mods) and I am having great results with hashfaster.com, where I am mining as much Dogecoin as possible before the next rewards halving takes place in about 6 days. I also use a very clean DC power source so the hardware does not have to deal with significant voltage ripples.
hedgy73
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
July 08, 2014, 10:14:35 PM
 #495



Not good. Hash rate reduced a little and HW errors went up to 40%+.

I have not looked into the voltage mod yet, but that may be the next challenge.

Scott

I am guessing my unit is bad then? or just people with volt mods see the best results?

I wouldn't say your unit is bad. It just happens to favor that frequency using the pool you are on. Yes, the pools themselves affect the hash throughput just as much as the difficulty. All my units are stock (no voltage mods) and I am having great results with hashfaster.com, where I am mining as much Dogecoin as possible before the next rewards halving takes place in about 6 days. I also use a very clean DC power source so the hardware does not have to deal with significant voltage ripples.

Can someone please tell me what a very clean DC power source is?

jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 12:26:50 AM
 #496

Can someone please tell me what a very clean DC power source is?

I believe like a gold or platinum PSU would be clean powersource. Using those power supply's that come with the fury I would guess is not clean.

The best I did for clean power is, I changed the outlet to a nice brand new outlet "brown color heavy duty" "American" > Using ISOBAR6 > Tripp Lite OMNIVS1000 > EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 > mining farm = 6 gridseeds and one fury.
hedgy73
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
July 09, 2014, 12:31:14 AM
 #497

Can someone please tell me what a very clean DC power source is?

I believe like a gold or platinum PSU would be clean powersource. Using those power supply's that come with the fury I would guess is not clean.

The best I did for clean power is, I changed the outlet to a nice brand new outlet "brown color heavy duty" "American" > Using ISOBAR6 > Tripp Lite OMNIVS1000 > EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 > mining farm = 6 gridseeds and one fury.

Thank you that's great I thought it might be a gold / platinum or even bronze psu. I agree the power supply included is not the best...

Thanks for the additional information as well, much appreciated Smiley

hedgy73
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
July 09, 2014, 12:45:17 AM
 #498

Anyone else getting all solo mining shares rejected with Zeusminer Blizard?

Have been testing out solo mining on a low difficulty coin for a few hours and have got 5 rejected shares.



Any ideas what the problem might be?

My .bat file is: cgminer.exe --scrypt -o 127.0.0.1:xxxx -u xxxx -p xxxx --chips-count 6 --ltc-clk 300 -S //./COM10 --nocheck-golden

Any help appreciated.

EDIT: Make that 6 rejected shares....

Kokok
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 01:01:17 AM
 #499

Anyone else getting all solo mining shares rejected with Zeusminer Blizard?

Have been testing out solo mining on a low difficulty coin for a few hours and have got 5 rejected shares.



Any ideas what the problem might be?

My .bat file is: cgminer.exe --scrypt -o 127.0.0.1:xxxx -u xxxx -p xxxx --chips-count 6 --ltc-clk 300 -S //./COM10 --nocheck-golden

Any help appreciated.

EDIT: Make that 6 rejected shares....

I maybe new to this... but your diff is 14k.... OUCH!!!
hedgy73
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
July 09, 2014, 01:06:12 AM
 #500

Anyone else getting all solo mining shares rejected with Zeusminer Blizard?

Have been testing out solo mining on a low difficulty coin for a few hours and have got 5 rejected shares.



Any ideas what the problem might be?

My .bat file is: cgminer.exe --scrypt -o 127.0.0.1:xxxx -u xxxx -p xxxx --chips-count 6 --ltc-clk 300 -S //./COM10 --nocheck-golden

Any help appreciated.

EDIT: Make that 6 rejected shares....

I maybe new to this... but your diff is 14k.... OUCH!!!

Thanks for your reply. Funny you say that, just had an accepted share:



At least I know its working right Smiley

BTW 14k is nothing, really low diff compared to other coins. In fact I looked for the lowest difficulty scrypt coin before downloading the wallet and trying solo mining.

Just wanted to do with a low diff coin before trying on higher diff. to check was working ok.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!