Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 07:31:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods  (Read 104055 times)
YSH
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 08:25:43 PM
 #701

Hey Guys

Hope someone can help me!

Today I reapplied TIM, before i ran it on 336 now i can run it on 341 <10% HW errors.

I wanted to hook up a 3 pin molex 12 cm fan to the front of it instead of having 1 on the top.
But the fan won't spin up, why is that?
1511206263
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511206263

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511206263
Reply with quote  #2

1511206263
Report to moderator
1511206263
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511206263

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511206263
Reply with quote  #2

1511206263
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511206263
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511206263

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511206263
Reply with quote  #2

1511206263
Report to moderator
MobileWill
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2014, 09:14:27 PM
 #702

Hey Guys

Hope someone can help me!

Today I reapplied TIM, before i ran it on 336 now i can run it on 341 <10% HW errors.

I wanted to hook up a 3 pin molex 12 cm fan to the front of it instead of having 1 on the top.
But the fan won't spin up, why is that?

Is it a 12V fan connected to 12V or 5V?

Its either bad connection, sometimes molex doesn't make a good connection, or voltage to low. Could be bad fan if its used.


miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=80
YSH
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 09:25:45 PM
 #703

Hey Guys

Hope someone can help me!

Today I reapplied TIM, before i ran it on 336 now i can run it on 341 <10% HW errors.

I wanted to hook up a 3 pin molex 12 cm fan to the front of it instead of having 1 on the top.
But the fan won't spin up, why is that?

Is it a 12V fan connected to 12V or 5V?

Its either bad connection, sometimes molex doesn't make a good connection, or voltage to low. Could be bad fan if its used.



Thanks, I tried to use a Corsair AF 120mm 12v. So no way to get this to work without soldering etc? Sorry I am a total newb.
MobileWill
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2014, 09:28:58 PM
 #704

Hey Guys

Hope someone can help me!

Today I reapplied TIM, before i ran it on 336 now i can run it on 341 <10% HW errors.

I wanted to hook up a 3 pin molex 12 cm fan to the front of it instead of having 1 on the top.
But the fan won't spin up, why is that?

Is it a 12V fan connected to 12V or 5V?

Its either bad connection, sometimes molex doesn't make a good connection, or voltage to low. Could be bad fan if its used.



Thanks, I tried to use a Corsair AF 120mm 12v. So no way to get this to work without soldering etc? Sorry I am a total newb.

So the fan already had a molex on the end? It should work. What happens when you wiggle it?

Btw soldering is a great skill to learn and not that hard. check out https://learn.adafruit.com/collins-lab-soldering


miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=80
YSH
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 09:31:00 PM
 #705

Hey Guys

Hope someone can help me!

Today I reapplied TIM, before i ran it on 336 now i can run it on 341 <10% HW errors.

I wanted to hook up a 3 pin molex 12 cm fan to the front of it instead of having 1 on the top.
But the fan won't spin up, why is that?

Is it a 12V fan connected to 12V or 5V?

Its either bad connection, sometimes molex doesn't make a good connection, or voltage to low. Could be bad fan if its used.



Thanks, I tried to use a Corsair AF 120mm 12v. So no way to get this to work without soldering etc? Sorry I am a total newb.

So the fan already had a molex on the end? It should work. What happens when you wiggle it?

Btw soldering is a great skill to learn and not that hard. check out https://learn.adafruit.com/collins-lab-soldering



Yes, it already has a 3 pin molex on the end. Nothing happens when I wiggle it Sad
MobileWill
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2014, 09:32:52 PM
 #706

Hey Guys

Hope someone can help me!

Today I reapplied TIM, before i ran it on 336 now i can run it on 341 <10% HW errors.

I wanted to hook up a 3 pin molex 12 cm fan to the front of it instead of having 1 on the top.
But the fan won't spin up, why is that?

Is it a 12V fan connected to 12V or 5V?

Its either bad connection, sometimes molex doesn't make a good connection, or voltage to low. Could be bad fan if its used.




Unplug it and make sure none of the pins are pushed in.
Thanks, I tried to use a Corsair AF 120mm 12v. So no way to get this to work without soldering etc? Sorry I am a total newb.

So the fan already had a molex on the end? It should work. What happens when you wiggle it?

Btw soldering is a great skill to learn and not that hard. check out https://learn.adafruit.com/collins-lab-soldering



Yes, it already has a 3 pin molex on the end. Nothing happens when I wiggle it Sad

miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=80
YSH
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 09:34:18 PM
 #707

Hey Guys

Hope someone can help me!

Today I reapplied TIM, before i ran it on 336 now i can run it on 341 <10% HW errors.

I wanted to hook up a 3 pin molex 12 cm fan to the front of it instead of having 1 on the top.
But the fan won't spin up, why is that?

Is it a 12V fan connected to 12V or 5V?

Its either bad connection, sometimes molex doesn't make a good connection, or voltage to low. Could be bad fan if its used.




Unplug it and make sure none of the pins are pushed in.
Thanks, I tried to use a Corsair AF 120mm 12v. So no way to get this to work without soldering etc? Sorry I am a total newb.

So the fan already had a molex on the end? It should work. What happens when you wiggle it?

Btw soldering is a great skill to learn and not that hard. check out https://learn.adafruit.com/collins-lab-soldering



Yes, it already has a 3 pin molex on the end. Nothing happens when I wiggle it Sad

Fan + Pins should be alright, I just checked it on my PC and it spins up
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 09:37:20 PM
 #708

make sure the correct pins line up on your fan.  Last time I checked the fan plug the pins were 'reversed' as opposed to a standard 3-pin connection.  Match the red and black wires, yellow will have no connection.
YSH
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 09:38:21 PM
 #709

make sure the correct pins line up on your fan.  Last time I checked the fan plug the pins were 'reversed' as opposed to a standard 3-pin connection.  Match the red and black wires, yellow will have no connection.

Thanks! How can I check that though when all the cables are just plain black?
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 10:22:13 PM
 #710

make sure the correct pins line up on your fan.  Last time I checked the fan plug the pins were 'reversed' as opposed to a standard 3-pin connection.  Match the red and black wires, yellow will have no connection.

Thanks! How can I check that though when all the cables are just plain black?

Oh Damn.....one of those....do you have another fan with the same connector that you can use to compare?  Otherwise try to look up the pinout of a motherboard fan header and that should tell you.  I'd do it but I'm on my phone and it's kind of a pain in the ass.
MobileWill
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2014, 10:24:02 PM
 #711

Google?

http://www.allpinouts.org/index.php/Motherboard_%28CPU%29_3_Pin_Fan_Connector

miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=80
YSH
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 12:44:30 AM
 #712

make sure the correct pins line up on your fan.  Last time I checked the fan plug the pins were 'reversed' as opposed to a standard 3-pin connection.  Match the red and black wires, yellow will have no connection.

Thanks! How can I check that though when all the cables are just plain black?

Oh Damn.....one of those....do you have another fan with the same connector that you can use to compare?  Otherwise try to look up the pinout of a motherboard fan header and that should tell you.  I'd do it but I'm on my phone and it's kind of a pain in the ass.


Thank you so much guys, you are AWESOME! I figured it out. However the fan barely pushes air through the chips area haha..

I only have 1 fury, I might get some VRM heatsinks though.
djkyno
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
August 03, 2014, 11:51:09 AM
 #713

i am thinking to stack 3 fury together than put fans on both end. 1 side brings in cool air the other side extract the hot air.

Do you think it will work ?


Honeycutt22
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 01:17:17 PM
 #714

Hey guys - I have two blizzards (1.4mh each) running on fastcoin. I seem to be getting a pretty high rejection and stale rate with the following specs...

cgminer.exe --scrypt -o 127.**** -u u -p p --nocheck-golden --chips-count 6 --ltc-clk 328 -S //./COM3 -S //./COM6 --expiry 2 --scan-time 2 --queue 0

Fastcoin has a 12 s block time, so maybe it's normal because it goes so fast???

Does anyone know? Also - I am solo mining them, but had the same issues on the pools as well
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 01:35:54 PM
 #715

i am thinking to stack 3 fury together than put fans on both end. 1 side brings in cool air the other side extract the hot air.

Do you think it will work ?


It might work better if you made a 'tunnel' and used a single 120mm or 140mm fan on each end (much like the Antminer S3).  This way you're forcing the air through a particular path no matter what's in the way and it won't be deflected/scattered about.

The problem with the tunnel idea is the frickin' wires that come out of both ends.  I could do it with mine fairly easily because I relocated the power connector to the other end where the fan and usb are.  So I have one end that's connector free.
djkyno
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
August 03, 2014, 04:14:51 PM
 #716

i wanted to do it that whay, but 1 thing, i suck at soldering or relocating the plug.

nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 09:04:55 PM
 #717

i wanted to do it that whay, but 1 thing, i suck at soldering or relocating the plug.

yeah....there's always stuff like that to get in the way  Cheesy
jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 09:15:23 PM
 #718

Ok, guys. For your Fury's.

At what clock are you seeing with what HW error rates with what cooling modifications?

My fury has been mining over 80hours and the thermal compound should have cured by now.

I still get 9% to 9 1/2% hw error rate.

Tried 339,350,354 I get all the same hw error rate.

Should I reply TIM to the back of the board again?

Note:
My chips have HS's. the voltage regulator things don't have HS's.

The body of the HS is hot, so I know there is contact.
Zeta0S
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 09:17:03 PM
 #719

Ok, guys. For your Fury's.

At what clock are you seeing with what HW error rates with what cooling modifications?

My fury has been mining over 80hours and the thermal compound should have cured by now.

I still get 9% to 9 1/2% hw error rate.

Tried 339,350,354 I get all the same hw error rate.

Should I replay TIM to the back of the board again?
9% is a normal error rate for a fury.  I have seen this always.

Get a HUGE 3% discount with promo code: MOON @ Genesis Mining
https://www.genesis-mining.com
bosondehiggs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 11:32:06 PM
 #720

4-5%  is a normal error rate for a fury not 9%
9% you need to improve the cooling.
@381mhz i have 1.6Mh/s and less than 5% and very stable.

Fresh air is the key.

btc: 1GjH79Qn3L1RayqX4utCNJToLQEQLh8Vc7
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!