Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 10:03:39 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Poll
Question: What are your thoughts on bitcoin and energy consumption?
Don't care - 25 (26.9%)
Bitcoin is energy intensive? - 8 (8.6%)
Care, mine anyway - 26 (28%)
Care, dont mine, support bitcoin - 3 (3.2%)
Care, don't support bitcoin - 1 (1.1%)
Bitcoin mining is not energy intensive compared to alternatives - 19 (20.4%)
I'd like to see the numbers first - 11 (11.8%)
Total Voters: 93

Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: concern for bitcoin and the environment  (Read 7829 times)
brybot (OP)

Activity: 24
Merit: 0

View Profile
April 25, 2011, 02:11:45 AM

So I am pretty new to bitcoin, but I am concerned with energy usage of the system.

I estimate that the bitcoin system is running on well over 400 kW in pure computation power. This figure only includes GPU/CPU power and not any other component. I saw a figure that shows that Slush's pool accounts for about 1/4 of the total blocks found and has about 208 Ghash/s capacity. If we assume that the entire network is using highly efficient GPUs we could expect around 2 Mhash/J, but I feel that this is generous. total power=(slush capacity)/[(slush fraction of total)*efficiency] = 208 Ghash/s / (0.25 * 2 Mhash/J) = 416 kW.

Thats quite a bit of power. The other concern is we can throw more and more power into solving the blocks, but we have fixed the rate at which blocks will be found to be constant. So we add more power, then difficulty increases. Is there any way that we can make this a more environmentally friendly idea?