Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 04:13:25 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970? ubuntu?  (Read 3729 times)
Nick13ro
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
April 27, 2011, 03:44:47 AM
 #21

x16 or x4 or x1 does not matter as long as you've managed to plug in your card and it is recognised by bios.

Welcome to bitcoin community, schone, lots of people here are very helpful.




Is it correct that you can only have up to 8 cores in linux ? Meaning you can connect a maximum of 4x 5970s for ex. ?
1481256805
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256805

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256805
Reply with quote  #2

1481256805
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 27, 2011, 03:53:22 AM
 #22


Is it correct that you can only have up to 8 cores in linux ? Meaning you can connect a maximum of 4x 5970s for ex. ?

Yep. This guy http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42 accomplished it with some serious hardware hacking.

If I had the money this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274 would be my dream board.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Nick13ro
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
April 27, 2011, 02:58:32 PM
 #23


Is it correct that you can only have up to 8 cores in linux ? Meaning you can connect a maximum of 4x 5970s for ex. ?

Yep. This guy http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42 accomplished it with some serious hardware hacking.

If I had the money this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274 would be my dream board.

Nice board.
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
April 27, 2011, 07:34:10 PM
 #24

If I had the money this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274 would be my dream board.

Because of the spacing of the slots, it looks like you would only be able to plug in 4 cards and not 5. But still, that's better than most boards.
cartman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
April 30, 2011, 08:53:16 PM
 #25

Hi there,

I consider buying a 5970 and plug it into my present hardware. That is an ASUS P5N-E SLI, Miditower and 550W Power Supply.
Do you think that is possible?

I'm afraid there might be two problems: 1. Incompatible PCI-E Slot, 2. Too little power supply.

As an alternative, what would be the most efficient upgrade?

Another question: With my present hardware, videos aren't played fluently as soon as I launch poclbm-mod. Because I use that machine for everything, it would be important, that I can mine AND work at the same time. Is that possible? If not, I might reconsider the investment.

I appreciate any advice!
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 30, 2011, 09:12:22 PM
 #26

Hi there,

I consider buying a 5970 and plug it into my present hardware. That is an ASUS P5N-E SLI, Miditower and 550W Power Supply.
Do you think that is possible?

I'm afraid there might be two problems: 1. Incompatible PCI-E Slot, 2. Too little power supply.

As an alternative, what would be the most efficient upgrade?

Another question: With my present hardware, videos aren't played fluently as soon as I launch poclbm-mod. Because I use that machine for everything, it would be important, that I can mine AND work at the same time. Is that possible? If not, I might reconsider the investment.

I appreciate any advice!

1) As long as it's a PCI-E x4 or better (which yours is then you're good). I'm mining on an Intel LGA 775 from the same era no problem.
2) 5970 uses almost 300 watts, 250 almost certainly enough for the rest of the system. You should definitely upgrade it if you're not going to use it as a dedicated miner.

Flash player, Firefox 4, Chrome, IE-9 and quite a few other apps are adding direct video support for rendering with opencl, the same interface you're using for mining. Using any program that accesses opencl is going to impact your mining speed. Flash player can be told not to use hardware rendering and will pass the load to your CPU. Some apps can't be told not to use it.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
cartman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
April 30, 2011, 09:26:36 PM
 #27

thanks for your answer!

so i will get myself a 5970. is there any manufacturer you would prefer (with regard to my board)?

How would I (using linux) disable hardware acceleration of the flash player?
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 30, 2011, 10:25:14 PM
 #28

thanks for your answer!

so i will get myself a 5970. is there any manufacturer you would prefer (with regard to my board)?

How would I (using linux) disable hardware acceleration of the flash player?

I don't have a preferred manufacturer, I also don't have a 5970, but a 5970 is basically 2 of my cards on one board. My cards were bought used from E-bay and they're running like champs. I would recommend getting a card that has the fan at the end instead of the middle so it's pushing air toward the back (out) of the case instead of the middle where half of it is going back into the case.

On the official Adobe Flash Player you right click and turn off hardware acceleration. It would depend on which program you are using in Linux as to how/if you can turn it off if you're not using the official version.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
April 30, 2011, 10:41:10 PM
 #29

How many GHash/sec are you getting with those 2x5970?

Are you generating less than 13.07BTC/day? 
Each GPU is around 285Mh/s so 1.14Gh/s total.  Stock clocks, poclbm.  I'm going to upgrade to Phoenix miner.

Get the latest poclbm miner (2011-04-26) and pass -v -w 128 -f 60 (the -f 60 you might want to tinker with, but on Windows, I had some stability issues after a week or so and it only changed the hash rate by about 3MH/s max, but my machine is used for work as well via VPN).   I get roughly 366MH/s running Windows 7 x64 (latest Catalyst drivers and Stream 2.4 (which is probably not required) using a stock MSI Radeon HD 6970 card with no overclocking and have a fan profile setup to keep the temp at 75-78C.  I have seen some postings elsewhere of using -w 256, but I am not sure that is helpful or not [going from 64 to 128 certainly was].

I would love to hear how this works out on Ubuntu (or even Gentoo).  I suspect you will get the very best performance on a Windows 7 or Vista machine with Aero turned off using the parameters I mention above, mainly because the drivers for Windows are undoubtedly where they spend most of their efforts on improvement.

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!