Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:13:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Core undervolting/overvolting on multi HD 6950 setup  (Read 3060 times)
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:19:40 PM
 #1

I have read threads that discussed this topic on HD 6950 series in particular, however this issue is still persisting for me no matter what I try.

I have a rig running four shader-unlocked HD 6950s, on Windows 7 64bit, 11.12 Drivers with 2.5 SDK. Using ATI tray tools, I am able to adjust the voltage on HD6950 #0 and #1, however #2 and #3 remain at stock voltage (1.175 for my BIOS).

I have MSI afterburner 2.2 Beta 12 installed, with the EULA entered into the config, unofficial overclocking 1 (also tried 2), further up the config file, unlonlockvoltagecontrol=1 and unlockvoltagemonitoring=1 too; after I launch the app, I go into setting and also check unlock voltage monitoring and control there (just doing it in the config file does not change it in settings, nor does changing it in settings change it in the config). No voltage control for any HD 6950... nor do I even get to see the voltage...

Tried Sapphire TriXX, cannot even use the slider for voltage, it is locked.

Tried Radeon BIOS editor, and changing only the voltage of high performance profile to 1.1 (still higher than the other 3 profiles), I did not change any clock settings or anything else in RBE, saved BIOS and flashed it to one of my four cards; BSOD at boot, every time, every card.

I am able to run 920MHz at 1.075v, or 935MHz at 1.175, MH/s gain from 15MHz is not worth the power usage, or heat increase at 1.175v.

Does anyone have any tricks or tools that I have not already tried? Any help is appreciated, I will offer a couple BTC reward to anyone who can solve this.
1481199209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199209
Reply with quote  #2

1481199209
Report to moderator
1481199209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199209
Reply with quote  #2

1481199209
Report to moderator
1481199209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199209
Reply with quote  #2

1481199209
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:27:53 PM
 #2

You can still try:

ati tray tools
barelyclocked

same tools as previously but on different drivers
I was unable to change voltage on my 5850s until I updated my drivers
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:35:05 PM
 #3

You can still try:

ati tray tools
barelyclocked

same tools as previously but on different drivers
I was unable to change voltage on my 5850s until I updated my drivers

I have tried ATT, which does work, but only on 2 of my 4 GPUs.
I have never heard of barelyclocked, but look forward to giving it a shot; I will gladly send you a couple BTC if this works.
_Vince_
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 01:17:16 AM
 #4

I had too many problems with my 6950 and Windows, in the end I installed Ubuntu and flashed the card with new clock settings and voltage levels

Now my headless machines run on a usb flash drive and require no attention from me; even when in case of power outage, when the power comes back they automatically boot themselves and start mining
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
March 04, 2012, 07:39:04 PM
 #5


I have tried ATT, which does work, but only on 2 of my 4 GPUs.
I have never heard of barelyclocked, but look forward to giving it a shot; I will gladly send you a couple BTC if this works.

Did it work?  Smiley
Barelyclocked is a tool developed by a forum member so it isn't popular outside of here, he doesn't visit the forums any more but it worked on all of my cards so far (5830, 5850, 5870 and 6770)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=16406.0

alternatively you could also try AOCLBF
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=10264.0
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 09:34:00 PM
 #6


I have tried ATT, which does work, but only on 2 of my 4 GPUs.
I have never heard of barelyclocked, but look forward to giving it a shot; I will gladly send you a couple BTC if this works.

Did it work?  Smiley
Barelyclocked is a tool developed by a forum member so it isn't popular outside of here, he doesn't visit the forums any more but it worked on all of my cards so far (5830, 5850, 5870 and 6770)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=16406.0

alternatively you could also try AOCLBF
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=10264.0

Barelyclocked did not work, it changed the core, but neither the memory clock or the vcore. I'll try AOCLBF and see if that works any better.
sunbreak
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 12:36:51 AM
 #7

Which specific model of 6950 are we talking about here. I've had no problems with my 6950's so I'm interested.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!