Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:30:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Power related questions  (Read 1186 times)
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 02:24:57 AM
 #1

How much power does a standard ATX motheboard consume?
If i'm mining for a long time, how much % of a PSU's rated capacity should i use? (it's an antec earthwatts, by the way)

thanks  Smiley

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
1481142659
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142659

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142659
Reply with quote  #2

1481142659
Report to moderator
1481142659
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142659

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142659
Reply with quote  #2

1481142659
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 03:02:35 AM
 #2

Need way more info. What motherboard, CPU, GPU, and PSU, etc do you have?

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 27, 2012, 03:04:46 AM
 #3

Be sure to consider the fact that the PCIe slots also consume power that is pulled via the mobo itself. The spec allows up to 75 watts per slot, but most cards pull between 20 and 60 watts each.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 03:22:11 AM
 #4

2x 5850 (150 W each)
AMD phenom quad core ~100 W TDP
750 W antec earthwatts, the one with 4 rails

I was considering to add a third GPU, but i was not certain if my power supply could handle it. 150*3+100 is already 550W, and that's just the GPU+CPU, not including other accessories.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 27, 2012, 03:28:45 AM
 #5

2x 5850 (150 W each)
AMD phenom quad core ~100 W TDP
750 W antec earthwatts, the one with 4 rails

I was considering to add a third GPU, but i was not certain if my power supply could handle it. 150*3+100 is already 550W, and that's just the GPU+CPU, not including other accessories.

With underclocked ram it is unlikely your 5850s are pulling 150W and while mining your phenom is certainly not pulling 100W.  Best thing is to get a kill-a-watt and measure.  I know that sounds like a copout but there are so many variables in play anything else is a rough guestimate at best.
diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 08:10:58 AM
 #6

I don't know much about that PSU but I like to not load PSUs up to much unless they are really high quality (for example Seasonic). Also single rail designs are much better however multiple rail designs can be managed. Just make sure you don't have the CPU bug that makes it run 100% while mining and you should be able to run 3 cards assuming you cut down on accessories. In it's current configuration (with DVD drive, hard drive, fans, 100 watt CPU, etc) you'd be cutting it too close for comfort.

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!