Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:05:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GUIminer fluctuates 500-540mhash  (Read 1645 times)
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 03:25:45 PM
 #1

Is it normal to have a card with fluctuating mhash?

I have put core voltage to 949mv and using guiminer.

according the software the 7970 is flucutating between 500-540mhash?
1480817136
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817136

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817136
Reply with quote  #2

1480817136
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 03:32:04 PM
 #2

Not too rare, especially if you have low aggression settings, are running 2+ cards in CFX mode, or are using the mining card as your display adapter. Probably some other conditions which'd cause this, too.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 04:39:35 PM
 #3

Not too rare, especially if you have low aggression settings, are running 2+ cards in CFX mode, or are using the mining card as your display adapter. Probably some other conditions which'd cause this, too.

I have 3 cards, 2x 7950 both stable at 420mhash, the 7970 is my main card and I have Crossfire disabled but I have the bridge in there(gaming rig).
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 04:56:38 PM
 #4

Flash and java use really affect your display cores hash rate. Ive seen cores drop 50% because some idiot thought it was cool to load up a java or flash program on a mining rig.

ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 05:45:54 PM
 #5

Is it normal to have a card with fluctuating mhash?

I have put core voltage to 949mv and using guiminer.

according the software the 7970 is flucutating between 500-540mhash?

With cgminer, you should be getting 650+ from your 7970. 685 in single card setups, 650-ish in multiple.

Clean up your OS/apps. Disable unused devices in BIOS. 
Downclock CPU, overclock gpu core, downclock gpu memory, undervolt vddc etc.

But you have 1125 on core which is 20% overclock so you should be getting the 20% more in mhash which is about right compared to my 7970 with 540 mhash.

I also have a Haf case (932) and the 7970 gets to 79c which I think starts to be abit high.

I have Core at 949mv, the memory is stock 1.6v or what the stock is, I'll start undervolting later.

my 2x 7950 + 1x 7970 use about 515w total incl rest of the system.
neo_rage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
March 02, 2012, 08:10:43 PM
 #6

sure, dMh (delta Mh) based on many parameters:
 - did you connect monitor to a video card that mining?
 - did you working on this PC or it just for mining?
 - is your internet connection stable?

this may cause different dMh based on normal middle Mh of your video card.

ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 10:23:37 PM
 #7

sure, dMh (delta Mh) based on many parameters:
 - did you connect monitor to a video card that mining?
 - did you working on this PC or it just for mining?
 - is your internet connection stable?

this may cause different dMh based on normal middle Mh of your video card.

Yes I have the monitor to this 7970 that is 500-540mhash?

I have had it mining 24/7 for 2 days, I had logging apps to monitor temps and voltage.

No work on PC and the internet connection is 100% stable.

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
March 03, 2012, 11:58:50 AM
 #8

AFAIK, there aren't any really successful miners with GCN-friendly kernels that are compatible with 7970 and similar cards that are also compatible with the GUIMiner frontend. GUIminer itself is not a miner. It's just a GUI so people that are scared of command lines have something more familiar to grasp onto, but GUIMiner has to know how to understand what the miner is outputting in order to show you basic stuff like shares, mhash, and so on, so it won't work with every miner, but only with the ones it's been programmed to understand. There was some work on DiaKGCN, a phoenix-compatible kernel that's got optimizations for the GCD architecture, but I'm not sure if its phoenix 1.7.5 compatible (I only saw phoenix 2 variants, but I could be wrong. Phoenix 2 currently isn't compatible with guiminer due to how it's argument are stored in a config file now). If the card is also dedicated, you should probably ramp up the aggression so it doesnt fluctuate so much because it sounds like you are using the computer and have it at a low aggression

neo_rage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
March 03, 2012, 12:32:21 PM
 #9

damn it, display, not monitor. sorry Smiley

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!