Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:26:25 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: Do you have any interest in the board described below?  (Voting closed: March 09, 2012, 03:34:41 PM)
Yes. Would definitely buy (yesterday). - 6 (19.4%)
Yes. Would likely buy. - 9 (29%)
Maybe. Have concerns or questions. - 4 (12.9%)
No. Price is too high. - 5 (16.1%)
No.  I just don't have a use for it - 7 (22.6%)
Total Voters: 31

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Is there any interest in a hardware board which will allow remote power cycling  (Read 18447 times)
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 09:32:12 PM
 #21

I've done quite a bit research on this for servers, namely how to build a cluster of cheap servers on the cheap.

One option is to use Arduino with a Relay board and Ethernet Shield.
That will give you maximum of around 40 relays, depending upon model of Arduino used etc.
Parts can be sourced from: http://arduino-direct.com and eBay
Some information: http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/ArduinoPower#4-8

As for finished product i ended up choosing IP Power 9258T and Avocent Direct PDU for initial setups for it's low buy-in price.

For KVM i ended up choosing Belkin Omniview for larger setups and Aten CS1716i for smaller setups.
For big setups Belkin Omniview works out somewhere around 30-40$ per node, depending upon do you get your gear from cheap or expensive place.
Aten CS1716i is a few $ more expensive per node only, but the Belkin also provides saner setup by the means of using CAT5 cabling Smiley

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481221585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221585
Reply with quote  #2

1481221585
Report to moderator
1481221585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221585
Reply with quote  #2

1481221585
Report to moderator
1481221585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221585
Reply with quote  #2

1481221585
Report to moderator
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
March 03, 2012, 09:51:15 PM
 #22

D&T,

I was looking into purchasing 9 of these:

http://pdusdirect.com/power-distribution-units/switched/pdu-cw-8h2-c20m

If you can save me $350 a pop, I would buy enough for my entire farm, and future farm.

This is the last piece missing for me being able to leave town for an extended period of time.

Best,
gigavps
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 10:17:00 PM
 #23

D&T,

I was looking into purchasing 9 of these:

http://pdusdirect.com/power-distribution-units/switched/pdu-cw-8h2-c20m

If you can save me $350 a pop, I would buy enough for my entire farm, and future farm.

This is the last piece missing for me being able to leave town for an extended period of time.

Best,
gigavps

Arduino with relay board and ethernet shield works out to something like 275$ for around 40 ports. 160$ of which is relay boards, 8 of them.
Tho requires a bit of work to get running, but ought to be rather easy after that.
Not a perfect solution, but half way there.

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 03, 2012, 10:19:39 PM
 #24

I've done quite a bit research on this for servers, namely how to build a cluster of cheap servers on the cheap.

One option is to use Arduino with a Relay board and Ethernet Shield.
That will give you maximum of around 40 relays, depending upon model of Arduino used etc.
Parts can be sourced from: http://arduino-direct.com and eBay
Some information: http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/ArduinoPower#4-8

As for finished product i ended up choosing IP Power 9258T and Avocent Direct PDU for initial setups for it's low buy-in price.

For KVM i ended up choosing Belkin Omniview for larger setups and Aten CS1716i for smaller setups.
For big setups Belkin Omniview works out somewhere around 30-40$ per node, depending upon do you get your gear from cheap or expensive place.
Aten CS1716i is a few $ more expensive per node only, but the Belkin also provides saner setup by the means of using CAT5 cabling Smiley

Back in July I built an arduino resetter that hooked to both reset and power.  Had feedback to show when the computer was on/off.  Temp monitoring for ambient and room temp.  I wrote the GUI to interface with a control computer (yes, parallel port would probably have been easier but I had the arduino). 

Right after I got it done I never needed it again.  I got my rigs to the stable point where they do not shut down unless the power is lost.  I was going to do an instructable but I got busy with other things. 
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 03, 2012, 10:20:56 PM
 #25

D&T,

I was looking into purchasing 9 of these:

http://pdusdirect.com/power-distribution-units/switched/pdu-cw-8h2-c20m

If you can save me $350 a pop, I would buy enough for my entire farm, and future farm.

This is the last piece missing for me being able to leave town for an extended period of time.

Best,
gigavps

Arduino with relay board and ethernet shield works out to something like 275$ for around 40 ports. 160$ of which is relay boards, 8 of them.
Tho requires a bit of work to get running, but ought to be rather easy after that.
Not a perfect solution, but half way there.

If you use small fet's instead of relays you can cut that cost down.  If you build your own boarduino you could probably get the cost down to less than $20.
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 12:31:57 AM
 #26

I'd be interested also. I'll be building my cluster off a windows network, so this would be great since power cycles don't cause as much issue in my experience with windows as opposed to linux.

Not starting a linux war, just saying for ME, this would work great. All my machines are hard wired on an ethernet network at my house and I'll have them running through a home server or some type of RDP soon.

If I could power cycle and restart remotely that would be great.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
March 04, 2012, 12:35:23 AM
 #27

I run into hard power cycle problems in Windows far, far more often than in Linux.  I can't remember the last time Linux gave me any issues about a hard power cycle.  Windows has certainly gotten better about it in recent years, but when something goes south, Windows usually requires a reinstall, whereas Linux requires a manual fsck and it's good to go.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2012, 01:25:09 AM
 #28

If someone does an cost-effective and easy solution for hard power cycling, i would not hesitate to spend several hundred euros immediately for just testing gear Smiley

So if someone finishes that Arduino design and makes it easy to order complete units i would buy several immediately.
Even if i have to solder the 230V (110V) power cables onto the relay board wouldn't really matter.

Another thing i'm looking for is something which can switch from power source to another, say network power goes out, it changes to inverter operated from a bunch of car batteries kept charged by a cheap 40€ trickle charger.

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
March 04, 2012, 02:55:50 AM
 #29

I have about a dozen surplus solid state relays like this one in 10A and 20A. They are used for industrial control, and are sized (and priced) more for controlling an entire circuit than just one machine, but the 10A ones would be appropriate for a 1000w rig. They are off by default and need 3-32V to turn them on, so a simple parallel interface would need to hold them high, or with a 12v power supply running them with pull-down resistors, you could design a circuit that turns them off with a momentary +12V signal input to ground.



PS I have melted those little blue circuit board relays into goo before, they might say 10A, but they arc inside when they turn off, which a zero-cross solid state relay doesn't do.

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 03:25:53 AM
 #30

I have about a dozen surplus solid state relays like this one in 10A and 20A. They are used for industrial control, and are sized (and priced) more for controlling an entire circuit than just one machine, but the 10A ones would be appropriate for a 1000w rig. They are off by default and need 3-32V to turn them on, so a simple parallel interface would need to hold them high, or with a 12v power supply running them with pull-down resistors, you could design a circuit that turns them off with a momentary +12V signal input to ground.



PS I have melted those little blue circuit board relays into goo before, they might say 10A, but they arc inside when they turn off, which a zero-cross solid state relay doesn't do.
Heeeeeyyyyy..... those are expensive. You selling them?

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 05:03:38 AM
 #31

Well windows 7 never gives me an issue with hard reset and I know it inside and out. I can't even f'in change software in linux, so for me, it's a no brainer.

Besides, when I sell off my stuff I Will be building all the gear into gaming rigs and a super badass rig for my home theater dream set-up.
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2012, 06:51:29 AM
 #32

I would like to buy one of this, definitively...

Sometimes, one or another mining rig just hangs... I know that cgminer is still "running" because I can access it trough its APT but, it is impossible to connect using ssh and restart my machine...

But, sometimes, I can access and reboot the mining rig using SSH and Linux Sysrq subsystem:

Code:
sudo -i
echo b > /proc/sysrq-trigger

This works more or like pushing the reset button of the case...

Anyway, this does not works all the time, forcing me to do the regular local power cycle.

It can be awsome if cgminer can run "echo b > /proc/sysrq-trigger" trough its API... So, even if machine is "out of ssh access" but, cgminer is still running (and machine still answer ping requests), we can send a command to cgminer do the restart job...

Best!
Thiago

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
aaa801
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95



View Profile
March 04, 2012, 11:59:35 AM
 #33

Il be working on remote power cycling when i get my pi, Wink got alove gpio

LTC: LUUikznZrvDb65ZCNQUNCiTaCB4CWGYRSZ
BTC: 1325TrScK8jkiPuMEMxNf1VXHHfnR1QtgN
david113
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 02:50:11 PM
 #34

Check this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/180563287252?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 05, 2012, 02:59:25 PM
 #35


neat.
Even better: http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-16-CH-Relay-Switch-Module-Board-Home-Automation-12V-/180751504176?_trksid=p4340.m444&_trkparms=algo%3DPI.WATCH%252BCRX%26its%3DC%252BS%26itu%3DUCC%252BSI%252BUA%252BLM%26otn%3D15%26po%3D%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D6788483942134694749

Each of the relays allows 15A current to pass through and upto 250V AC, or 24V DC

16 Relay IP Board:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Internet-Ethernet-16-Relais-Platine-IP-SNMP-WEB-/180626947903?pt=Mess_Pr%C3%BCftechnik&hash=item2a0e347f3f

USB 16 relay board:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-16-Channel-Relay-Board-Virtual-Port-12V-/170432366651?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27ae8f883b#ht_8976wt_1396

If you need big amount of these then a AMD E350, Sheeva/Guruplug, Raspberry or something like that to control the USB versions to get you even lower in price Smiley

Ofc, utilizing these as PDUs will require a bit of wiring but oh well....
Ordering one for testing! Smiley


http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 03:02:46 PM
 #36

Pretty cool. Each board has two 10 amp @ 240 VAC relays, and they are SPDT which means they don't have to be on all the time. Just turn the relays on for a few seconds when you want to kill the rig. The little ethernet board works directly with SNMP for you hardcore monitoring folks.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 05, 2012, 03:15:18 PM
 #37

Pretty cool. Each board has two 10 amp @ 240 VAC relays, and they are SPDT which means they don't have to be on all the time. Just turn the relays on for a few seconds when you want to kill the rig. The little ethernet board works directly with SNMP for you hardcore monitoring folks.

Some models have 15A relays. Not that it matters that much, as usually you have 16A fuse for a regular 230-240V line and 2.3kW is already plenty for single rig.

I bought a 16relay IP version for testing. Too cheap to pass up!

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 03:44:27 PM
 #38

Pretty cool. Each board has two 10 amp @ 240 VAC relays, and they are SPDT which means they don't have to be on all the time. Just turn the relays on for a few seconds when you want to kill the rig. The little ethernet board works directly with SNMP for you hardcore monitoring folks.

Some models have 15A relays. Not that it matters that much, as usually you have 16A fuse for a regular 230-240V line and 2.3kW is already plenty for single rig.

I bought a 16relay IP version for testing. Too cheap to pass up!

BTW, are you actually a (the?) guy that works at pulsedmedia.com? Great seedboxes there.


Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 05, 2012, 03:59:52 PM
 #39

Pretty cool. Each board has two 10 amp @ 240 VAC relays, and they are SPDT which means they don't have to be on all the time. Just turn the relays on for a few seconds when you want to kill the rig. The little ethernet board works directly with SNMP for you hardcore monitoring folks.

Some models have 15A relays. Not that it matters that much, as usually you have 16A fuse for a regular 230-240V line and 2.3kW is already plenty for single rig.

I bought a 16relay IP version for testing. Too cheap to pass up!

BTW, are you actually a (the?) guy that works at pulsedmedia.com? Great seedboxes there.



Yeah, i am Smiley

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 01:17:22 AM
 #40

An update:
Got my prototype working in windows.  Device is detected by Windows and I can send signals to the board via console app.

I don't have all the wiring I need to connect all 8 relays but I was able to remotely power cycle (and power off and power on) a single rig hooked to relay #0.

Is it nerdy that I smiled after pressing enter on my laptop and seeing a rig power cycle? Smiley

Hopefully the rest of wiring parts will be here by this weekend.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!