Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2021, 06:23:02 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 [241] 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 ... 516 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S3+ Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 709373 times)
daeminium
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450
Merit: 252



View Profile
August 11, 2014, 11:35:26 PM
 #4801

B7 = 0.66 BTC great  Shocked
1638685382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638685382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638685382
Reply with quote  #2

1638685382
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638685382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638685382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638685382
Reply with quote  #2

1638685382
Report to moderator
1638685382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638685382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638685382
Reply with quote  #2

1638685382
Report to moderator
1638685382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638685382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638685382
Reply with quote  #2

1638685382
Report to moderator
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1079
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 11:51:14 PM
 #4802

B7 = 0.66 BTC great  Shocked


Moolah out their wazoo, eh?  I hear ya.
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 11:55:54 PM
 #4803

Do any of you here know why the queue on the config is set so high? Is there a big gain from setting it to a lower number or why did they program 4096 as the queue. The discarded amounts are so high...

If you want, you can change the queue in /etc/init.d/cgminer

I use 32 and it seems to be a good compromise.  Some people use 1, others have kept 4096 - doesn't seem to have a huge effect, but can save you some CPU cycles if you make it lower.

Okay thanks, I will search. Does the 4096 and large amount of discarded not affect the overall hashrate and work submitted? Also, is 32 equivalent to 32shares or a share in that size?  I ask because I did not know if 4096 was 4096 shares or a share/shares added for a vardiff of 4096

Look at cklolivas(cgminer dev) post in this thread. Goes into great detail about this.

I will try. The results from search is a bit overwhelming in such a large thread. I was hoping for a single quick fix answer but I will try to read through the results
[/quote


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8056057#msg8056057


Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
justin.ramos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 11:56:59 PM
 #4804

I have 2 S3s that are now over-clocked. I'm using a Corsair RM850 to power both, with 4 dual PCI-E cables. I didn't have any luck getting them to run stable at 250Mhz, so I backed off to 237.5Mhz.

Results after 1 day:

http://www.ramosresearch.com/images/bitcointalk/overclock.results.2014-08-11.1.png

http://www.ramosresearch.com/images/bitcointalk/overclock.results.2014-08-11.2.png

Both miners have settled in to an average GH/s of ~478, but there's a lot of variance as you can see by the graph. Still, very pleased with the results and the lack of hardware errors.
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 12:13:58 AM
 #4805

The one page in the admin area where i shows dropbear port 22, that's what allows putty to connect right so if I changed hat to say 2013 I would use 2013 in the port box on putty to connect via ssh ?
So, anyone ?

To be decided...
justin.ramos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 12:16:05 AM
 #4806

The one page in the admin area where i shows dropbear port 22, that's what allows putty to connect right so if I changed hat to say 2013 I would use 2013 in the port box on putty to connect via ssh ?
So, anyone ?

Yes, that's correct. It changes /etc/config/dropbear and restarts.

config dropbear
   option PasswordAuth 'on'
   option RootPasswordAuth 'on'
   option Port         '2013'
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 12:37:17 AM
 #4807

The one page in the admin area where i shows dropbear port 22, that's what allows putty to connect right so if I changed hat to say 2013 I would use 2013 in the port box on putty to connect via ssh ?
So, anyone ?

Yes, that's correct. It changes /etc/config/dropbear and restarts.

config dropbear
   option PasswordAuth 'on'
   option RootPasswordAuth 'on'
   option Port         '2013'

But to be clear, by making that change... 2013 is what would be used in putty for SSH and that change doesnt just affect something else ?

To be decided...
Fahlcor
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 12:43:37 AM
Last edit: August 12, 2014, 01:18:21 AM by Fahlcor
 #4808

Woot

http://www.coinwarz.com/network-hashrate-charts/bitcoin-network-hashrate-chart

according to that the network hash rate just passed ~214 phash.  Can we say another lost day of mining before difficulty occurs...

I feel worse for those with ants in limbo or on pre-order.

/sarcasm for wooting...

Fahlcor
Phosphorous
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 01:26:37 AM
 #4809

Anyone want to post on here their Antminer s3 setup? I want to replicate some sort of rack.
Thanks.
Anyone want to learn how to user search feature? You really should experiment with it. I shudder to think what will happen when your units arrive:




Here's a thread with lots of pictures for you, courtesy of my use of the search feature.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.6020
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2014, 01:51:20 AM
 #4810

Do any of you here know why the queue on the config is set so high? Is there a big gain from setting it to a lower number or why did they program 4096 as the queue. The discarded amounts are so high...

If you want, you can change the queue in /etc/init.d/cgminer

I use 32 and it seems to be a good compromise.  Some people use 1, others have kept 4096 - doesn't seem to have a huge effect, but can save you some CPU cycles if you make it lower.

Okay thanks, I will search. Does the 4096 and large amount of discarded not affect the overall hashrate and work submitted? Also, is 32 equivalent to 32shares or a share in that size?  I ask because I did not know if 4096 was 4096 shares or a share/shares added for a vardiff of 4096

I'm with y'all regarding Bitmain's pricing.  However, as long as there are hardware geeks out there who are willing to pay at any price regardless of ROI just so they can have their shiny toys to play with, Bitmain has no incentive to modify their pricing model to benefit the consumer.  We can biatch all we can in here and rationalize it in a futile attempt to sway Bitmain to our cause but unfortunately, we are a minority.  Them hardware geeks are buying the S3s like hotcakes regardless.  Remember, Bitmain is not in business for nothing; they are definitely not an NPO.  Now, if we could only convince these hardware geeks around the world...nah, greed and bragging rights rule.



The problem are not really the hardware geeks that purchase at no ROI, since eventually they would stop buying they are a finite number with finite money, the real problem is that Bitmain mines themselves so there is not a big motivation for them to make us ROI, as of now with free electricity it takes 92 days to ROI using a 10% difficulty increase which is very realistic.

I seen those geeks you talk about only a month or 2 ago, an S1 was sold for $3000 on ebay at absolutely no ROI.

There is a complete lack of competition in the hardware asic for Bitcoin.
I was hoping that with the difficulty increase the price for batch 7 would be lower, and instead it is higher since the beginning of batch 5 it was 0.64, and now it is 0.66 with a higher difficulty.

It seems that Bitmain's formula is to make us ROI under free electricity in 90 days, which is not very good, since depending how much you pay for electricity you could ROI in 6 months or never.

And the problem with spondoolies with the sp30 is that it is being sold on preorders with a month and a half in advance, Bitmain is only an 8 day preorder, so as far as preorders go Bitmain wins.

Eventually the market is going to saturate, and if the sp30 starts selling from stock which I think it might once sales slow down and sales are slowing down, and taking into consideration that spondoolies does not mine (someone correct me if I am wrong, since almost every hardware vendor mines for themselves), this could force a little bit of competition and force the s3 prices to go down or viewing things from a different point of view it could force the sp30 prices to go down.

The S3 is a very good product, but at the wrong price, since it does not ROI for most of us or barely ROI.
I would make a rough estimate that the cost of the S3 for Bitmain is probably $100, maybe a little more, so for each S3 sold there is currently a $280 profit, while if we break even we are lucky, we could maybe with luck in our favor make $50, the balance is all to one side, that is not good for us.
if the S3 where to be priced at $250 each, even at $280 it still be a fair price,  at the time of this writing, Bitmain and us would be making about equal profit which is fair and it would increase their sales tremendously, but Bitmain lacks the motivation to do that simply because the mine themselves.

An indication that sales are beginning to slow down is that batch 6 did not sold out, and spondoolies September batch also has not sold out.

I myself will need a lot of miners, since I am building a small data center, however my data center it is not ready and will not be ready for a few months, and when I buy I will aim if possible to ROI at most in 2 months, anything about that and it is very high risk.

Ironically the S3 was a better purchase when it was first released since lower price and lower difficulty, implied quicker ROI, the last good batch for some ROI was the beginning of batch 5.

Bitmain should consider that we ROI, as of now the S3 is the best one for the money but the lack of ROI ruins everything and that is a decision Bitmain has taken, but they take the risk that someone else delivers, that someone else now does not exist, but sooner than later it could exist, on the other hand Bitmain could realize the splitting the profits is actually something fair, lets see what happens, I for now will be monitoring prices for potencial ROI, but at current prices I am not buying, I am happy I was able to get 4 S3 when both difficulty and price where lower.

Bitmain was better, I am not sure whats happening, they used to sell from stock and every few days they would lower the price to compensate for the increased difficulty, hopefully they did not find a map from Sam where he shows them the path, at the last days of the S1 it was selling for $180 dollars ( in btc), and I am sure the S3 only costs a little bit more to produce that the S1.

KNC was good in 2013, and now they are terrible.
BFL was never good.
Avalon was only good in the first 2 batches, and then collapsed.
Spondoolies Huh?



 





windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1256
Merit: 1026


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2014, 02:40:06 AM
 #4811

Hi BITMAIN.

As you're an official representative of bitmain, may I ask you to please provide the source code for your modifications to cgminer in the form of the driver for the S3. cgminer is provided under the GPL version 3 license which means you are obliged by law to provide the source code to any modifications you do if you distribute binaries and you are distributing modified cgminer binaries with every S3.

Provision of the source code would allow us to aid the development of your driver and help bring your version to sync up with the latest cgminer to derive the benefits of newer versions along with its many fixes.

Really hope you get a reply this time...
chunkyjunkie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 494
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2014, 02:43:19 AM
 #4812

Bitmain was better, I am not sure whats happening, they used to sell from stock and every few days they would lower the price to compensate for the increased difficulty, hopefully they did not find a map from Sam where he shows them the path, at the last days of the S1 it was selling for $180 dollars ( in btc), and I am sure the S3 only costs a little bit more to produce that the S1.

KNC was good in 2013, and now they are terrible.
BFL was never good.
Avalon was only good in the first 2 batches, and then collapsed.
Spondoolies Huh?



I chat all day on a lot of trollboxes/forums.  You said it perfectly, I am not sure whats happening.

When people would ask if there was any way to have a chance at making money I would automatically say bitmain and rattle off your reasons above.  ( taking each individuals location and electric costs into consideration ).   Now I say Bitmain is the best, but buying an s3 now at .66 you are mining in most cases just to have a chance at not loosing a lot.  Forget ANY possible chance at ROI.

This next difficulty change is, atm, a game changer for anyone purchasing today at current .66 price.  ( free electricity?  Well then go for it. )

https://www.bitcoinlanding.com - Twitter - https://twitter.com/Bitcoinlanding - Bitcoin News, Video and more!
jpchrist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100

16Q3R8NAfK63DvkTUGgLdPScyMU8uSAJUH


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 02:51:30 AM
 #4813

Bitmain was better, I am not sure whats happening, they used to sell from stock and every few days they would lower the price to compensate for the increased difficulty, hopefully they did not find a map from Sam where he shows them the path, at the last days of the S1 it was selling for $180 dollars ( in btc), and I am sure the S3 only costs a little bit more to produce that the S1.

KNC was good in 2013, and now they are terrible.
BFL was never good.
Avalon was only good in the first 2 batches, and then collapsed.
Spondoolies Huh?



I chat all day on a lot of trollboxes/forums.  You said it perfectly, I am not sure whats happening.

When people would ask if there was any way to have a chance at making money I would automatically say bitmain and rattle off your reasons above.  ( taking each individuals location and electric costs into consideration ).   Now I say Bitmain is the best, but buying an s3 now at .66 you are mining in most cases just to have a chance at not loosing a lot.  Forget ANY possible chance at ROI.

This next difficulty change is, atm, a game changer for anyone purchasing today at current .66 price.  ( free electricity?  Well then go for it. )


A 40% diff increase is not out of the question...
JennaK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 02:52:45 AM
 #4814

By the time I get my antminers from the U.S I'll never ROI!
jpchrist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100

16Q3R8NAfK63DvkTUGgLdPScyMU8uSAJUH


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 02:57:10 AM
 #4815

By the time I get my antminers from the U.S I'll never ROI!

Not even close...
axpguy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 02:59:43 AM
 #4816

By the time I get my antminers from the U.S I'll never ROI!
Yes you will have ROI...every investment has ROI....question is will it be negative, net or positive. I assume that everyone saying just ROI ...ROI ...ROI is implying a positive ROI.  Grin
JennaK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 03:01:08 AM
 #4817

Well its going to take 2 weeks for anything can get to me..
I do have free electricity though.
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2014, 03:04:47 AM
 #4818

Hi BITMAIN.

As you're an official representative of bitmain, may I ask you to please provide the source code for your modifications to cgminer in the form of the driver for the S3. cgminer is provided under the GPL version 3 license which means you are obliged by law to provide the source code to any modifications you do if you distribute binaries and you are distributing modified cgminer binaries with every S3.

Provision of the source code would allow us to aid the development of your driver and help bring your version to sync up with the latest cgminer to derive the benefits of newer versions along with its many fixes.

Really hope you get a reply this time...

Well the GPL is a license that has to be respected in the benefit of all of us, that includes Bitmain, since it is thanks to the GPL that Bitmain can use the software just like all of us. The GPL is a very well designed license, it was created by Richard Stallman from the GNU foundation, Richard in the early 80's could visualize stuff we were completely blind at the time, my full respect for Richard Stallman this is a person we should all listen to.

Swimmer63
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1593
Merit: 1004



View Profile
August 12, 2014, 03:05:22 AM
 #4819

Bitmain was better, I am not sure whats happening, they used to sell from stock and every few days they would lower the price to compensate for the increased difficulty, hopefully they did not find a map from Sam where he shows them the path, at the last days of the S1 it was selling for $180 dollars ( in btc), and I am sure the S3 only costs a little bit more to produce that the S1.

KNC was good in 2013, and now they are terrible.
BFL was never good.
Avalon was only good in the first 2 batches, and then collapsed.
Spondoolies Huh?



I chat all day on a lot of trollboxes/forums.  You said it perfectly, I am not sure whats happening.

When people would ask if there was any way to have a chance at making money I would automatically say bitmain and rattle off your reasons above.  ( taking each individuals location and electric costs into consideration ).   Now I say Bitmain is the best, but buying an s3 now at .66 you are mining in most cases just to have a chance at not loosing a lot.  Forget ANY possible chance at ROI.

This next difficulty change is, atm, a game changer for anyone purchasing today at current .66 price.  ( free electricity?  Well then go for it. )


A 40% diff increase is not out of the question...

Given the depth of commercial mines today, a 40% increase in one adjustment is highly improbable.  
I am guessing the past few mild increases have more to do with hobbyists turning off their miners and no new mega deployments coming online.  But it's nearly impossible to predict with any certainty what is happening as the total size of the network is now so big.  It's all guesswork.
Jesehl
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 03:15:57 AM
 #4820

anyone who still have unused coupons? message me. need 2
Pages: « 1 ... 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 [241] 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 ... 516 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!