Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 12:47:33 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Feasibility on putting block chain on Google App Engine  (Read 1834 times)
jimbobway
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1380



View Profile
March 02, 2012, 11:49:47 PM
 #1

What is the feasibility on putting block chain on Google App Engine?  I would like to do this since my app relies on Google App Engine.  I just want to read out of the block chain.

░░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄
░░███░░██████░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄░░██
░░███░░█████████████
░░░░░░░░██████▀▀██████████
░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░██████████
░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░░░███████
░░░░░██████░░░███░░░░███████
░░░░░██████░░░███
░░░░░███████▄▄▄▄▄████████
░░░░░████████████████████
░░▄▄▄▄▄░░█████░░░░█████████
█████░░█████░░░░█████████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████

START GETTING PAID FOR YOUR ATTENTION!
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
JUSTICE IN THE WORLD OF ONLINE ADVERTISING!

BUY MASS COIN 】【 ICO PROSPECTUS
VISIT OUR WEBSITE
TWITTER 】【 FACEBOOK 】【 TELEGRAM

1481374053
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374053

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374053
Reply with quote  #2

1481374053
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481374053
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374053

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374053
Reply with quote  #2

1481374053
Report to moderator
1481374053
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374053

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374053
Reply with quote  #2

1481374053
Report to moderator
Jine
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 405


View Profile
March 03, 2012, 03:49:45 AM
 #2

BitCoinJ is a Java-implementation of the bitcoin protocol, it should be able to port it to GAE.
Another solution would be to use the RPC-interface to bitcoind and place the blockchain + bitcoin somewhere else, for instance - EC2 (which have a free tier first year for a micro server)

A third solution would be to use blockchain/blockexplorer to get data, depending on what your needs is.

--
Regards, Jim
Bit LC Inc.
https://www.bitlc.net

Previous founder of Bit LC Inc. | I've always loved the idea of bitcoin.
bitcoinsarefun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
March 04, 2012, 10:41:46 PM
 #3

What is the feasibility on putting block chain on Google App Engine?  I would like to do this since my app relies on Google App Engine.  I just want to read out of the block chain.

You could probably copy it up there and write yourself something similar to blockexplorer, I believe the source for it or something similar is out there.

Quote from: jine
Another solution would be to use the RPC-interface to bitcoind and place the blockchain + bitcoin somewhere else, for instance - EC2 (which have a free tier first year for a micro server)

This is what I have did for the litecoin faucet.
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 09:32:57 AM
 #4

The problem with using Bitcoin on GAE is that, last time I checked, you are not allowed to make outbound TCP connections.
ripper234
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


Ron Gross


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2012, 10:34:41 AM
 #5

The problem with using Bitcoin on GAE is that, last time I checked, you are not allowed to make outbound TCP connections.

Take a look at Stratum. It's still very much work in progress, but it should work on GAE (I assume outbound HTTP connections are allowed).

Please do not pm me, use ron@bitcoin.org.il instead
Mastercoin Executive Director
Co-founder of the Israeli Bitcoin Association
bitcoinsarefun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 12:40:51 PM
 #6

The problem with using Bitcoin on GAE is that, last time I checked, you are not allowed to make outbound TCP connections.

Not true, certain types of connections are restricted - basically, anything involving raw sockets but outbound tcp connections work fine
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 01:30:23 PM
 #7

In that case I guess you could use BitCoinJ to connect to the network every 10 minutes or so and download new blocks. Create an implementation of the BlockStore interface that uses the appengine datastore and you'd be "done" I guess, though nobody has tried it yet.
jimbobway
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1380



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 05:20:33 PM
 #8

In that case I guess you could use BitCoinJ to connect to the network every 10 minutes or so and download new blocks. Create an implementation of the BlockStore interface that uses the appengine datastore and you'd be "done" I guess, though nobody has tried it yet.

Thanks Mike.  I'll be looking into this although I don't know if I have the time (or maybe even the talent).

░░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄
░░███░░██████░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄░░██
░░███░░█████████████
░░░░░░░░██████▀▀██████████
░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░██████████
░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░░░███████
░░░░░██████░░░███░░░░███████
░░░░░██████░░░███
░░░░░███████▄▄▄▄▄████████
░░░░░████████████████████
░░▄▄▄▄▄░░█████░░░░█████████
█████░░█████░░░░█████████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████

START GETTING PAID FOR YOUR ATTENTION!
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
JUSTICE IN THE WORLD OF ONLINE ADVERTISING!

BUY MASS COIN 】【 ICO PROSPECTUS
VISIT OUR WEBSITE
TWITTER 】【 FACEBOOK 】【 TELEGRAM

weex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1062


Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled...


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 10:17:38 PM
 #9

If you have the BTC, post a bounty!

jimbobway
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1380



View Profile
March 08, 2012, 01:02:43 AM
 #10

If you have the BTC, post a bounty!

Good idea.  I may post a bounty once I figure out what I need.  If I go with the GAE method then it will need to run on GAE.  Again I just need to read out of the blockchain.  Also, some the bitcond commands also need to work so you can query the blockchain from GAE, for instance, getting the balance of a bitcoin address.

Seems like if bitcoin can run on GAE it can scale indefinitely.


░░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄
░░███░░██████░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄░░██
░░███░░█████████████
░░░░░░░░██████▀▀██████████
░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░██████████
░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░░░███████
░░░░░██████░░░███░░░░███████
░░░░░██████░░░███
░░░░░███████▄▄▄▄▄████████
░░░░░████████████████████
░░▄▄▄▄▄░░█████░░░░█████████
█████░░█████░░░░█████████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████

START GETTING PAID FOR YOUR ATTENTION!
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
JUSTICE IN THE WORLD OF ONLINE ADVERTISING!

BUY MASS COIN 】【 ICO PROSPECTUS
VISIT OUR WEBSITE
TWITTER 】【 FACEBOOK 】【 TELEGRAM

Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 02:47:37 PM
 #11

You can query the balance of an address that's in your wallet. You don't need the private key. You can't (today) query the balance of every addresses in the block chain, a la blockexplorer. That's a use case that'd be useful to support later.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!