Bitcoin Forum
January 30, 2023, 08:40:35 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S2 Issues  (Read 1447 times)
GWilkiejr (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 07:45:31 PM
 #1

I hope somebody can help me out here....  I purchased 3 of the antminer S2 Kits and installed them yesterday.  (worked on them till about 4am)  I have a few issues with them...

#1) One them only give me a blue LCD screen.  No data and no network connection.  I have red lights on the back plane and green/red lights on the control board.

#2) The other 2 units do not save any setting on reboot.  So if I change their IP or pool configurations I loose them when I reboot. ...

Help!
1675068035
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675068035

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675068035
Reply with quote  #2

1675068035
Report to moderator
1675068035
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675068035

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675068035
Reply with quote  #2

1675068035
Report to moderator
1675068035
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675068035

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675068035
Reply with quote  #2

1675068035
Report to moderator
Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1675068035
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675068035

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675068035
Reply with quote  #2

1675068035
Report to moderator
bolehvpn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2014, 09:54:26 AM
Last edit: June 14, 2014, 11:22:21 AM by bolehvpn
 #2

Hi I believe I have the solution to your issues. I spent more than 6 hours troubleshooting this.

My Antminer S2 had the same issue and I believe it's the SD card inside the Beagleboard that they're using which is a 4 gb Kingston (I'm not sure if it's genuine).

Even reflashing the sd cards with a new image and it will still not hold the settings.

I tried with a new SD card 2 gb that I had lying about and flashed it with an image I found somewhere on the forum here (i can't remember where now). Note this is not a normal flash  via the GUI but it's a full sd card flash.

Step 1: Removing the beagle board and the SD card:

Remove the control board (the one in the middle) and you should see a micro sd card slot. Press on it and it will pop up.

Step 2: Changing to a new SD card

Download the official image they recommended for a 4 gb (link provided by BitMainTech) via a support e-mail

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B9mK2-whJv8cU0Q5R1hIQTJnRVU/

Put it into a sd card reader and use the below app to flash the img to the NEW sd card.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/win32diskimager/

Replace it the sd card and remount it inside. Give it a go!

If this helped you Cheesy
14G2KWbGZkV6TCzdXes4HQJA4Gt5jpAmVP


BolehVPN [Offshore, no log VPN|Accepts BTC, DASH and XEM]
GWilkiejr (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 16, 2014, 01:16:37 AM
 #3

Thanks.  I will try this in the AM.  I really hope it works...

-GW
thecr4ne
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 22, 2014, 03:54:47 PM
 #4


#1) One them only give me a blue LCD screen.  No data and no network connection.  I have red lights on the back plane and green/red lights on the control board.


I'm experiencing problem #1. Did you get yours working? If so how?
Thanks.
thecr4ne
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 30, 2014, 06:48:12 PM
 #5

I didn't have any luck with SD card solutions out there. Here's a post I wrote about swapping the stock S2 Beablebone Blakc with an Off the Shelf Beaglebone Black.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671625
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!