Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:58:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "Who" is creating new adresses in Bitcoin client? (solved&locked)  (Read 1064 times)
new_in_this
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 03:30:49 AM
 #1

Hi.

I'm not sure is this correct forum for this question.

My question is this:
"Who" is creating new adresses in Bitcoin client? Everytime i exit/close client and start it up again there is new address in Address Book (receiving). I know i can have lots of them, but i hate that new addresses are coming to it. I only need one and that should be enough for me.

How i can get rid of those extra addresses?
1481306290
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306290

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306290
Reply with quote  #2

1481306290
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481306290
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306290

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306290
Reply with quote  #2

1481306290
Report to moderator
1481306290
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306290

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306290
Reply with quote  #2

1481306290
Report to moderator
RodeoX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114


The revolution will be monetized!


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 03:37:33 AM
 #2

Well for the best security you should use a new address for each transaction. Use the address book feature to name the addresses as you need them. You should only be generating one when you click on the "new" button, not each time the program starts. As far as where they come from.  As far as "who", it's you.

The gospel according to Satoshi - https://bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf

Free bitcoin=https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1610684
new_in_this
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 03:44:03 AM
 #3

Thanks for reply, and by "who" i ment that is there somekind of bug etc what is causing this?

I've never made any addresses, new addresses are just popping in :/


edit: 0.3.20.2 beta version
RodeoX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114


The revolution will be monetized!


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 03:51:00 AM
 #4

Thanks for reply, and by "who" i ment that is there somekind of bug etc what is causing this?

I've never made any addresses, new addresses are just popping in :/


edit: 0.3.20.2 beta version
Ok. That is weird. You should have to request addresses.  I have not yet installed the latest version, but that cant be right. Huh

The gospel according to Satoshi - https://bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf

Free bitcoin=https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1610684
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 03:52:15 AM
 #5

The client generates a new address for you whenever the current one receives a transaction. The old addresses are still usable.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
new_in_this
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 04:36:15 AM
 #6

The client generates a new address for you whenever the current one receives a transaction. The old addresses are still usable.

Thanks for info, i actually was getting paranoid about that and did quick hdd restore incase of malvare etc.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!