Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:44:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone use the COOLMAX RM-1000B PSU with 4 or more cards  (Read 1017 times)
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 12:38:12 AM
 #1

I have 4 of these psus and they feel cheap. i have replaced one already and want to know if anyone else has had trouble with them getting 4 cards working? 5830s to be exact. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817159101

Thanks,
1481208243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208243
Reply with quote  #2

1481208243
Report to moderator
1481208243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208243
Reply with quote  #2

1481208243
Report to moderator
1481208243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208243
Reply with quote  #2

1481208243
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481208243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208243
Reply with quote  #2

1481208243
Report to moderator
1481208243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208243
Reply with quote  #2

1481208243
Report to moderator
1481208243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208243
Reply with quote  #2

1481208243
Report to moderator
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2012, 05:21:11 AM
 #2

They are the classic multi-rail fail. Ive had 4 coolmax psus. All 4 are dead. And they were on 60% load. Get something with a an single big rail. Corsair makes some great psus that will last for freaking ever!

1l1l11ll1l
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 711


TheMerchantShop.com


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2012, 05:24:29 AM
 #3

I have 4 of these psus and they feel cheap. i have replaced one already and want to know if anyone else has had trouble with them getting 4 cards working? 5830s to be exact. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817159101

Thanks,

Yup, was able to run 4x5870 OC'd to 1040MHz on one. Only did it for a few weeks. Then just had it humming with a single 5970. It died completely (and tripped my PDU) after 4 months.

Highly NOT recommended. 

High Volume and/or High Risk Credit Card Processing. TheMerchantShop.com
Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 08:32:10 AM
 #4

I have 4 of them running  for 6+ months already. Seem fine in my rigs.

145 Sempron
890x-GD70
2GB Ram
1x(3x5850)
1x(2x5850, 5770)
1x (4x5770)

And one in my gaming rig

920 D0 @ 4.0ghz
Asus Sabertooth x58
12GB Ram
2x6870 CFX

Note... these are MY experiences with this PSU. If you had one blow, you had one blow... I'm not denying that. I'm just saying the ones I have work. Were I to put quad 7970s or tri 7990's on them... I would expect them to fail. For something that size I plan on doing name brand 1200 or 1500 PSU's.

Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 12:39:32 PM
 #5

Yeah i know they are crappy and i dont know what i was thinking when i brought them. I have been running 3 boxes just like miner99er except with 3 5830s. I was thinking of rearranging my setup to shrink down my footprint and save a little power by making my 3 card setups 4 card setups.

I was hoping someone might say (yeah i have a 4 card 5830 setup and it works great). Or higher like 5870.

The 5850s and 5770s use less power so i hope that the Coolmax could handle that load.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!