Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2016, 10:35:24 AM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoind x86 binary for CentOS  (Read 7939 times)
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 12:25:42 AM
 #21

There are two versions, one built from stock code, the other modified to accept up to 1,000 nodes (hence the super node name)
I'd rather you didn't make a build of the 1000 node connecting version available.  It won't take very many people running that before we have to make another release just to limit the incoming connections.
I appreciate your concern; the current release version already limits connections to 8, this one won't establish hundreds of connections to a single client or node, it's just modified to allow hundreds of connections back to it from independent clients. I figured since I have the CPU and bandwidth horsepower, why not put it to good use for Bitcoin?

1474799724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474799724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474799724
Reply with quote  #2

1474799724
Report to moderator
1474799724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474799724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474799724
Reply with quote  #2

1474799724
Report to moderator
1474799724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474799724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474799724
Reply with quote  #2

1474799724
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1474799724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474799724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474799724
Reply with quote  #2

1474799724
Report to moderator
sgtstein
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
August 04, 2010, 01:22:34 AM
 #22

I must have REALLY screwed up my CentOS 5.5 box. This is what I'm getting with my build from the trunk and your build:
Code:
Tue Aug  3 15:24:07 CDT 2010
[myles@kappa ~]$ ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 0.000000000000000,
    "blocks" : 3095,
    "connections" : 5,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 1.000000000000000
}
[myles@kappa ~]$ date
Tue Aug  3 15:28:53 CDT 2010
[myles@kappa ~]$ ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 0.000000000000000,
    "blocks" : 3095,
    "connections" : 5,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 1.000000000000000
}


Any Ideas?
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 03:15:46 AM
 #23

I've been running mine since I made the first post about where to download it.

Everything seems to be fine and the bitcoind is using 100% doing coin generation at the lowest prioirty from when I checked top
Code:
knightmb@serverfarm528 32]$ ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 0.000000000000000,
    "blocks" : 72169,
    "connections" : 329,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 244.2132230923753
}

From what I can tell on your output, it seems to be hung at that block for some reason. When you stop the daemon and restart it, does it continue on then?

If you want, you can try a direct connect mine with ./bitcoind -server -connect=12.53.130.10 to see if it's a build thing.

nimnul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 10:09:26 AM
 #24

You'd rather publish this link. It's much more useful as you happen to have x64 builds too. My x64 build was outdated

http://knightmb.dyndns.org/files/bitcoin/custom%20builds/

Upd: Yeah it works on my x86 box! You definitely deserve a donation once that box generates its first coins.
Upd2: x64 folder is empty Undecided I can give you non-root access to Centos 5.4 x64 if you wish. PM me your SSH2 public key.

knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 01:44:20 PM
 #25

You'd rather publish this link. It's much more useful as you happen to have x64 builds too. My x64 build was outdated

http://knightmb.dyndns.org/files/bitcoin/custom%20builds/

Upd: Yeah it works on my x86 box! You definitely deserve a donation once that box generates its first coins.
Upd2: x64 folder is empty Undecided I can give you non-root access to Centos 5.4 x64 if you wish. PM me your SSH2 public key.
Yeah, been moving around folders to try and organize things. I have about a dozen virtual box now of many different distro so as I get time, I'll compile other releases and label them properly. I don't have a x64 build yet because I haven't built a x64 virtual box with Centos 5.5 yet  Grin

I did notice it works with CentOS 5.4, so I fired up an Amazon EC2 instance running CentOS 5.4 on 16 cores and loaded it up. After it downloaded blocks, it starting churning away on 16 cores, but only managed about 8,800 khash/s, kind of disappointing for an EC2 instance.

sgtstein
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
August 04, 2010, 01:54:41 PM
 #26

From what I can tell on your output, it seems to be hung at that block for some reason. When you stop the daemon and restart it, does it continue on then?

If you want, you can try a direct connect mine with ./bitcoind -server -connect=12.53.130.10 to see if it's a build thing.

If I stop and restart the daemon, it will continue for the next 500 blocks. At that point it will once again lock up, even though the program isn't crashing a thread must be.

Just connected to your node and it did the same thing. Pulls down the next 500 blocks really fast and then locks up. Thoughts?
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 01:59:48 PM
 #27

From what I can tell on your output, it seems to be hung at that block for some reason. When you stop the daemon and restart it, does it continue on then?

If you want, you can try a direct connect mine with ./bitcoind -server -connect=12.53.130.10 to see if it's a build thing.

If I stop and restart the daemon, it will continue for the next 500 blocks. At that point it will once again lock up, even though the program isn't crashing a thread must be.

Just connected to your node and it did the same thing. Pulls down the next 500 blocks really fast and then locks up. Thoughts?
I've compiled an x86 version with the 0.3.8 source, can you try using that one? If you already have it, the only thing I can think of is have it start from the beginning by deleting the blocks and let it start fresh in case something was corrupted in the beginning.

sgtstein
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
August 04, 2010, 02:03:58 PM
 #28

I've compiled an x86 version with the 0.3.8 source, can you try using that one? If you already have it, the only thing I can think of is have it start from the beginning by deleting the blocks and let it start fresh in case something was corrupted in the beginning.

Yep, that's the one I downloaded and am running as of last night. That has the same problems for my system as my build one so I'm guessing it's my env. Trying a full cleanup and re-downloaded right now.


Update: It still fails to download correctly. Time for a fresh re-image of this box. Oh well.
nimnul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 02:23:38 PM
 #29

I did notice it works with CentOS 5.4, so I fired up an Amazon EC2 instance running CentOS 5.4 on 16 cores and loaded it up. After it downloaded blocks, it starting churning away on 16 cores, but only managed about 8,800 khash/s, kind of disappointing for an EC2 instance.
1) It? I couldn't run your x86 build on 5.4 x64.

2) How much per month for that instance? EC2 is a very expensive provider for a very big sites that can afford paying good money for good infrastructure. By "infrastructure" I mean their elastic computing API, load balancing, storage and content delivery services. My current record with cheap VPS is 3100 khashes/sec for $5/mo.


knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 02:23:58 PM
 #30

I've compiled an x86 version with the 0.3.8 source, can you try using that one? If you already have it, the only thing I can think of is have it start from the beginning by deleting the blocks and let it start fresh in case something was corrupted in the beginning.

Yep, that's the one I downloaded and am running as of last night. That has the same problems for my system as my build one so I'm guessing it's my env. Trying a full cleanup and re-downloaded right now.


Update: It still fails to download correctly. Time for a fresh re-image of this box. Oh well.
Well, you could cheat I guess and copy the full blocks from another machine if you have one (Linux box) to see if it hangs or if it can continue from that point.

That is really strange though, if anything the CentOS build downloads blocks faster than anything I've seen yet. I can download the entire block chain in a few minutes with this build.

knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 02:27:57 PM
 #31

I did notice it works with CentOS 5.4, so I fired up an Amazon EC2 instance running CentOS 5.4 on 16 cores and loaded it up. After it downloaded blocks, it starting churning away on 16 cores, but only managed about 8,800 khash/s, kind of disappointing for an EC2 instance.
1) It? I couldn't run your x86 build on 5.4 x64.

2) How much per month for that instance? EC2 is a very expensive provider for a very big sites that can afford paying good money for good infrastructure. By "infrastructure" I mean their elastic computing API, load balancing, storage and content delivery services. My current record with cheap VPS is 3100 khashes/sec for $5/mo.


It should run, I was able to run it on their (cc1.x4xlarge, 23GB) CentOS Cluster even though it's not a x64 build, the x86 still worked for me. I didn't even need to install the full bitcoin, I just uploaded the bitcoind and ran it right from root  Grin

It was very expensive, $1.60/hour per "Cluster Compute Quadruple Extra Large" basically.

I only ran a 1 hour instance just to see how it performed (too expensive to be practical) and I was checking the debug.log file to see what it was recording for khash/s.

I wonder if a x64 build would run faster on that cluster than the x86 build?  Huh

knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2010, 02:49:33 PM
 #32

Upd2: x64 folder is empty Undecided I can give you non-root access to Centos 5.4 x64 if you wish. PM me your SSH2 public key.
Downloading the x64 DVD right now via BitTorrent, should be able to get a virtual box of this up within the day. Should get a x64 compile then for bitcoind when it's all done, I'm curious myself to see how it runs.

jgarzik
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
August 04, 2010, 03:27:46 PM
 #33

2) How much per month for that instance? EC2 is a very expensive provider for a very big sites that can afford paying good money for good infrastructure. By "infrastructure" I mean their elastic computing API, load balancing, storage and content delivery services. My current record with cheap VPS is 3100 khashes/sec for $5/mo.

Which VPS provider?

Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
nimnul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


View Profile WWW
August 05, 2010, 10:21:46 AM
 #34

2) How much per month for that instance? EC2 is a very expensive provider for a very big sites that can afford paying good money for good infrastructure. By "infrastructure" I mean their elastic computing API, load balancing, storage and content delivery services. My current record with cheap VPS is 3100 khashes/sec for $5/mo.

Quote
Which VPS provider?
Use your google-fu :-)
Quote
I didn't even need to install the full bitcoin, I just uploaded the bitcoind and ran it right from root
I have never installed GUI bitcoin client on Linux, only bitcoind, it works just fine and nowadays bitcoind doesn't require wxWidgets, so you can save you some pain by compiling only bitcoind (by 'make bitcoind' I suppose).

nimnul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2010, 08:53:44 PM
 #35

Any chance for 0.3.8.1 binary?

nimnul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


View Profile WWW
August 21, 2010, 08:32:06 AM
 #36

Does anyone have 0.3.10 binary for CentOS (either 64 or 32)?

sgtstein
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
August 24, 2010, 01:27:32 PM
 #37

I've got the bitcoind binary, but not a GUI build.
nimnul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2010, 05:28:02 PM
 #38

bitcoind is what I need. Have not seen Linux GUI since 2004 Undecided

davux
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 289


Firstbits.com/1davux


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2011, 12:25:50 AM
 #39

Hi, I guess there's still a need for precompiled binaries on CentOS (32 bits) for bitcoin or at least bitcoind.

When I run the one provided by bitcoin 0.3.24, I get the following errors:

Quote
./bitcoind: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.11' not found (required by ./bitcoind)
./bitcoind: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.9' not found (required by ./bitcoind)
./bitcoind: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./bitcoind)
./bitcoind: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.11' not found (required by ./bitcoind)

Any clue on how to get it working?

1DavuxH9tLqU4c7zvG387aTG4mA7BcRpp2
México (Oaxaca) – France - Leeds
Furyan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 03:16:39 PM
 #40

Hi, I guess there's still a need for precompiled binaries on CentOS (32 bits) for bitcoin or at least bitcoind.

When I run the one provided by bitcoin 0.3.24, I get the following errors:

Quote
./bitcoind: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.11' not found (required by ./bitcoind)
./bitcoind: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.9' not found (required by ./bitcoind)
./bitcoind: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./bitcoind)
./bitcoind: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.11' not found (required by ./bitcoind)

Any clue on how to get it working?

Yep, I run into this too.  Problem is that CentOS is built against glibc <= 2.5.  No way to update to later, your OS wouldn't work.

knightmb has a share of CentOS builds but his latest is 0.3.12 - much older than the current 0.3.24.  I can't figure out how to get it to build, there are too many problems in the dependency tree.

knightmb, can you post post how you got this to build?  I am willing to take up the torch of keeping up to date CentOS builds, if you can give me a kick start.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!