Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 03:26:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobo that can handle 4x 7970's?  (Read 2741 times)
Nickers
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


"Take what you can, Give nothing back"


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 06:05:43 PM
 #1

I've seen this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128514

But it seems way more expensive than I probable need and not sure if the pci cards are going to be spaced enough to hold 4 of these massive cards, can you guys give me some advice? ..Maybe look into extenders???

If I helped, you know what to do Wink

Doge: DSAQoeJDnVazuNSvb6EGyxxiLFfr8fC3BM
1529421985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529421985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529421985
Reply with quote  #2

1529421985
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529421985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529421985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529421985
Reply with quote  #2

1529421985
Report to moderator
1529421985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529421985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529421985
Reply with quote  #2

1529421985
Report to moderator
nebulus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


... it only gets better...


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 06:35:41 PM
 #2

P9X79WS

Nickers
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


"Take what you can, Give nothing back"


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 06:56:13 PM
 #3

P9X79WS

That boards 200$ more

If I helped, you know what to do Wink

Doge: DSAQoeJDnVazuNSvb6EGyxxiLFfr8fC3BM
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 07:24:29 PM
 #4



I have 5 7970's on this one:  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274R

I have 5 7970's on this one:  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131735



I tried to put a 6th 7970 on the gd70, but even tho the drivers appear to load, windows devices disabled one of the cards each time..  did not figure out why, just kept the 5 running

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
nebulus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


... it only gets better...


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 10:40:48 PM
 #5

How do you fit 5 on there?

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 10:44:46 PM
 #6

How do you fit 5 on there?


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
nebulus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


... it only gets better...


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 10:49:39 PM
 #7

Sweet... Where do I get them PCI cables? Or what the hell are they called?

malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1013



View Profile
March 13, 2012, 11:03:34 PM
 #8

Sweet... Where do I get them PCI cables? Or what the hell are they called?

PCIe extenders/ribbons/risers

ebay (either cheap and wait 2-3 weeks, or wait a few days and pay much more) or 9mart.com
don't overpay at cablesaurus

nebulus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


... it only gets better...


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 11:09:39 PM
 #9

Cool, thanks... Couldn't think of the name..

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 11:47:38 PM
 #10

Sweet... Where do I get them PCI cables? Or what the hell are they called?
amazon

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
March 13, 2012, 11:54:30 PM
 #11

If you are going to buy the extender cables, you don't need a motherboard with all 16x slots, you can use a mobo like this one with 1x->16x adapters for 4 cards:



jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 12:58:20 AM
 #12

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 14, 2012, 03:32:34 AM
 #13

I simply use $60 MSI mATX h61-p21 boards. I have two of them and each runs 4x5870s. If you're going to use 4x7970s I may consider putting them on risers with Molex plugs.

deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
March 14, 2012, 04:53:03 AM
 #14

I simply use $60 MSI mATX h61-p21 boards. I have two of them and each runs 4x5870s. If you're going to use 4x7970s I may consider putting them on risers with Molex plugs.
That looks like a pretty good miner platform for those with extender cables, as it is all PCIe 1x slots with no legacy PCI, and a Celeron G440 can go in that ($65+$41 free ship on NewEgg). I started looking at AMD boards figuring that a Sempron plus the least-expensive brand-name 4xPCIe motherboard would be cheaper than an Intel platform.
For later resell though, a motherboard with two 16x PCIe slots plus a 2.8GHz AMD CPU will sell easier than a mATX no-PCI-slot board with a 1.6GHz Celeron - you can sell the AMD with GPUs as a crossfire gaming system, but the Intel can't even be a media PC (only VGA out).

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.
I've got your reset switch right here:

For power, just set the BIOS to power on after power loss.
kliffen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 11:41:09 AM
 #15

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

I just short the powerpins with a screwdriver/knife. It's not hocus pocus. Save yourself some money and buy a cheap board and risers
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 04:45:56 PM
 #16

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

I just short the powerpins with a screwdriver/knife. It's not hocus pocus. Save yourself some money and buy a cheap board and risers

$4: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812201029
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 05:26:59 PM
 #17


there are other reasons I like the higher end mobo

1.  resale value.  the gd70 is a great gamer mobo
2.  2 nics
3.  more slots: Don't you want more then 4 cards on a rig?



how about 6.  2460 Mh



1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
kliffen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 06:40:02 PM
 #18

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

I just short the powerpins with a screwdriver/knife. It's not hocus pocus. Save yourself some money and buy a cheap board and risers

$4: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812201029

Last time i had use for a powerswitch was sometime late 2011. You can set your computer to boot from your mouse if you want to.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 07:05:12 PM
 #19

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

I just short the powerpins with a screwdriver/knife. It's not hocus pocus. Save yourself some money and buy a cheap board and risers

$4: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812201029

Last time i had use for a powerswitch was sometime late 2011. You can set your computer to boot from your mouse if you want to.

being able to hold down the power switch for 5 seconds to turn off a hung rig is valuable to me...   

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1013



View Profile
March 14, 2012, 07:07:48 PM
 #20

being able to hold down the power switch for 5 seconds to turn off a hung rig is valuable to me...   

You can always turn the switch on the PSU.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!