Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:59:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobo that can handle 4x 7970's?  (Read 2576 times)
Nickers
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


"Take what you can, Give nothing back"


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 06:05:43 PM
 #1

I've seen this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128514

But it seems way more expensive than I probable need and not sure if the pci cards are going to be spaced enough to hold 4 of these massive cards, can you guys give me some advice? ..Maybe look into extenders???

If I helped, you know what to do Wink

Doge: DSAQoeJDnVazuNSvb6EGyxxiLFfr8fC3BM
1481108373
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108373

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108373
Reply with quote  #2

1481108373
Report to moderator
1481108373
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108373

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108373
Reply with quote  #2

1481108373
Report to moderator
1481108373
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108373

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108373
Reply with quote  #2

1481108373
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481108373
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108373

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108373
Reply with quote  #2

1481108373
Report to moderator
1481108373
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108373

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108373
Reply with quote  #2

1481108373
Report to moderator
1481108373
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108373

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108373
Reply with quote  #2

1481108373
Report to moderator
nebulus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


... it only gets better...


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 06:35:41 PM
 #2

P9X79WS

Nickers
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


"Take what you can, Give nothing back"


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 06:56:13 PM
 #3

P9X79WS

That boards 200$ more

If I helped, you know what to do Wink

Doge: DSAQoeJDnVazuNSvb6EGyxxiLFfr8fC3BM
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 07:24:29 PM
 #4



I have 5 7970's on this one:  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274R

I have 5 7970's on this one:  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131735



I tried to put a 6th 7970 on the gd70, but even tho the drivers appear to load, windows devices disabled one of the cards each time..  did not figure out why, just kept the 5 running

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
nebulus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


... it only gets better...


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 10:40:48 PM
 #5

How do you fit 5 on there?

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 10:44:46 PM
 #6

How do you fit 5 on there?


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
nebulus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


... it only gets better...


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 10:49:39 PM
 #7

Sweet... Where do I get them PCI cables? Or what the hell are they called?

malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
March 13, 2012, 11:03:34 PM
 #8

Sweet... Where do I get them PCI cables? Or what the hell are they called?

PCIe extenders/ribbons/risers

ebay (either cheap and wait 2-3 weeks, or wait a few days and pay much more) or 9mart.com
don't overpay at cablesaurus

nebulus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


... it only gets better...


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 11:09:39 PM
 #9

Cool, thanks... Couldn't think of the name..

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
March 13, 2012, 11:47:38 PM
 #10

Sweet... Where do I get them PCI cables? Or what the hell are they called?
amazon

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
March 13, 2012, 11:54:30 PM
 #11

If you are going to buy the extender cables, you don't need a motherboard with all 16x slots, you can use a mobo like this one with 1x->16x adapters for 4 cards:




jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 12:58:20 AM
 #12

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
March 14, 2012, 03:32:34 AM
 #13

I simply use $60 MSI mATX h61-p21 boards. I have two of them and each runs 4x5870s. If you're going to use 4x7970s I may consider putting them on risers with Molex plugs.

deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
March 14, 2012, 04:53:03 AM
 #14

I simply use $60 MSI mATX h61-p21 boards. I have two of them and each runs 4x5870s. If you're going to use 4x7970s I may consider putting them on risers with Molex plugs.
That looks like a pretty good miner platform for those with extender cables, as it is all PCIe 1x slots with no legacy PCI, and a Celeron G440 can go in that ($65+$41 free ship on NewEgg). I started looking at AMD boards figuring that a Sempron plus the least-expensive brand-name 4xPCIe motherboard would be cheaper than an Intel platform.
For later resell though, a motherboard with two 16x PCIe slots plus a 2.8GHz AMD CPU will sell easier than a mATX no-PCI-slot board with a 1.6GHz Celeron - you can sell the AMD with GPUs as a crossfire gaming system, but the Intel can't even be a media PC (only VGA out).

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.
I've got your reset switch right here:

For power, just set the BIOS to power on after power loss.

kliffen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 11:41:09 AM
 #15

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

I just short the powerpins with a screwdriver/knife. It's not hocus pocus. Save yourself some money and buy a cheap board and risers
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 04:45:56 PM
 #16

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

I just short the powerpins with a screwdriver/knife. It's not hocus pocus. Save yourself some money and buy a cheap board and risers

$4: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812201029
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 05:26:59 PM
 #17


there are other reasons I like the higher end mobo

1.  resale value.  the gd70 is a great gamer mobo
2.  2 nics
3.  more slots: Don't you want more then 4 cards on a rig?



how about 6.  2460 Mh



1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
kliffen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 06:40:02 PM
 #18

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

I just short the powerpins with a screwdriver/knife. It's not hocus pocus. Save yourself some money and buy a cheap board and risers

$4: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812201029

Last time i had use for a powerswitch was sometime late 2011. You can set your computer to boot from your mouse if you want to.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 07:05:12 PM
 #19

that is tru, but the 2 I listed has on mobo start and reset buttons for caseless rigs.

I just short the powerpins with a screwdriver/knife. It's not hocus pocus. Save yourself some money and buy a cheap board and risers

$4: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812201029

Last time i had use for a powerswitch was sometime late 2011. You can set your computer to boot from your mouse if you want to.

being able to hold down the power switch for 5 seconds to turn off a hung rig is valuable to me...   

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
March 14, 2012, 07:07:48 PM
 #20

being able to hold down the power switch for 5 seconds to turn off a hung rig is valuable to me...   

You can always turn the switch on the PSU.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!