Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:29:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how to migrate wallet to older bitcoin client?  (Read 2154 times)
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 08:03:09 AM
 #1

I have updated my wallet to version 0.603 of bitcoin, and it works, however that version of bitcoin is very unstable, and crashes frequently, I have used version 0.502 and it is very stable.

The problem is that my wallet will not work with version 0.502 now that it has been used with version 0.603.

Any recommendations on how to migrate the wallet from version 0.603 to version 0.502?
Moving the bitcoins is simple, but how do I move the keys, or migrate the wallet to the older version?

 
1481027394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027394
Reply with quote  #2

1481027394
Report to moderator
1481027394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027394
Reply with quote  #2

1481027394
Report to moderator
1481027394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027394
Reply with quote  #2

1481027394
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
btctrader22
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:11:33 AM
 #2

I have updated my wallet to version 0.603 of bitcoin, and it works, however that version of bitcoin is very unstable, and crashes frequently, I have used version 0.502 and it is very stable.

The problem is that my wallet will not work with version 0.502 now that it has been used with version 0.603.

Any recommendations on how to migrate the wallet from version 0.603 to version 0.502?
Moving the bitcoins is simple, but how do I move the keys, or migrate the wallet to the older version?

 

I would like to know too

My address: 18xdeHAiwAL84Qo1py4qBsMsADULh9xHq4
fanquake
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:32:18 AM
 #3

NEW FEATURES IN BITCOIN VERSION 0.6 http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.6.0/test/

Be aware: this release will create wallet.dat files that will not work
with older releases, so you should back-up your wallet before running
or run with the -testnet=1 option to use a test wallet in case you
need to revert to an older release.


Wallets created with this version of bitcoin will use 33-byte 'compressed' public keys instead of 65-byte public keys, resulting in smaller transactions and less traffic on the bitcoin network. The shorter keys are already supported by the network but wallet.dat files containing short keys are not compatible with earlier versions of Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind.
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 10:08:47 AM
 #4

Wallets created with this version of bitcoin will use 33-byte 'compressed' public keys instead of 65-byte public keys, resulting in smaller transactions and less traffic on the bitcoin network. The shorter keys are already supported by the network but wallet.dat files containing short keys are not compatible with earlier versions of Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind.
+1

Use a recent wallet backup.
Also, as a general piece of advice, please don't use unstable (beta, release candidate,...) software for mission-critical tasks.

While I do have bitcoind 60003 up and running here, it's only a test server with a total of 1 BTC to play with.
When the version 6 client gets the final status it's the authors way of telling you that it should be safe for production environment.
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 11:50:38 AM
 #5

Thanks for the advice, I will try to use an old backup.

As far as being beta versions, my understanding is that at present all versions are currently beta until 1.0 is released.

Maybe the less stable ones should be labeled "alpha" instead of "beta", that was how it used to be done in the software industry in the past.

Based on the post here it appears that a backup is the only solution to this problem, anyway I believe I have old backups and will used them.

When using an old backup, will the block chain need to be rescanned or will it be as simple as replacing the wallet?



sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 12:18:53 PM
 #6

Good news, using an old backup solved the problem.
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 04:50:45 PM
 #7

If 0.6.0rc3 is unstable for you, can you please file a bug report? Thanks!

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 06:03:20 PM
 #8

where do I file the bug report? , I posted a message on this forum with the error logs so that it could be seen by the developers, this forum is probably not the proper place.
If you can tell me where to file the bug report I will, if you can provide me a link that will even be better.
mila
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 10:01:37 PM
 #9

where do I file the bug report?

for sure here: https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/issues

your ad here:
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 10:23:20 AM
 #10

thanks, I have submitted a bug report.
Also I have found out that this bug relates to the wallet, with a fresh new clean wallet this bug does not occur, or at least it did not occur during the testing.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!