Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:42:54 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: error loading blkindex.dat  (Read 10361 times)
Sant001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 02:04:31 AM
 #21

I'm trying to restore my old backup, I just now noticed how big the %appdata%/Bitcoin directory actually is.

3.98GB     Shocked
1481402574
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402574

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402574
Reply with quote  #2

1481402574
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
September 26, 2012, 02:06:22 AM
 #22

You can download blockchain snapshots from:
http://eu1.bitcoincharts.com/blockchain/

Sant001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 02:06:37 AM
 #23

Copying it over to my new installation seemed to fix it and avoided downloading the whole blockchain again.   Kiss
Sant001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 02:08:00 AM
 #24

You can download blockchain snapshots from:
http://eu1.bitcoincharts.com/blockchain/

Nice, very useful. You could use a download accelerator and have the blockchain downloaded in few minutes/hours as opposed to days if downloading the regular way.
nomnomnom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311



View Profile
October 13, 2012, 03:33:11 PM
 #25

You can download blockchain snapshots from:
http://eu1.bitcoincharts.com/blockchain/

Nice, very useful. You could use a download accelerator and have the blockchain downloaded in few minutes/hours as opposed to days if downloading the regular way.

Doesn't work for me. I install win32 bitcoin client, start it and leave running for a while, than quit it. Than I copy those 2 files contained in
.tar to data dir and start the client but it just continues downloading where it stopped on previous session. What exactly I'm missing here?

I'm doing this on a second computer I have - don't wanna torture HDD on it.

If you're running the newest version you can try to load the blockfile with the -loadblock=<file> option.
I think this happens because the download doesn't include a blkindex.dat or something.

Code:
bitcoin-qt.exe -loadblock=blk0001.dat -loadblock=blk0002.dat
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2012, 10:21:35 PM
 #26

Two files copied to D:\BTCData before starting client, BUT now it's still torturing HDD! Is it validating everything, same as if I just
used normal procedure, e.g. downloaded blocks from other nodes? Someone said that shouldn't happen, so now I'm confused a bit.

Yes, that's exactly what it does - it validates and indexes them completely as if they were downloaded from network. That's the only way to import blocks in a zero-trust way (i.e. without needing to trust the one giving you the file).

EDIT: you're importing the actually active data files. Don't do that. Move them or rename them, or import from a different directory.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!