Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:28:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does bitcoin.exe have to stay open?  (Read 2262 times)
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 02, 2011, 06:23:54 PM
 #1

I followed a setup guide that included running bitcoin.exe -server, then sending any GPU bitcoins found to said bitcoin wallet.  My question is, is running bitcoin.exe necessary at all if I am using pooled mining (deepbit), and connecting directly to deepbit's servers?
1480868923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868923
Reply with quote  #2

1480868923
Report to moderator
1480868923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868923
Reply with quote  #2

1480868923
Report to moderator
1480868923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868923
Reply with quote  #2

1480868923
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2011, 06:25:27 PM
 #2

I followed a setup guide that included running bitcoin.exe -server, then sending any GPU bitcoins found to said bitcoin wallet.  My question is, is running bitcoin.exe necessary at all if I am using pooled mining (deepbit), and connecting directly to deepbit's servers?
No, it's not necessary.
And don't enable it's "Generate coins" option - it's useless.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
PiGames
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111



View Profile
May 03, 2011, 04:04:52 PM
 #3

I followed a setup guide that included running bitcoin.exe -server, then sending any GPU bitcoins found to said bitcoin wallet.  My question is, is running bitcoin.exe necessary at all if I am using pooled mining (deepbit), and connecting directly to deepbit's servers?
No, it's not necessary.
And don't enable it's "Generate coins" option - it's useless.

Not necessary to keep it running at all (my mining machine doesnt even have the client installed). I just sync the wallet once a week from any mining payouts I've gotten. Then rinse/repeat
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 03, 2011, 04:07:20 PM
 #4

So it's only purpose to me, as a GPU miner, would be to track my wallet.dat?  And that's only if I'm actually USING said wallet?  Interesting... thanks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!