Bitcoin Forum
March 27, 2017, 12:52:27 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does bitcoin.exe have to stay open?  (Read 2291 times)
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile
May 02, 2011, 06:23:54 PM
 #1

I followed a setup guide that included running bitcoin.exe -server, then sending any GPU bitcoins found to said bitcoin wallet.  My question is, is running bitcoin.exe necessary at all if I am using pooled mining (deepbit), and connecting directly to deepbit's servers?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490619147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490619147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490619147
Reply with quote  #2

1490619147
Report to moderator
1490619147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490619147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490619147
Reply with quote  #2

1490619147
Report to moderator
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2011, 06:25:27 PM
 #2

I followed a setup guide that included running bitcoin.exe -server, then sending any GPU bitcoins found to said bitcoin wallet.  My question is, is running bitcoin.exe necessary at all if I am using pooled mining (deepbit), and connecting directly to deepbit's servers?
No, it's not necessary.
And don't enable it's "Generate coins" option - it's useless.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
PiGames
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111



View Profile
May 03, 2011, 04:04:52 PM
 #3

I followed a setup guide that included running bitcoin.exe -server, then sending any GPU bitcoins found to said bitcoin wallet.  My question is, is running bitcoin.exe necessary at all if I am using pooled mining (deepbit), and connecting directly to deepbit's servers?
No, it's not necessary.
And don't enable it's "Generate coins" option - it's useless.

Not necessary to keep it running at all (my mining machine doesnt even have the client installed). I just sync the wallet once a week from any mining payouts I've gotten. Then rinse/repeat
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile
May 03, 2011, 04:07:20 PM
 #4

So it's only purpose to me, as a GPU miner, would be to track my wallet.dat?  And that's only if I'm actually USING said wallet?  Interesting... thanks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!