Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 01:00:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Share computer/laptop's internet with Antminer S1?  (Read 1435 times)
NoahWL1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 197


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 12:45:15 AM
 #1

After receiving my antminer S1, I plugged it directly into my router and set it up with my main pool, and new password, backup pool, all that good stuff.  But the problem is, I can't leave the miner in my living room where the router is (too loud) and I need to move it to a different room.  I do not have a WiFi antenna for it but I do have an extra laptop that runs a couple USB miners and a Rockminer in the room I'd like to put it in.  The laptop is connected via WiFi and runs Windows 7.  Is it possible for me to connect an ethernet cable to the computer and then the antminer and share internet that way?  I've tried using Window's ICS to share the internet but it doesn't seem to work.  Although I think I'm just doing something wrong, is it possible to do this at all?  Thanks!
1513515647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513515647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513515647
Reply with quote  #2

1513515647
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 534



View Profile
August 11, 2014, 12:06:57 PM
 #2

Best way to do this is with a stratum proxy set up on the host laptop.

Bfgminer or slush's proxy.

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
NoahWL1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 197


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 04:48:37 PM
 #3

How would I do this?
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 534



View Profile
August 11, 2014, 10:25:13 PM
 #4

How would I do this?

Set the proxy to listen for stratum on the ethernet port and connect to the pool on the wireless.

Point the S3 to the laptop's ethernet IP.

Not "simple", but easy enough if you read up on stratum proxy and are able to configure it.


Alternately, you can plug the S3 into something like a Netgear wnce2001.





xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!