Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:14:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Driver versions - what to use and how to change?  (Read 874 times)
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2012, 12:17:13 PM
 #1

I'm very confused by the overall driver version thing. Is there a post (on this forum or somewhere else) that clarifies driver versions, OpenCL versions, which versions to use, how to change them and so on? I'm using Windows 7, but I guess a post describing this for all the popular operating systems would be very useful.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481429662
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429662

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429662
Reply with quote  #2

1481429662
Report to moderator
1481429662
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429662

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429662
Reply with quote  #2

1481429662
Report to moderator
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 04:28:05 PM
 #2

First state your GPU make and model, and your mining program. That'll be easier to discern what to use.
And no, there isn't a post so far, but you can take a look at bitcoin mining wiki to see what people use to achieve their hashing speeds. At least that's what I do for a start Grin

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
March 27, 2012, 08:06:07 AM
 #3

OK, I have two HD5850's, one is from Sapphire and the other one is from Club3D. I mine using cgminer on Windows 7 64.

I currently use cgminer 2.0.8, when I tried updating I lost a whole lot of performance. They told me it's because I've also updated my drivers and the old version of cgminer is using the old version of the drivers. And that's why I started this thread.

juggalodarkclow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile
March 27, 2012, 03:40:55 PM
 #4

i'm running 6 sapphire radeon 5830's on win7 x64 with cat 11.11 and the latest version of cgminer and they're averaging around 300 mh/s each

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2012, 11:19:13 PM
 #5

Be aware that the prime determinant of performance is the AMD APP SDK you have installed and not the driver. However when you install a driver, it usually installs an SDK at the same time unless you choose a custom install and choose not to install it. When running cgminer, the other thing is that the performance is linked to the SDK that was installed the very first time you ran cgminer as it generates .bin files that are used from then on. So if you change your SDK, you must delete the .bin files generated by cgminer to get the changed performance.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!