Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2018, 12:00:53 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Increasing Efficiency on S1  (Read 1532 times)
catoboli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 12:18:46 AM
 #1

I was curious if anyone knew anyway of increasing the power to GH ratio on the S1 miners. its getting to the point where I've stopped overlocking but i still need to do better. Id like to get them where the margin is profitable. I feel like I've herd of changing the voltage. I know they can be more efficient because they are the same chip thats in the s2 which has a much better power to GH ratio.

Any Ideas?

Free SIGNs giving everyday. Be part, do not miss!. SqqPHCSJq8vFQt8PcadP1Y8iTxi9qAZWSt
1544745653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544745653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544745653
Reply with quote  #2

1544745653
Report to moderator
1544745653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544745653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544745653
Reply with quote  #2

1544745653
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544745653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544745653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544745653
Reply with quote  #2

1544745653
Report to moderator
1544745653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544745653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544745653
Reply with quote  #2

1544745653
Report to moderator
7queue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 04:03:13 AM
 #2

This?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=526060.0

8 )

8 )
CounterStrike
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 07:57:44 AM
 #3

I was curious if anyone knew anyway of increasing the power to GH ratio on the S1 miners. its getting to the point where I've stopped overlocking but i still need to do better. Id like to get them where the margin is profitable. I feel like I've herd of changing the voltage. I know they can be more efficient because they are the same chip thats in the s2 which has a much better power to GH ratio.

Any Ideas?

Underclock and you can pretty much get about 1GH/1.1Watt..
catoboli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 06:18:59 AM
 #4

Under clock or under volt?

Free SIGNs giving everyday. Be part, do not miss!. SqqPHCSJq8vFQt8PcadP1Y8iTxi9qAZWSt
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 16, 2014, 09:53:51 AM
 #5

Under clock or under volt?
Both, as with lower voltage your chips will not be able to sustain the same clock frequency.
catoboli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 31, 2014, 04:23:06 PM
 #6

Ill give that a try, I know when you under volt you have to declock but wasn't sure if you could get good performance just by under clocking, id rather just under clock than under volt. more complicated process. and i don't know wtf i put my voltmeter its been a long time since I've needed it.

Free SIGNs giving everyday. Be part, do not miss!. SqqPHCSJq8vFQt8PcadP1Y8iTxi9qAZWSt
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1017



View Profile
August 31, 2014, 06:28:34 PM
 #7

Ill give that a try, I know when you under volt you have to declock but wasn't sure if you could get good performance just by under clocking, id rather just under clock than under volt. more complicated process. and i don't know wtf i put my voltmeter its been a long time since I've needed it.

Yes underclocking is easier since it just involves changing the speed.  The resulting decrease in power is usually linear - if you go down 30% in speed you see about 30% decrease in power.

By undervolting the chips are usually not able to run as fast so they would require an underclock as well and require a little fiddling to find a stable maximum speed but a 30% reduction in power would be significantly less - closer to 50-60% decrease in power due to the fact power is the square of the amperage.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!