Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:07:21 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to tell if you solved a block?  (Read 1798 times)
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:17:07 PM
 #1

If my client says, "Generated (50.0006 matures in xxx more blocks)", but under the Credit column, it is listed at 0.00. If I generated a block on my own, wouldn't I earn 50 BTCs instead of the 0.00 listed in the transaction?

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
1481382441
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382441

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382441
Reply with quote  #2

1481382441
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:21:19 PM
 #2

I recently started solo mining and I just noticed a new transaction in my Bitcoin client. It says, "Generated (50.0006 matures in 116 more blocks)", but under the Credit column, it is listed at 0.00. If I generated a block on my own, wouldn't I earn 50 BTCs instead of the 0.00 listed in the transaction?

Sorry, I'm new to solo mining and I'm not sure what this means. Can anybody help me out with some insight?

You need to wait 116 blocks for it to show.

Congrats on solving a block!  Cheesy  Better hope the price doesn't drop to 0 in the next 24 hours   Grin

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:21:48 PM
 #3

Yes so found a block. Assuming it doesn't become orphaned you balance will increase once the blocks remaining counter hits zero.  If it does get orphaned well that is the variance gods punching you in the nuts.

Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:37:48 PM
 #4

I recently started solo mining and I just noticed a new transaction in my Bitcoin client. It says, "Generated (50.0006 matures in 116 more blocks)", but under the Credit column, it is listed at 0.00. If I generated a block on my own, wouldn't I earn 50 BTCs instead of the 0.00 listed in the transaction?

Sorry, I'm new to solo mining and I'm not sure what this means. Can anybody help me out with some insight?

You sponsoring bitcointalk pizza ? Tongue

I really hope, especially if you are small time miner, that you do earn this block and not get invalidated by deepbit or some larger pool.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:40:42 PM
 #5

the address in the coinbase should match an address in your wallet.


No, it doesn't seem to match any of mine. I believe the block was actually solved some time yesterday evening or early this morning, though. I just happened to notice the new transaction in my client today.

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:42:47 PM
 #6

I really hope, especially if you are small time miner, that you do earn this block and not get invalidated by deepbit or some larger pool.

How would that happen? Is there anything I can do to prevent it?

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:45:32 PM
 #7

How would that happen? Is there anything I can do to prevent it?

Nope however it is pretty rare and given the block was found more than 4 blocks ago you are well out of the "danger zone".

An orphan occurs when two miners (say you and Deepbit) find a block at roughly the same time.  Part of the network is building off your chain, part of their chains.  Eventually one chain will be longer and the other chain dies.

st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:49:45 PM
 #8

How would that happen? Is there anything I can do to prevent it?

Nope however it is pretty rare and given the block was found more than 4 blocks ago you are well out of the "danger zone".

An orphan occurs when two miners (say you and Deepbit) find a block at roughly the same time.  Part of the network is building off your chain, part of their chains.  Eventually one chain will be longer and the other chain dies.



Aha, thank you for the information. Again I must apologize for my naivete in the realm of solo mining. I am indeed a relatively "small-time" miner as you guessed, only operating between 2-3ghash/s. I turned my miners over to the solo configuration as a half-joke really, that I'd leave them going for maybe a few weeks and see if I might get lucky, but I never imagined I might find a block, especially so quickly, that's why I wasn't quite sure what I was seeing in my transaction register.

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
March 27, 2012, 01:15:53 AM
 #9

How would that happen? Is there anything I can do to prevent it?

Nope however it is pretty rare and given the block was found more than 4 blocks ago you are well out of the "danger zone".

An orphan occurs when two miners (say you and Deepbit) find a block at roughly the same time.  Part of the network is building off your chain, part of their chains.  Eventually one chain will be longer and the other chain dies.



Aha, thank you for the information. Again I must apologize for my naivete in the realm of solo mining. I am indeed a relatively "small-time" miner as you guessed, only operating between 2-3ghash/s. I turned my miners over to the solo configuration as a half-joke really, that I'd leave them going for maybe a few weeks and see if I might get lucky, but I never imagined I might find a block, especially so quickly, that's why I wasn't quite sure what I was seeing in my transaction register.

Once it confirms, you sir just found ~$225 on the interwebz Cheesy

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
March 27, 2012, 01:53:12 AM
 #10

Better than finding them. He just did something only allowed to central banks, he created money, the lucky bastard... Tongue

st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
March 27, 2012, 03:06:12 AM
 #11

Better than finding them. He just did something only allowed to central banks, he created money, the lucky bastard... Tongue

I feel like your avatar. Or Harry Crane's Father-in-Law from AMC's Mad Men: "It turns out, he shits gold ingots."

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
Jaryu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
March 27, 2012, 05:03:09 AM
 #12

How would that happen? Is there anything I can do to prevent it?

Nope however it is pretty rare and given the block was found more than 4 blocks ago you are well out of the "danger zone".

An orphan occurs when two miners (say you and Deepbit) find a block at roughly the same time.  Part of the network is building off your chain, part of their chains.  Eventually one chain will be longer and the other chain dies.



Aha, thank you for the information. Again I must apologize for my naivete in the realm of solo mining. I am indeed a relatively "small-time" miner as you guessed, only operating between 2-3ghash/s. I turned my miners over to the solo configuration as a half-joke really, that I'd leave them going for maybe a few weeks and see if I might get lucky, but I never imagined I might find a block, especially so quickly, that's why I wasn't quite sure what I was seeing in my transaction register.

which software are you using to solo mine and how long did it take you to solve the block since you mentioned that it was solved quickly?
mb300sd
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232

Drunk Posts


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2012, 05:35:54 AM
 #13

How many GH/s do you have? You must be one lucky **** if you solved it with a single rig...

1D7FJWRzeKa4SLmTznd3JpeNU13L1ErEco
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!