Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:45:55 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Power Configuration [BOUNTY 5BTC]  (Read 5179 times)
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 30, 2012, 07:38:00 PM
 #21

This might provide some insight on 208 vs 240: http://www.phaseconverterinfo.com/phaseconverter_deltawye.htm

Like I said, wye vs. Delta - they are different.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
1481208355
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208355

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208355
Reply with quote  #2

1481208355
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481208355
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208355

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208355
Reply with quote  #2

1481208355
Report to moderator
Scared
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 07:45:59 PM
 #22

So I didn't measure hot-hot.. Didn't think that was a wise idea at the time.. So after you mentioned it I decided I'd go measure it and found it's reading only 208V?!?!?! I double checked the Hot to Neutral and it's 120V. Show does 120V + 120V = 208V?Huh??

It should look like this:



W = neutral
X = one 115V leg
Y = one 115V leg
There is no ground on this outlet which is why it is obsolete.

X -> Y should be ~230V (220V-240V)
X -> W should be ~115V (110V-120V)
Y -> W should be ~115V (110V-120V)


I've tot a Leviton -


What I get when I measured the points you referenced -
X -> Y = Ranges between 208V and 210V
X -> W = 120V Solid
Y -> W = 120V Solid

Is it possible that it's wired incorrectly or am I just doing something incredibly stupid?

Scared
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 07:59:16 PM
 #23

This might provide some insight on 208 vs 240: http://www.phaseconverterinfo.com/phaseconverter_deltawye.htm

Like I said, wye vs. Delta - they are different.

Ahha! I probably only understood 5% of article. Now you've got me wondering if my circuit is three-phase. From what I could understand about the article the only way to get 208V is from the difference between two phases in a three phase system. The difference between a phase and neutral would be 120V. That seems to be what I'm measure on my outlet. But why would anyone hookup a three phase socket  for office use?


silverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
March 30, 2012, 08:49:31 PM
 #24

The other legs of the 3 phase prob go to other offices.  You have 2 legs of 208 3 phase in that outlet.
Scared
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 09:02:35 PM
 #25

The other legs of the 3 phase prob go to other offices.  You have 2 legs of 208 3 phase in that outlet.

Does that mean I treat it like a singe phase outlet then?
Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 09:18:59 PM
 #26

The other legs of the 3 phase prob go to other offices.  You have 2 legs of 208 3 phase in that outlet.

Does that mean I treat it like a singe phase outlet then?

Like TWO 110V single phase outlets.
Or like ONE 208V single phase outlet.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 30, 2012, 09:25:09 PM
 #27

The other legs of the 3 phase prob go to other offices.  You have 2 legs of 208 3 phase in that outlet.

Does that mean I treat it like a singe phase outlet then?

Like TWO 110V single phase outlets.
Or like ONE 208V single phase outlet.
Yep. In any case, the electrician might be a good idea, since he will have to convert it to a 4-wire system. Right now you have 2 phases and a ground, but that is grandfathered in. Need 2 phases, a neutral, and a ground. At 208v, the rigs will pull a lot more amps than at 240v, but the only way to fix that would be to install a buck/boost transformer in boost mode. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buck%E2%80%93boost_transformer


Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 30, 2012, 09:33:42 PM
 #28

Does that mean I treat it like a singe phase outlet then?

Yes (and it is a single phase outlet). The problem is that at 208V it will take more higher amperage to get the same amount of power.
Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 10:12:51 PM
 #29

Honestly, I wouldn't bother with an expensive PDU and an electrician and stuff.
That $900 basically pays for an entire low-end (4 x HD 5830) rig.

Why don't you wire some kind of adapter cable that routes one 110V circuit to a $5 power strip A and the other 110V circuit to a $5 power strip B. Then, you start by plugging in two rigs to power strip A and two rigs to power strip B. This will definitely work. So far, so good.

The elephant in the room is what your circuit breakers actually are.
20A each?  This is what I had in Palo Alto, and I maxed them out.
35A each? 30A each? 40A each?
Check the circuit breaker panel. The circuit breakers should be labeled with the office suite #.

If you cannot clearly identify the circuit breakers, buy a $29.99, 1000 W electrical space heater at Walmart.
Plug it into power strip A, while all miners are mining, and turn it on.
Then repeat for power strip B.
If the circuit breaker doesn't fall, you're good to go for another 2 rigs (one goes into strip A and one goes into strip B).
Now you got 6 rigs.

Rinse and repeat this simple test to get to 8 rigs.

I'd stop at 8 rigs, 4 on each side, for a symmetrical load.

Edit: In case a $5 power strip is only rated for 10 A, you'd want more than one for each of the 110 V circuits. But the principle remains: No need to spend $900 on this.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!