Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:32:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do you start a computer without the Case power button?  (Read 9267 times)
Xmufa23X
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 12:02:45 AM
 #1

So I grabbed an MSi K9A2 CF v2 for $45, and bought a CPU on newegg for $20. I have a power supply on it's way as well. I will be running (3) 5830's on this rig. Although I ran into a slight problem... How the heck do you start a Motherboard without the Case's Power/Restart button? I assume I would have to hot wire those little JFP1/2 pins to start the computer up. Would I need any resistors, diodes, etc? Or would simply connecting two pins together with a small wire work?
1481221953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221953
Reply with quote  #2

1481221953
Report to moderator
1481221953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221953
Reply with quote  #2

1481221953
Report to moderator
1481221953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221953
Reply with quote  #2

1481221953
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481221953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221953
Reply with quote  #2

1481221953
Report to moderator
1481221953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221953
Reply with quote  #2

1481221953
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 12:04:19 AM
 #2

So I grabbed an MSi K9A2 CF v2 for $45, and bought a CPU on newegg for $20. I have a power supply on it's way as well. I will be running (3) 5830's on this rig. Although I ran into a slight problem... How the heck do you start a Motherboard without the Case's Power/Restart button? I assume I would have to hot wire those little JFP1/2 pins to start the computer up. Would I need any resistors, diodes, etc? Or would simply connecting two pins together with a small wire work?
Just touch the PWRBTN pins with a screwdriver, no need to keep them connected. Hold for 4 sec if you need to hard-shutdown the machine.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Xmufa23X
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 12:07:45 AM
 #3

So I grabbed an MSi K9A2 CF v2 for $45, and bought a CPU on newegg for $20. I have a power supply on it's way as well. I will be running (3) 5830's on this rig. Although I ran into a slight problem... How the heck do you start a Motherboard without the Case's Power/Restart button? I assume I would have to hot wire those little JFP1/2 pins to start the computer up. Would I need any resistors, diodes, etc? Or would simply connecting two pins together with a small wire work?
Just touch the PWRBTN pins with a screwdriver, no need to keep them connected. Hold for 4 sec if you need to hard-shutdown the machine.
Awesome! I was hoping it would be that simple.
1l1l11ll1l
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 711


TheMerchantShop.com


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2012, 02:51:02 AM
 #4

So I grabbed an MSi K9A2 CF v2 for $45, and bought a CPU on newegg for $20. I have a power supply on it's way as well. I will be running (3) 5830's on this rig. Although I ran into a slight problem... How the heck do you start a Motherboard without the Case's Power/Restart button? I assume I would have to hot wire those little JFP1/2 pins to start the computer up. Would I need any resistors, diodes, etc? Or would simply connecting two pins together with a small wire work?
Just touch the PWRBTN pins with a screwdriver, no need to keep them connected. Hold for 4 sec if you need to hard-shutdown the machine.
Awesome! I was hoping it would be that simple.
In the bois enable "Wake on power loss" then all you have to do it plug it in to get it to turn on.

High Volume and/or High Risk Credit Card Processing. TheMerchantShop.com
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
April 03, 2012, 03:56:41 AM
 #5

So I grabbed an MSi K9A2 CF v2 for $45, and bought a CPU on newegg for $20. I have a power supply on it's way as well. I will be running (3) 5830's on this rig. Although I ran into a slight problem... How the heck do you start a Motherboard without the Case's Power/Restart button? I assume I would have to hot wire those little JFP1/2 pins to start the computer up. Would I need any resistors, diodes, etc? Or would simply connecting two pins together with a small wire work?
Just touch the PWRBTN pins with a screwdriver, no need to keep them connected. Hold for 4 sec if you need to hard-shutdown the machine.
Awesome! I was hoping it would be that simple.
In the bois enable "Wake on power loss" then all you have to do it plug it in to get it to turn on.

YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH BOOOOOIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIISSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Xmufa23X
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 04:02:54 AM
 #6

So I grabbed an MSi K9A2 CF v2 for $45, and bought a CPU on newegg for $20. I have a power supply on it's way as well. I will be running (3) 5830's on this rig. Although I ran into a slight problem... How the heck do you start a Motherboard without the Case's Power/Restart button? I assume I would have to hot wire those little JFP1/2 pins to start the computer up. Would I need any resistors, diodes, etc? Or would simply connecting two pins together with a small wire work?
Just touch the PWRBTN pins with a screwdriver, no need to keep them connected. Hold for 4 sec if you need to hard-shutdown the machine.
Awesome! I was hoping it would be that simple.
In the bois enable "Wake on power loss" then all you have to do it plug it in to get it to turn on.
Nice idea

YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH BOOOOOIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIISSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Stop being an ass
Bitcoinassasin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


"Enjoy yourself. It's later than you think."


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 10:38:20 PM
 #7

Sweet trick rather than a screwdriver! Just what I was looking for!

As you grow older, you'll find the only things you regret are the things you didn't do.  ~Zachary Scott
Benny1985
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 391


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 11:15:03 PM
 #8

My solution is a bit novel...

I bought light switches from Lowes for $0.69/ea and some 18 gauge copper wire. I wired the PWRBTN pins to the wires going to the lightswitch, and then attached them to my shelf. To turn on, I simply turn the lightswitches on for about 2 seconds, then turn off. To do a forced reset, I flip the switch for just a few seconds, and the computers shutdown.

Its an easy way to run multiple on/offs at the same time.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 11:56:46 PM
 #9

You could also just by a power switch: http://www.frys.com/product/6801536?source=googleps&gclid=CJOyvu_ow7YCFQVV4AodsSEAWA
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!