Bitcoin Forum
July 30, 2021, 02:17:35 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Core stopped connecting???  (Read 3348 times)
Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 05:29:42 PM
 #1

The client doesn't connect to any nodes. I'm using version v0.9.2.1 but the older version stopped working also. The last connection was from 11 weeks.

Firewalls are disabled. I even deleted everything related to bitcoin except wallet.dat and now the client is stuck behind five years.

This is some seriously fucked up shit. Any possible explanations how this can suddenly happen and how to fix it?

1627611455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627611455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627611455
Reply with quote  #2

1627611455
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1627611455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627611455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627611455
Reply with quote  #2

1627611455
Report to moderator
hannscryo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 05:31:07 PM
 #2

Have you tried to run the wallet from another computer or virtual machine or live cd?
Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:03:38 PM
 #3

Have you tried to run the wallet from another computer or virtual machine or live cd?

No, I'll try to get access to another computer soon

OleOle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


Are you like these guys?


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:06:20 PM
 #4

Have you tried to run the wallet from another computer or virtual machine or live cd?

No, I'll try to get access to another computer soon


Don't worry it's not your computer, bitcoin is broken.

 Sad























 Only joking Cheesy

Ayers
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:23:02 PM
 #5

try with another wallet data, sometime this has happened to me, i don't know why but some wallet.dat get corrupted with no reason
Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:58:34 PM
 #6

try with another wallet data, sometime this has happened to me, i don't know why but some wallet.dat get corrupted with no reason

Wouldn't I lose my coins then?

Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:04:33 PM
 #7

I checked the log and I'm getting these kinds of errors:

2014-08-27 17:19:40 ext-ip thread exit
2014-08-27 17:19:40 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:19:43 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:19:45 112 addresses found from DNS seeds
2014-08-27 17:19:45 dnsseed thread exit
2014-08-27 17:19:46 No valid UPnP IGDs found
2014-08-27 17:19:46 upnp thread exit
2014-08-27 17:19:46 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:19:49 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:19:49 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:19:51 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:19:54 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:19:55 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:19:57 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:20:00 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:20:00 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:20:02 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:20:05 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:20:06 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:20:08 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:20:11 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)
2014-08-27 17:20:11 socket recv error An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.  (10054)

RodeoX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3066
Merit: 1143


The revolution will be monetized!


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:04:53 PM
 #8

try with another wallet data, sometime this has happened to me, i don't know why but some wallet.dat get corrupted with no reason

Wouldn't I lose my coins then?

Maybe. You should always have a backup of any funded wallet.dat file. You could still try using another wallet, but DO NOT LOSE all the copies with bitcoins or they will be gone. If you want to try here is how:

1. Remove your wallet .dat file. If using windows you can find it typing "%appdata%" in the run box. If using linux it is in a hidden folder in the home folder. the hidden one is ".bitcoin"

2. restart bitcoin and it will scan the blocks and may fix things. If it does, try putting the funded wallet back and restarting.

The gospel according to Satoshi - https://bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
Free bitcoin in ? - Stay tuned for this years Bitcoin hunt!
dKingston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 483
Merit: 500


LAUNDER BITCOIN: https://BitLaunder.com


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2014, 07:30:07 PM
 #9

It's just your computer! Hope you have a backup to change your wallet.dat file!
Let us know if you can resolve this Smiley

LAUNDER & ANONYMIZE YOUR BITCOIN:
https://www.BitLaunder.com/?aid=41
Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:38:09 PM
 #10

The wallet can't connect to any nodes even without my wallet.dat file. So the problem must be elsewhere.

My windows installation is fresh and I don't have any crap on it and the firewall/antivirus is off and other wallets work fine so what the hell?

the error "An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host" seems to say the problem is on the other end.

RodeoX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3066
Merit: 1143


The revolution will be monetized!


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:59:39 PM
 #11

The wallet can't connect to any nodes even without my wallet.dat file. So the problem must be elsewhere.

My windows installation is fresh and I don't have any crap on it and the firewall/antivirus is off and other wallets work fine so what the hell?

the error "An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host" seems to say the problem is on the other end.

When you restart without a wallet.dat file bitcoin core creates a new one. So you want to make sure you don't get confused and delete the wrong one. The fact that you are still having problems with a new wallet may be a good sign. Your original wallet is probably fine. I'm afraid I don't know what the error message means, but as long as your wallet.dat file is good, everything will work out. Only damage to that wallet file is irrecoverable.

The gospel according to Satoshi - https://bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
Free bitcoin in ? - Stay tuned for this years Bitcoin hunt!
Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 08:04:15 PM
 #12

Shit is getting really weird. I managed to install bitcoin wallet on another computer and it won't connect either!

Just to make sure I haven't done anything wrong:
1. I download bitcoin.zip here https://bitcoin.org/en/download
2. I extract the bitcoin-qt.exe
3. I run it


gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 3486
Merit: 5537



View Profile
August 28, 2014, 01:53:01 AM
 #13

Are you in China?
hua_hui
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1016



View Profile
August 28, 2014, 05:02:23 AM
 #14

Are you in China?
Nothing to do with China. My Bitcoin core has no problem.
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1615
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 28, 2014, 05:42:17 AM
 #15

Who is your ISP?

Can you try running bitcoind over a VPN (if you know how to do this)?
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1000


https://web.archive.org/web/*/nogleg.com


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2014, 06:40:00 AM
 #16

possibly reasons:

antivirus software
task offloading
faulty router
wrong/old network driver (esp. for a virtual machine)
bitcoin.conf configured to only connect to one host, that's not taking connections anymore

ed: also you could try going into console and do addnode 205.186.129.90:46331 onetry

(connecting to a node that's not using standard port)

Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
August 28, 2014, 06:46:13 AM
 #17

possibly reasons:

antivirus software
task offloading
faulty router
wrong/old network driver (esp. for a virtual machine)
bitcoin.conf configured to only connect to one host, that's not taking connections anymore

I don't think it is the router because other wallets are working fine. Also not a driver issue because the problem is on two seperate computers.

There is no bitcoin.conf file

Antivirus/firewall and all security software is off.

What is task offloading?

Also, if I call my ISP, what am I suppose to explain? What port does bitcoin use? Maybe they have closed it or something...

zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1000


https://web.archive.org/web/*/nogleg.com


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2014, 06:58:53 AM
 #18

possibly reasons:

antivirus software
task offloading
faulty router
wrong/old network driver (esp. for a virtual machine)
bitcoin.conf configured to only connect to one host, that's not taking connections anymore

I don't think it is the router because other wallets are working fine. Also not a driver issue because the problem is on two seperate computers.

There is no bitcoin.conf file

Antivirus/firewall and all security software is off.

What is task offloading?

Also, if I call my ISP, what am I suppose to explain? What port does bitcoin use? Maybe they have closed it or something...

I just edited post to include one that's running on non standard port... that'd probably be the first thing to try

if you're on windows, you can either use netsh from the command prompt or use the control panel -> device manager -> network -> properties, then it should have offloading options there, amongst other things.  for linux you can use ethtool, https://www.kernel.org/pub/software/network/ethtool/ethtool-3.15.tar.gz .. compile & install then ethtool -k eth0 (or w/e) will show options, ethtool -K eth0 <xx> to change..

i wouldnt mess with those until checking everything else though.

the whole other side closing connection is typically what would happen when a server that is already at its max number of connections is being connected to, afaik (it closes immediately after opening)

try going into console and doing addnode 5.9.24.81 onetry also, if the other one doesnt work (or in linux bitcoin-cli addnode xxx onetry)

Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
August 28, 2014, 07:26:20 AM
 #19

ed: also you could try going into console and do addnode 205.186.129.90:46331 onetry

(connecting to a node that's not using standard port)

Thank you, this worked. I got a node from here https://getaddr.bitnodes.io with a nonstandard port.

So I guess my ISP has blocked port 8333

Time for a angry phone call

Ayers
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 28, 2014, 02:27:36 PM
 #20

try with another wallet data, sometime this has happened to me, i don't know why but some wallet.dat get corrupted with no reason

Wouldn't I lose my coins then?

don't delete the old want, try a test with a new wallet, to see if that is the problem
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!