Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:51:08 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [WTS] 12.5 GHash minig rig system including 13 computers for 10 000 USD  (Read 2671 times)
airnesst
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 08:13:30 PM
 #21

for 160 usd You can get mobo for 4x5970 but with extenders now tell me how to make rig consisted of four of these ?? , You need to buy a big table or what ? than probably , You need a bigger room than mine where are  14 sets . If You want to buy mobo for 4xSLI and be able to put them together without extenders You have to pay around 300 usd. Still we are going to the most important question , which nobody answers where You can buy 16 x 5970 for 400 usd each Huh i think its more around 500 usd a piece,but prove me wrong . theoretically everything is cheap , but when You count all costs and limitations it seems be much different. i ve forgot to ask how to run 4x5970 on 1200 w PSU when one card requires 350 watts x4 = 1400 watts + HDD+CPU+MOBO around 60 is more close to 1500 w than to 1200w ? 
1480963868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963868
Reply with quote  #2

1480963868
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963868
Reply with quote  #2

1480963868
Report to moderator
ataranlen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 843


The One and Only


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2012, 08:19:54 PM
 #22

for 160 usd You can get mobo for 4x5970 but with extenders now tell me how to make rig consisted of four of these ?? , You need to buy a big table or what ? than probably , You need a bigger room than mine where are  14 sets . If You want to buy mobo for 4xSLI and be able to put them together without extenders You have to pay around 300 usd. Still we are going to the most important question , which nobody answers where You can buy 16 x 5970 for 400 usd each Huh i think its more around 500 usd a piece,but prove me wrong . theoretically everything is cheap , but when You count all costs and limitations it seems be much different. i ve forgot to ask how to run 4x5970 on 1200 w PSU when one card requires 350 watts x4 = 1400 watts + HDD+CPU+MOBO around 60 is more close to 1500 w than to 1200w ? 

Right here Some as cheap as $325 on Amazon! (A-Z guarantee is great when buying used stuff)

MineTexas.com Minecraft Server We accept Bitcoin and Dogecoin.
Deepbit on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Deepbit/151108048294815
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 08:35:28 PM
 #23

for 160 usd You can get mobo for 4x5970 but with extenders now tell me how to make rig consisted of four of these ?? , You need to buy a big table or what ? than probably , You need a bigger room than mine where are  14 sets . If You want to buy mobo for 4xSLI and be able to put them together without extenders You have to pay around 300 usd. Still we are going to the most important question , which nobody answers where You can buy 16 x 5970 for 400 usd each Huh i think its more around 500 usd a piece,but prove me wrong . theoretically everything is cheap , but when You count all costs and limitations it seems be much different. i ve forgot to ask how to run 4x5970 on 1200 w PSU when one card requires 350 watts x4 = 1400 watts + HDD+CPU+MOBO around 60 is more close to 1500 w than to 1200w ?

What are you talking about? For one, I made an open air rig for my 5970s out of 1"x1" wood and deck screws I had laying around from the crate my snowblower came in, but even I'd gone out and bought the stuff it wouldn't even cost $20 per rig. Took me 2 hours to do. I prefer extenders as it lets me use molex powered ones, and space the cards further apart, but if you really really want 4 double spaced you can always buy a used one.

As for the 16 5970, you'd obviously have to buy them in smaller quantities, and used. No store will carry that many used 5970s. It's the way it goes for end of life products. If you absolutely need them all from one source, that pops up now and again. Vlad was probably selling off at least that many a couple days ago, and I bet if you approached mrb with an offer of $7000 for 16 of his 6990s, he'd probably take it.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=75616.0
Edit: There's been 19 5970s that I see sold on eBay in the last week, with an average selling price of $344. Of the two that sold over $400, one was new. Obviously if you're buying from the US and shipping to Europe that would drive up the cost, but that's the case with anything.

As for your point on the power draw, if you're actually pulling 350W DC from a 5970 while mining, you're doing it wrong.


Edit: Really, your systems are kind of a mismash but I'm sure they work fine. As Anandtech is fond of saying, there's not such thing as a bad GPU, just a bad price. US$10,000 for what you're offering is just a bad price. $6000 + shipping would be much more reasonable, but it's hard to tell since you still haven't posted a list of exactly what you're selling. For the $10,000 you're asking you could purchase 16 BFL singles that produce 13GH/s on only 1300W, as well as a cheap computer to hook them up to.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 08:39:45 PM
 #24

i ve forgot to ask how to run 4x5970 on 1200 w PSU when one card requires 350 watts x4 = 1400 watts + HDD+CPU+MOBO around 60 is more close to 1500 w than to 1200w ?

Simple ... it doesn't used 350W.  Never has and never will.  TDP =/= power consumption.
airnesst
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 08:53:42 PM
 #25

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

says i am right and You're wrong about power consumption

stock is 294 watts , when mining at around 700mhash its 330-350 watts

but lets assume stock 294w x 4 = 1176 watts , hmmmmm, How You want to run all other components on 24 watts ???assuming 1200w psu will resist maxx load Smiley sorry but thats silly.

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 08:55:29 PM
 #26

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

says i am right and You're wrong about power consumption

stock is 294 watts , when mining at around 700mhash its 330-350 watts

but lets assume stock 294w x 4 = 1176 watts , hmmmmm, How You want to run all other components on 24 watts ???assuming 1200w psu will resist maxx load Smiley sorry but thats silly.


Mainly because the dork that put that info onto the wiki just read the box instead of measuring the actual current?

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
April 12, 2012, 08:58:28 PM
 #27

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

says i am right and You're wrong about power consumption

stock is 294 watts , when mining at around 700mhash its 330-350 watts

but lets assume stock 294w x 4 = 1176 watts , hmmmmm, How You want to run all other components on 24 watts ???assuming 1200w psu will resist maxx load Smiley sorry but thats silly.



I'm looking at an i7-2600k rig with 2 5970's running full blast. At the wall drawing 600w total power for the system. O.C.ed 825/600.

Don't believe everything you read kiddo.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 08:58:36 PM
 #28

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

says i am right and You're wrong about power consumption

stock is 294 watts , when mining at around 700mhash its 330-350 watts

but lets assume stock 294w x 4 = 1176 watts , hmmmmm, How You want to run all other components on 24 watts ???assuming 1200w psu will resist maxx load Smiley sorry but thats silly.


The fact that I own 24 5970s and have taken extensive measurements and shared those in numerous threads says I am right and you are wrong. Smiley


airnesst
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 09:24:32 PM
 #29

so maybe we have different cards Huh i have 2 other systems based on 2x5970 sempron140 , etc.. and it hang on corsair CX 600 PSU and on GS 800 runs smoothly, how You explain official info from ati/amd confirmed with website against Your readings ? couse i dont get it ?
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
April 12, 2012, 09:28:41 PM
 #30

so maybe we have different cards Huh i have 2 other systems based on 2x5970 sempron140 , etc.. and it hang on corsair CX 600 PSU and on GS 800 runs smoothly, how You explain official info from ati/amd confirmed with website against Your readings ? couse i dont get it ?

They 'officially' recommend that you use this reading so that they aren't liable. Also, most users aren't underclocking their memory like we do, this lowers the power consumption dramatically.

Running on 600w it will hang, run on a 650w or 700w it should be fine. I could probably run on 600w on this rig if I underclock the memory more, underclock my cpu and run linux on a thumb drive, but I enjoy my games.

MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 09:30:39 PM
 #31

so maybe we have different cards Huh i have 2 other systems based on 2x5970 sempron140 , etc.. and it hang on corsair CX 600 PSU and on GS 800 runs smoothly, how You explain official info from ati/amd confirmed with website against Your readings ? couse i dont get it ?

AMD is so conservative on their ratings it's not even funny. They have to cover their ass for those people who buy $40 cases that come with a "400W" supply included. My HD6870 is supposed to be used with a 500W supply, and it consumes 430W at the wall with it running at 1070/1300 at 1.3V and a 2500k at 4.2GHz running Furmark and Prime95.
Jaryu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 12:17:36 AM
 #32

show me please component setup for 400 usd for 4x5970 couse i dont know any ??

i think just PSU is more than 400 usd alone Smiley

just motherboard is about 300 usd alone

other hdd , mem, cpu, etc... is another 200 usd
so its about 700 usd not 400

700usdx4 = 2800 usd

16x400usd = 6400
=9200 usd 

+ 1 comp with 2x5850 at least 700 usd

= 9900 usd

You have to configure buy etc spend time

and the most important ! show me please one place where i can buy 16x5970 for 400 usd piece??? i will buy today

price is fair


The crap you have to listen to.... you could've done a 5 minute research run and you would've found it all, when I said $400 dollars I was talking from experience not out of my ass...

CPU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103888 - $39
MB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128514 - 144 with $10 rebate , 4 PCIe x 16x, 2 PCIe x 1x so you could go with 6 single cards or 4 dual cards np just add 2 extenders for 9 bucks each
Memory 4gb - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820576002  - $18
2 x 80 plus PSU 850W - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182072 - $170
USB 3 16GB pen drive for OS - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211579 - $18

so we have it for $391.94 SHIPPING included without extenders + 2 extenders at 9 bucks each = ~410 - $10 buck rebate mail in rebate for MB = $400...

my XFX Black Edition 5970 I got it for $265 bucks on ebay in mint condition with the box, and doing a cursory look on finished auctions I can see tons of 5970 that finished for less than $400 bucks... Do you want me to list the auction listings for you too or is my word good enough now?

I was quite polite when I posted my thing to let you know that your setup is plainly overpriced. This setup I posted here will get you similar performance(or greater) using a crapload less electricity than running 13 computers will not counting that you would have warranty on all the computer components (minus video cards). And the time putting it together is minuscule... if you're incompetent it might take you an hour to put each setup together, I used to build them and OS installation takes longer than putting hardware together.

Also having 4 computers that have the SAME hardware configuration means you can have an image that will work on all 4 so you only need to configure 1 and image the other 3 in <30 minutes from windows.
airnesst
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 07:34:29 AM
 #33

i have in this rig mobos ud3,ud5,ud7 You cant put 4 cards into ud3, and ud5 without extenders , only ud7 is capable of doing it and its alone 250 usd, , 2 x psu will work only in open system which You want to force as best idea , to put it in the case You need 1x1500 w which is around 350-400 usd alone.

about time, ok You do it as You say in one hour + 2 months for MAYBE buying from 12 sellers 16 cards and prey all of them are good( You wont win all auctions , do You ?) , i did my rig in one week , now count how many bitcoins You will have in that time ?

i see we cant convince each other, anyone who has any 5ghash+ rig knows how much time they spend for buying , mounting , setting up etc ... You are genius who does that in one hour:) good luck
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 02:03:38 PM
 #34

i have in this rig mobos ud3,ud5,ud7 You cant put 4 cards into ud3, and ud5 without extenders , only ud7 is capable of doing it and its alone 250 usd, , 2 x psu will work only in open system which You want to force as best idea , to put it in the case You need 1x1500 w which is around 350-400 usd alone.

about time, ok You do it as You say in one hour + 2 months for MAYBE buying from 12 sellers 16 cards and prey all of them are good( You wont win all auctions , do You ?) , i did my rig in one week , now count how many bitcoins You will have in that time ?

i see we cant convince each other, anyone who has any 5ghash+ rig knows how much time they spend for buying , mounting , setting up etc ... You are genius who does that in one hour:) good luck

Good luck to you selling your system with no parts list, power draw, settings or anything other than a price and a hashing rate. I don't think anyone is going to drop that kind of money without knowing what they're buying, but common wisdom is that you have a potential customer born every minute; good luck finding one of them.
jarsumarsu
Donator
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 05:37:17 PM
 #35



Ok,
I offer 400 BTC shipped to Finland. You go first. I do not need to monitor and keyboard  Wink
Jaryu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 08:11:08 PM
 #36

i have in this rig mobos ud3,ud5,ud7 You cant put 4 cards into ud3, and ud5 without extenders , only ud7 is capable of doing it and its alone 250 usd, , 2 x psu will work only in open system which You want to force as best idea , to put it in the case You need 1x1500 w which is around 350-400 usd alone.

about time, ok You do it as You say in one hour + 2 months for MAYBE buying from 12 sellers 16 cards and prey all of them are good( You wont win all auctions , do You ?) , i did my rig in one week , now count how many bitcoins You will have in that time ?

i see we cant convince each other, anyone who has any 5ghash+ rig knows how much time they spend for buying , mounting , setting up etc ... You are genius who does that in one hour:) good luck


sorry to bust your arrogant bubble but you don't know anything do you? I want to FORCE an open air system as the best idea? ...did you not look at the picture of the junk you're selling... mounting the stuff on a case that has no panels doesn't make your setup a closed system, your rig setup thing is an open system too smart guy. And who cares if the thing that holds the MB and Video cards is made of wood or paper so long as it works, is cheap and does its job. What you have doesn't offer any additional protection and actually chokes the system upgradeability by forcing a max of 2 cards per OPEN case without the potential to add more extenders or not unless you zip tie the cards to the sides... then again with those crappy power supplies you have you can't even do that.

You prove you are a fool every time you type something don't you, Death and Taxes has 24 of the 5970's on a super rack mount setup and if he says that a 1250 PSU will do the job and one costs $199 Plus 80 Gold on NE, your constant crap about needing a 1500 psu which costs 2 times the money is just your sad and very pathetic attempt to try to change the measure of what we are talking about.

Also if it takes you 2 months to get the video cards from ebay it just really means you are incompetent, a motivated buyer will work a monetary balance and for every card you under pay you have that difference to add to your bid price on any future card so even if you overpay on a few the average price would still be where you budgeted. And about praying that the cards are good, it would be the same for anyone that bought your setup since it's used and no one knows how well you treated the machines how hard you pushed the video cards etc and saying you treated them well doesn't mean squat since it's just wind.... so your lame excuse is null and void.

At today's difficulty your setup would make about 55.78 coins a week or 271.07 US bucks, so even if it took a month the time saved doesn't equal the price heavily over paid on your stuff. And that is not accounting for all the extra electricity you will be paying for every month to run the extra 9 computers you don't need to.

By the way you are right we can't convince each other, you can only have and intelligent argument with people who don't already think they are right no matter how many times they are proven wrong, since in their mind all other argument is wrong by default. And anyone with some experience can put a computer together in that time it just takes the desire, not a hubris filled whiner who can't say that he is wrong even when basically every post on this threat tells him that he is.


Good luck to you selling your system with no parts list, power draw, settings or anything other than a price and a hashing rate. I don't think anyone is going to drop that kind of money without knowing what they're buying, but common wisdom is that you have a potential customer born every minute; good luck finding one of them.

No one will buy his setup for what is being asked if they have 2 neurons rubbing on each other inside their heads, since even a fool thinks twice before being parted from his money :p
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
April 14, 2012, 12:18:44 AM
 #37

How many 5870s and 5850s do you have? Are you willing to part out?

I'm always looking for boards and VGAs
You may recover closer to the amount you want parting this setup out.

airnesst
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 06:13:30 AM
 #38

yes we have different results , 1250 psu cant go with 4x5970 due to my experience with systems 2x5970 and 600 and 800 psu which i also have now, and data posted by ati and bitcoin.it and other websites,but you are always right and me and websites are wrong, thats your way of thinking !!!, yes i do prefer 13 different cases where i can put them in any wanted configuration in any different rooms rather than big table or any other rack where i have to put 8 PSUs as you suggested, i dont have space for this and many people wont , in case of spending time , again You do it ten times faster than anybody but thats why we cant convince each other.

replying to post about what i have specifacally in that rig, i think there are 25x5850, 8x5870 (vapor-x,xfx), 5x6950( 3 unlocked 2 not), but that maybe different in one or two , couse i have in my other room another 15gig similar rig , i didint disclose all the stuff here, couse when somebody will be really interested and will have this amount of money will pm me and i will post all the stuff in details , until now i dont see the point to spend time for checking, btw. most of the stuff is still on european warranty
Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 07:54:08 AM
 #39

No way you're getting $10k for that setup. The people around here are much smarter than you and have a ton more experience, but...

$100 per 5850 ($2500) with escrow with someone trusted on this board.


Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 02:19:38 PM
 #40

yes we have different results , 1250 psu cant go with 4x5970 due to my experience with systems 2x5970 and 600 and 800 psu which i also have now, and data posted by ati and bitcoin.it and other websites,but you are always right and me and websites are wrong, thats your way of thinking !!!

You keep saying this, and it's simply not correct. Using an extender with the 12V PCI slot power routed to a molex, I measure 3.9A at 12.02V through the PCIe slot and 13.1A through the 6 and 8 pin connectors. That's at 750core/300mem/1V, for 660MH/s. A C2D rig with 650i chipset, two 5970s producing 1GH/s (one core not used) and a crappy OCZ 80+ (not even bronze) PSU pulls 440W from the wall.

You might pull 350W from a 5970 if you run it at 5870 speeds and voltages, and don't underclock the memory. You'd have to be pretty dense to do something like that though.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!