Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:36:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Solved] 3x 5970 rig keeps crashing when I start mining HALPZ!  (Read 1703 times)
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 03:36:42 AM
 #1

Ok, so I have three 5970s in one box now and each one mines and games flawlessly whenever there's 1 or 2 cards installed.  However when I go to add the 3rd card things start going south.  Apparently platform 0, device 0 doesn't play well with the other kids when all three cards are installed, regardless of what card I swap into that spot.  Funny thing is platform 0, device 0 works just fine when there's only one or two cards installed (it's on a PCIe 1x extension cable, but I dunno if that matters).

Has anybody ever encountered anything like this?  DaT? Gigavps?

Edit: I forgot to mention I'm using a Corsair AX1200.

Final Edit: Solved by regressing the driver back to 11.12


Mousepotato
1481107001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107001
Reply with quote  #2

1481107001
Report to moderator
1481107001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107001
Reply with quote  #2

1481107001
Report to moderator
1481107001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107001
Reply with quote  #2

1481107001
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107001
Reply with quote  #2

1481107001
Report to moderator
1481107001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107001
Reply with quote  #2

1481107001
Report to moderator
1481107001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107001
Reply with quote  #2

1481107001
Report to moderator
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 03:57:01 AM
 #2

Meh, I think I'm hitting some kind of mobo limit Sad

Mousepotato
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635



View Profile
April 12, 2012, 04:38:43 AM
 #3

Windows or Linux? I had MAJOR issues with Windows and going from 2 to 4 5970s. The drivers played hell and atimkag or w/e would BSOD every time I loaded up the GPUs. I had to reinstall Windows(I use Windows for testing, Linux for production) to get the rig to play nice.

Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 05:29:14 AM
 #4

Windows or Linux? I had MAJOR issues with Windows and going from 2 to 4 5970s. The drivers played hell and atimkag or w/e would BSOD every time I loaded up the GPUs. I had to reinstall Windows(I use Windows for testing, Linux for production) to get the rig to play nice.

Hmm that sounds like the problem I'm running into. Blue screens with atikmag or something.  I'm going to keep playing with it, thanks!

Mousepotato
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 05:43:40 AM
 #5

If you're running 32 bit Windows, it's likely that you're running out of address space...

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 06:11:40 AM
 #6

I'm running 64-bit.  Got a little distracted playing games with crossfired 5970s to experiment much with it right now though lol  I still suck at BF3 Tongue

Mousepotato
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 06:16:22 AM
 #7

Ah.  Scratch that, then.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 06:32:08 AM
 #8

Hmm I actually found something relevant with the Search feature (imagine that ^_^): https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=67809.0

Apparently any drivers after 11.12 crash with more than 4 CPUs? I'm going to give it a shot!

Mousepotato
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 01:56:32 PM
 #9

I concur with not going past 11.12 drivers for triple 5970 rigs.  Mine start to act funny anytime I try to upgrade drivers. 12.2, 12.3 are just garbage for them.

Stick with 11.12 and they will be rock solid.  This sucks for a gaming PC though, maybe set up a dedicated rig for the 3 5970s and game on a 7990?  Grin Grin Grin

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2012, 03:59:52 PM
 #10

ah I'm so glad I read this.  I have two 5970s that are acting a fool, I checked, it had the latest 12.x driver.. definitely rollin' that back when I get home Smiley

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!