Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:21:34 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 1500W/125A @12V - 'Power Rail' Project ?  (Read 3220 times)
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 09:53:09 PM
 #1

I am considering moving to something like this (to power all 6pin & 8pin 12V Aux Card Connections) for all my miners:



http://www.ebay.ca/itm/1500W-12V-125A-Switching-Power-Supply-Radio-Charger-LED-U2S-/120893755671?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c25d45117

I figure that since I have enough dead power supplies kicking around that I can simply cut 6 & 8 pin 12V Video Card power cables from, this might be a decent way to get multiple cards powered with ease.

It would look something like this:



Would anyone advise AGAINST doing something like this ? ...using a 12V exclusive monster power supply for video card Aux power duty ?

thanks in advance,
bitlane.



Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481430094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430094
Reply with quote  #2

1481430094
Report to moderator
1481430094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430094
Reply with quote  #2

1481430094
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 10:25:17 PM
 #2

That is a 13.8v PSU. And who knows what the efficiency would be.
EDIT: Also, if your dead PSUs have 18AWG or better connectors, I might buy them from you. (The connectors, not the PSUs)

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 10:33:46 PM
 #3

I bought one of these
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/320760140135?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

It will do a little over 100A@12.2V, and doesn't require any load resistors on the standby 5V rail like some standard PSUs do. $20 at Digikey provided 10 6pin Minifit Jr connectors and 10 2pin Minifit Jr connectors along with 100 crimp terminals. So, total cost including shipping was $54 for 100A of 12V with 10 6+2pin PCIe connectors. That seems like a more cost effective way. If you already have PCIe cables, just the PSU was $34 shipped.
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645



View Profile
April 12, 2012, 10:44:50 PM
 #4

I have thought about this. 5830s draw so little power that the 1200w PSUs that I use to get enough PCIe connectors sit at only 50-60% load. Going to watch this to see the discussion. It would make my "standard" build much easier and just have a 12vdc bus to power the GPUs.

bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 01:18:48 AM
 #5

I bought one of these
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/320760140135?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

It will do a little over 100A@12.2V, and doesn't require any load resistors on the standby 5V rail like some standard PSUs do. $20 at Digikey provided 10 6pin Minifit Jr connectors and 10 2pin Minifit Jr connectors along with 100 crimp terminals. So, total cost including shipping was $54 for 100A of 12V with 10 6+2pin PCIe connectors. That seems like a more cost effective way. If you already have PCIe cables, just the PSU was $34 shipped.

That's insane ! Nice Score on the price.

I wish I had easily accessible 240V to take advantage of odd-ball PSUs such as that.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 01:35:48 AM
 #6

I am considering moving to something like this (to power all 6pin & 8pin 12V Aux Card Connections) for all my miners:



http://www.ebay.ca/itm/1500W-12V-125A-Switching-Power-Supply-Radio-Charger-LED-U2S-/120893755671?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c25d45117

I figure that since I have enough dead power supplies kicking around that I can simply cut 6 & 8 pin 12V Video Card power cables from, this might be a decent way to get multiple cards powered with ease.

It would look something like this:



Would anyone advise AGAINST doing something like this ? ...using a 12V exclusive monster power supply for video card Aux power duty ?

thanks in advance,
bitlane.




Why not just use enterprise PSU modules for redundant PSUs? They typically output only 12v and large amounts of it. You can get upwards of 4000w in a redundant PSU across four modules.

bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 02:01:45 AM
 #7

Why not just use enterprise PSU modules for redundant PSUs? They typically output only 12v and large amounts of it. You can get upwards of 4000w in a redundant PSU across four modules.

The nice thing about the above unit in the OP is ease of use. Standard PC/Power Cable 3-prong input and 12V Terminal +/- Output.

I would rather not have to solder/crimp and/or hunt down schematics to locate the proper output leads etc (not to mention, 'SPEC' Hunting, as most will be sold as model# replacements....not listing ratings as part of the sale's pitch....lol) on redundant replacement modules/cartridges without a backplane, although it would probably be a ton cheaper and only require a bit of legwork to get the job done. It's definitely something to consider....
thanks for the tip. I will check out prices.

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 02:16:20 AM
 #8

Why not just use enterprise PSU modules for redundant PSUs? They typically output only 12v and large amounts of it. You can get upwards of 4000w in a redundant PSU across four modules.

The nice thing about the above unit in the OP is ease of use. Standard PC/Power Cable 3-prong input and 12V Terminal +/- Output.

I would rather not have to solder/crimp and/or hunt down schematics to locate the proper output leads etc (not to mention, 'SPEC' Hunting, as most will be sold as model# replacements....not listing ratings as part of the sale's pitch....lol) on redundant replacement modules/cartridges without a backplane, although it would probably be a ton cheaper and only require a bit of legwork to get the job done. It's definitely something to consider....
thanks for the tip. I will check out prices.
There is a 95-page MEGA thread on server PSUs over at rcgroups: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1005309
Something for everyone in that thread! Grin

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!