Bitcoin Forum
January 21, 2017, 11:46:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire Nitro Rx480 8GB can't mine ETH  (Read 586 times)
Rami84
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166


View Profile
January 15, 2017, 02:26:18 PM
 #1

Hello everyone,
I have a problem with one of my Sapphire Nitro Rx480 8GB driver always crash and rig restart when I start to mine ETH but I can mine XMR & Zcash fine (I have to change intensity for zcash to work)
I have:
2x more Sapphire Nitro Rx480 8GB that are working fine on another rig (I tried this card on the same rig and still the same issue)
1x Gigabyte Rx480
1x MSI 7950
All are working fine but this one

OS: Win 7
GPU:Sapphire Nitro Rx480 8GB (stock not overclocked or modded)
driver: 16.11.4 & 16.12.2 + MSI afterburner
Mobo: Asrock z87 extreme4+pentuime 3220CPU+2x2GB Ram  &  MSI 870s+ Amd FX4100 CPU+4GB Ram
PSU: Corsair cx750m 80 PLUS BRONZE
Miner v.: Claymore 7.4 & genoil 0.6

Do I have to replace it?

Seedbox 100GB for 4$/month https://goo.gl/ML3uRA --- Cheap VOIP service https://goo.gl/uC3yFa
Amazon Prime link for the $10 credit for edu emails: http://a.co/1nqnUFj --- Free virtual American address for shopping from US https://goo.gl/Fp9jLI
1485042382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485042382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485042382
Reply with quote  #2

1485042382
Report to moderator
1485042382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485042382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485042382
Reply with quote  #2

1485042382
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1485042382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485042382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485042382
Reply with quote  #2

1485042382
Report to moderator
xuanmichael
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
January 15, 2017, 03:24:36 PM
 #2

you just installed 16.12.2 , do not MSI afterburner . Or you try up win10 
Rami84
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166


View Profile
January 15, 2017, 03:35:26 PM
 #3

you just installed 16.12.2 , do not MSI afterburner . Or you try up win10 

I tried with and without MSI Afterburner
I'll try Win 10

Seedbox 100GB for 4$/month https://goo.gl/ML3uRA --- Cheap VOIP service https://goo.gl/uC3yFa
Amazon Prime link for the $10 credit for edu emails: http://a.co/1nqnUFj --- Free virtual American address for shopping from US https://goo.gl/Fp9jLI
Ambros
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
January 15, 2017, 05:30:05 PM
 #4

Do u have the same issue if you mine different algorithms?

I would suggest to change your OS to w10, it deals better with newer drivers
xxcsu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2017, 06:40:23 PM
 #5

Connect only that card you have problem with to the mobo , reset all overclocking settings to default .
reset all settings in wattman , radeon Settings - gaming - global settings - global wattman - reset - yes Smiley
if you are using afterburner to tune all of your cards at once, that tune settings might not working for all your cards.
Sometimes working fine with XMR , ZCASH but not mining ETH . All tree algo need a different tune setting to get out the max from your cards .

Golku
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
January 15, 2017, 06:53:28 PM
 #6

Did you try the other bios? The nitro has 2 bios first of all try the other bios
if that didn't work you can try to mod your bios maybe that will help.

Rami84
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166


View Profile
January 15, 2017, 07:22:41 PM
 #7

Do u have the same issue if you mine different algorithms?

I would suggest to change your OS to w10, it deals better with newer drivers

I'll try Win 10 tomorrow

Connect only that card you have problem with to the mobo , reset all overclocking settings to default .
reset all settings in wattman , radeon Settings - gaming - global settings - global wattman - reset - yes Smiley
if you are using afterburner to tune all of your cards at once, that tune settings might not working for all your cards.
Sometimes working fine with XMR , ZCASH but not mining ETH . All tree algo need a different tune setting to get out the max from your cards .

Sure I did all of this many times and all my other cards are working fine

Did you try the other bios? The nitro has 2 bios first of all try the other bios
if that didn't work you can try to mod your bios maybe that will help.

I didn't change bios but I was thinking about it

Seedbox 100GB for 4$/month https://goo.gl/ML3uRA --- Cheap VOIP service https://goo.gl/uC3yFa
Amazon Prime link for the $10 credit for edu emails: http://a.co/1nqnUFj --- Free virtual American address for shopping from US https://goo.gl/Fp9jLI
Ambros
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
January 16, 2017, 07:45:46 AM
 #8

I didn't change bios but I was thinking about it

These days mod the bios in extremely easy, but you should wait until everything works fine.

Use HWinfo to monitor memory errors, maybe it will say something about your GPU.
Rami84
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 12:59:04 AM
 #9

Tried Win 10 today and it was much worse zcash stop working as well driver keep stopping and windows crash all the time
I think I'll try Bios now any suggestions? or do I have to replace this one?

Seedbox 100GB for 4$/month https://goo.gl/ML3uRA --- Cheap VOIP service https://goo.gl/uC3yFa
Amazon Prime link for the $10 credit for edu emails: http://a.co/1nqnUFj --- Free virtual American address for shopping from US https://goo.gl/Fp9jLI
Golku
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 09:09:54 PM
 #10

It can be also a faulty card just try to benchmark with furmark

Or just underclock a bit and put some more volt on the card

Ambros
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 09:33:50 PM
 #11

Tried Win 10 today and it was much worse zcash stop working as well driver keep stopping and windows crash all the time
I think I'll try Bios now any suggestions? or do I have to replace this one?

Have you checked memory errors?
I've never seen a driver crash with stock timings and stock clocks.

Maybe try to refresh an original bios and if this doesn't work send it back..
Rami84
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166


View Profile
January 18, 2017, 09:09:17 AM
 #12

It can be also a faulty card just try to benchmark with furmark

Or just underclock a bit and put some more volt on the card

I'll try furmark
I played with clock a lot nothing change

Tried Win 10 today and it was much worse zcash stop working as well driver keep stopping and windows crash all the time
I think I'll try Bios now any suggestions? or do I have to replace this one?

Have you checked memory errors?
I've never seen a driver crash with stock timings and stock clocks.

Maybe try to refresh an original bios and if this doesn't work send it back..

Yes I checked memory no errors at all
I tried a bois from another Sapphire rx 480 I have but but it's a little bit better

Seedbox 100GB for 4$/month https://goo.gl/ML3uRA --- Cheap VOIP service https://goo.gl/uC3yFa
Amazon Prime link for the $10 credit for edu emails: http://a.co/1nqnUFj --- Free virtual American address for shopping from US https://goo.gl/Fp9jLI
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!