Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:43:11 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Building the One ATI 5830 Mining Rig  (Read 2172 times)
jsttn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
April 20, 2012, 09:43:28 PM
 #1

Hello,

I am interested in buying the configuration specified here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig with the 1 ATI 5830.

I don't know a lot about hardware design or computer assembling. I'm afraid that if I order the parts I'll have no idea to how to assemble them to get the mining rig running. Is there a tutorial or an article I could read on how to assemble computers or specifically the mining rig listed?

Thanks!

1480898591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898591
Reply with quote  #2

1480898591
Report to moderator
1480898591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898591
Reply with quote  #2

1480898591
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480898591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898591
Reply with quote  #2

1480898591
Report to moderator
1480898591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898591
Reply with quote  #2

1480898591
Report to moderator
1l1l11ll1l
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 711


TheMerchantShop.com


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2012, 10:50:23 PM
 #2

You'll want to make sure to grab an i7 with at least 32GB of ram

High Volume and/or High Risk Credit Card Processing. TheMerchantShop.com
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635



View Profile
April 20, 2012, 11:00:46 PM
 #3

Search around for computer assembly guides. Computers these days are pretty simple to assemble. You'll likely waste more time dealing with software issues.

Also, you might want to follow those guides loosely. It would suck to assemble a 1 gpu rig and then realize you want a rig with more gpus in it.

You'll want to make sure to grab an i7 with at least 32GB of ram

You didn't even ask the guy what his plans are for the rig. You trolling?

Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
April 20, 2012, 11:10:38 PM
 #4

You'll want to make sure to grab an i7 with at least 32GB of ram
I lold

jsttn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
April 20, 2012, 11:20:52 PM
 #5

Haha I know enough to not take that seriously. Yeah I'll do some research on basic computer assembly. Maybe follow a tutorial. 
nandika
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2012, 11:24:34 PM
 #6

well for me gigabyte motherboards were the best & easiest to use (no need to short the pins on the PCI-e slots, etc..)
You should search for a motherboard with at least 4 pci-e slots, no matter what size/speed, x1 will do, most motherboards I have come with 2 x16 and 2 x1 slots.
For power supply I'd go a little bit higher than calculated, so if you want to buy a new card, you can easily put it into action without getting a new psu.

cpu / ram doesn't matter, I have LGA 775's and best is amd x6 6core, but most ppl here use semprons, like the sempron 145 (that's also the cpu i use in most of my boards)
for ram add like 2gb.

for HDD i use 8gb ssd's or 40gb sata hdd's, whichever i have in stock at the moment im building the machine.

these are my recommendations, let me know how it works out for you...

Order your BitCoin funded VISA Plastic Debit Card at http://visacrypt.com
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
April 21, 2012, 12:35:35 AM
 #7

You'll want to make sure to grab an i7 with at least 32GB of ram

And make sure the RAM is ECC; that's essential.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 21, 2012, 12:36:46 AM
 #8

You'll want to make sure to grab an i7 with at least 32GB of ram

And make sure the RAM is ECC; that's essential.
Not only that, but you need a linear power supply for stability, and dual hex cores for speed.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
mufa23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


I'd fight Gandhi.


View Profile
April 21, 2012, 12:46:45 AM
 #9

You'll want to make sure to grab an i7 with at least 32GB of ram
This.

OP, if you don't know much. You could always just buy a Mac, because they never break and are virus free. They always have NVidia integrated cards, which are super cool and mine very well. If you don't want to build a PC, you could buy a Mac. They are going on sale this Summer for just two easy payments of an arm and a leg.

Positive rep with: pekv2, AzN1337c0d3r, Vince Torres, underworld07, Chimsley, omegaaf, Bogart, Gleason, SuperTramp, John K. and guitarplinker
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
April 21, 2012, 01:50:15 AM
 #10

You'll want to make sure to grab an i7 with at least 32GB of ram
This.

OP, if you don't know much. You could always just buy a Mac, because they never break and are virus free. They always have NVidia integrated cards, which are super cool and mine very well. If you don't want to build a PC, you could buy a Mac. They are going on sale this Summer for just two easy payments of an arm and a leg.

Even better, buy a Mac Mini and CPU mine. High MH/s, low power draw, fully standardized connectors.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
1l1l11ll1l
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 711


TheMerchantShop.com


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2012, 01:57:42 AM
 #11

Hello,

I am interested in buying the configuration specified here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig with the 1 ATI 5830.

I don't know a lot about hardware design or computer assembling. I'm afraid that if I order the parts I'll have no idea to how to assemble them to get the mining rig running. Is there a tutorial or an article I could read on how to assemble computers or specifically the mining rig listed?

Thanks!




lol, in all seriousness, if you want a dedicated rig, buy a used P4 with a decent PSU and you'll be fine. I run HP DC7600's (Dc7100's also work great) They have a PSU that'll power an OC'd 5870, so for a single 5830 you'd be golden.

High Volume and/or High Risk Credit Card Processing. TheMerchantShop.com
fuuka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26



View Profile
April 21, 2012, 05:53:25 AM
 #12

You'll want to make sure to grab an i7 with at least 32GB of ram

And make sure the RAM is ECC; that's essential.
Not only that, but you need a linear power supply for stability, and dual hex cores for speed.

I have a mining rig that has two hex-core Opterons w/ 12GB of ECC RAM and RAID Grin

4x PCIe slots, unfortunately I can only really use two of them... but mining on it is sort of its secondary purpose.

It's interesting though, in removing a CPU (and its RAM) it shaves only about 35W off of the idle power.

I need to post pics sometime, I have it in a 1U case with the GPUs sitting next to it on 50mm risers.  It's quite ridiculous  Grin
twoBitBasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
April 21, 2012, 02:26:18 PM
 #13

There are good tutorials in youtube on how to assemble a computer. I think there is at least one that is built for just mining purposes.

Oh and the first investment should be a good 1kw PSU. I'll guarantee you are going to expand at some point. 5830 on it's own is not very much oomph.

If you think my comments have benefitted you it would be nice to hear thanks Smiley

Doge: DMnfgNp1HQSjtTZ1HcWiYtMwoGP5xcYDcz
jsttn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
April 21, 2012, 02:41:36 PM
 #14

There are good tutorials in youtube on how to assemble a computer. I think there is at least one that is built for just mining purposes.

Oh and the first investment should be a good 1kw PSU. I'll guarantee you are going to expand at some point. 5830 on it's own is not very much oomph.

Yeah I watched the NewEgg video yesterday. IF you have a link to the mining one that would be awesome. Thanks!
twoBitBasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
April 21, 2012, 11:49:30 PM
 #15

http://youtu.be/nfwbeastYRo

You can basically omit the case, and build an open case rig with what ever you find. Wood is easy. Aluminum square tubing is light and also easy to work with. Open case doesn't trap heat and you save money.

If you think my comments have benefitted you it would be nice to hear thanks Smiley

Doge: DMnfgNp1HQSjtTZ1HcWiYtMwoGP5xcYDcz
ARapalo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 24, 2012, 05:02:34 AM
 #16

lol @ all the sarcasm. But seriously, some newb might actually take it seriously if they're still trying to learn about the hardware-building.

OP, you should build a rig with that will be able to support future cards to be added on later. Building a complete rig to support exactly one GPU, especially a 5830 is extremely wasteful in terms of initial costs.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!