Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:13:18 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5870 Users! Clock Speed, Memory, Voltage, SDK and CCC Version, Flags, etc.  (Read 21117 times)
mlouca
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 08:18:55 PM
 #61

guys i need a mother board for 3 5870s and a psu that supports it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481249598
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249598

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249598
Reply with quote  #2

1481249598
Report to moderator
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 08:27:24 PM
 #62

ATI HD5870
Catalyst 11.5
SDK 2.4
975MHz core / 333MHz memory
1.250v

Why do you have the voltage at 1.250v? Is your 5870 unstable with less voltage at 975MHz?
I have no control over my voltage.  That's what the AMD GPU Tool sets it at automatically any time I specify any kind of OC value to the core.  I thought it was kinda weird, but it works.

Mousepotato
PC Surgeon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 03:38:37 PM
 #63

WinXP-32
guiminer/poclbm -v -w128 -f 1
SDK 2.1, Catalyst 10.11
Sapphire 5870
73-75 C, 40% fan speed
stock voltage

Core: 900
Mem: 314
Rate: 392 MH/s

I will eventually attempt to overclock it some more, but want to verify stability at this level.

Things that I found are bad:

1. Having Catalyst Control Center installed. If I got a crash, the next time I rebooted, CCC would attempt to set ridiculously low clock speeds, which would immediately crash the computer again. Gone.
2. Attempting to underclock the memory while the miner is running. This caused crashing when I dropped the memory below 500. Now I am down to 300-314 without issue.


Things that are good:

1. Installing SDK 2.1 in place of 2.4 boosted hashrate by up to 10 MH/s.
2. Slightly increasing the fan speed using a custom profile in Afterburner helped reduce the temperature to a more comfortable setting.  Shocked  Wink
2. Dropping memory clock to about 1/3 of core clock: lowered temperature by another 7-10 C.
3. Increasing memory clock by 14 after setting it to 1/3 of core clock: increased hashrate by 1-2 MH/s.

Things that made no difference:

1. Installing Catalyst 10.11 in place of the latest version. (I verified that the driver version was correct in device manager).

I had been searching for this solutions for days. You are awesome! My GPU thanks you with its cooler temps!
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2011, 05:32:05 PM
 #64

Bitclockers.com Mining pool has a very helpful forum with guides on configuring 4, 5 and 6 series graphics cards.
http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=6.0
there is also an overclocking guide to help you get started
http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=5.0

bitcoin0918
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 06:47:10 PM
 #65


I had been searching for this solutions for days. You are awesome! My GPU thanks you with its cooler temps!
No problem! Feel free to donate to my cause if I've been helpful. Let's say, 1 BTC per degree Celsius improvement.  Grin

"So you think that money is the root of all evil?" said Francisco d'Aconia. "Have you ever asked what is the root of money?" [contd.]
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 03:39:38 AM
 #66

how did you guys get SDK2.1 to work? the latest ATI driver that that compatible with SDK2.1 is 10.4. and when i installed 10.4 with 2.1, i get the error msg "no openCL found" when using GUIminer  Huh

rograz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 575


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 04:29:40 AM
 #67

how did you guys get SDK2.1 to work? the latest ATI driver that that compatible with SDK2.1 is 10.4. and when i installed 10.4 with 2.1, i get the error msg "no openCL found" when using GUIminer  Huh

solved it by first installing SDK 2.4 > uninstall SDK 2.4 > install SDK 2.1 :p
hollajandro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 02:57:28 AM
 #68

XFX
1020 Core
350 Mem
Stock Voltage
63 C
450Mhash

11.6 Drivers
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!