Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:21:40 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How low should I clock my memory? (7970 detailed performance inside)  (Read 6179 times)
FreshJR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65



View Profile
April 27, 2012, 07:25:40 AM
 #1

I have manged to get it down to 50mhz while still being stable.  Originally the memory was clocked at 1475.  Actually under 40mhz is where it starts artifacting.

I get some pretty bad diminishing returns below 100mhz.  For these cards I'm thinking 250 is the optimal.

500mhz - 678mhash (17.4 Amps)
250mhz - 675mhash (17.3 Amps)
150mhz - 664mhash (17.2 Amps)
100mhz - 660mhash (17.0 Amps)
50mhz   - 635mhash (16.3 Amps)

All above are numbers at 1150mhz core, 1.15 volts

Here is some other statistical information.


950 core - 50 mem - .968v (8.5 amps) - 520 mhash
950 core - 150 mem - .968v (9 amps) - 544 mhash

1000 core - 150 mem - 1v ( 10 amps) - 575 mhash

1200 core - 500 mem - 1.178v (18.6 amps) - 700 mhash

Temps 70C at 1.15V (55% fan)
Temps 60C at 1 V (39% fan)

The voltage for 1.2ghz really isn't worth it.
1481430100
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430100

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430100
Reply with quote  #2

1481430100
Report to moderator
1481430100
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430100

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430100
Reply with quote  #2

1481430100
Report to moderator
1481430100
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430100

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430100
Reply with quote  #2

1481430100
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
gr0bi42
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2012, 10:37:49 AM
 #2

I have manged to get it down to 50mhz while still being stable.  Originally the memory was clocked at 1475.  Actually under 40mhz is where it starts artifacting.

I get some pretty bad diminishing returns below 100mhz.  For these cards I'm thinking 250 is the optimal.

500mhz - 678mhash (17.4 Amps)
250mhz - 675mhash (17.3 Amps)
150mhz - 664mhash (17.2 Amps)
100mhz - 660mhash (17.0 Amps)
50mhz   - 635mhash (16.3 Amps)

All above are numbers at 1150mhz core, 1.15 volts

Here is some other statistical information.


950 core - 50 mem - .968v (8.5 amps) - 520 mhash
950 core - 150 mem - .968v (9 amps) - 544 mhash

1000 core - 150 mem - 1v ( 10 amps) - 575 mhash

1200 core - 500 mem - 1.178v (18.6 amps) - 700 mhash

Temps 70C at 1.15V (55% fan)
Temps 60C at 1 V (39% fan)

The voltage for 1.2ghz really isn't worth it.


How do you managed to go below 710 Mhz? I'm using MSI Afterburner and the lowest posible memclk is 710 Mhz.

Donations are welcome: 1Btf3BqUegfe5iFdWsgfBf1Ew3YsAvsrLT
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
April 27, 2012, 01:26:00 PM
 #3

wow, i get solid 700Mhash/card with
cgminer.exe -o http://eu.ozco.in:8332 -u graet.20 -p p -o http://us.ozco.in:8332 -u graet.20 -p p -I 9 -k poclbm --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1050-1185 --auto-gpu --gpu-vddc 0.88 --temp-target 75,95 --temp-overheat 95,115
temp stuff for 2nd card is high as it runs hot and cgminer throttles it Smiley
and save ~30W/card over default voltages

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
Buckwheet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
April 27, 2012, 01:33:26 PM
 #4

wow, i get solid 700Mhash/card with
cgminer.exe -o http://eu.ozco.in:8332 -u graet.20 -p p -o http://us.ozco.in:8332 -u graet.20 -p p -I 9 -k poclbm --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1050-1185 --auto-gpu --gpu-vddc 0.88 --temp-target 75,95 --temp-overheat 95,115
temp stuff for 2nd card is high as it runs hot and cgminer throttles it Smiley
and save ~30W/card over default voltages

Windows? Driver version? Card version?
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
April 27, 2012, 01:35:55 PM
 #5

win7 12.2 pre-release (ckolivas of cgminer reccomends it as best 7xxx driver)
http://www.gigabyte.com.au/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4102#ov

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
Buckwheet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
April 27, 2012, 01:42:55 PM
 #6

win7 12.2 pre-release (ckolivas of cgminer reccomends it as best 7xxx driver)
http://www.gigabyte.com.au/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4102#ov

Can you confirm is this is the driver file?

http://www.techspot.com/drivers/driver/file/information/15844/
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile
April 27, 2012, 01:45:49 PM
 #7

wow, i get solid 700Mhash/card with
cgminer.exe -o http://eu.ozco.in:8332 -u graet.20 -p p -o http://us.ozco.in:8332 -u graet.20 -p p -I 9 -k poclbm --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1050-1185 --auto-gpu --gpu-vddc 0.88 --temp-target 75,95 --temp-overheat 95,115
temp stuff for 2nd card is high as it runs hot and cgminer throttles it Smiley
and save ~30W/card over default voltages

Use GPU-Z to see the voltage/memory reading (sensor page).  --gpu-vddc does not work on 7970 as far as I know.  Maybe you have discovered some combination of bios/driver/os versions that would make ADL calls succeed and actually adjust the voltages on the card.  For me the workaround was to set the voltage with AB before running cgminer (and ignore 1.17V reported by cgminer).  Kilowatt at the wall does not lie.

At 700 Mh/s you are probably running memory/voltage at stock and consuming around 250W+ per card.

FreshJR, how do you downclock memory below 685 MHz, when I use AB 2.2, it can downclock to below 685 but cgminer runs at 685.
Can you really run cgminer with 50 Mhz memory?  Show me the way.

BTW, I'm running 3x7970 with 1025/685, 0.993V and the whole system consumes 640W at the wall.
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
April 27, 2012, 01:55:08 PM
 #8

um no
I did voltages at the wall 652W for 2 card rig at wall with full ram and voltages and lower clock speeds.592W at 0.88 with the command line i pasted before
at stock voltage and those settings I pasted before the cards just crash.
0.88 is working even though cgminer is not reporting it.

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
FreshJR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65



View Profile
April 27, 2012, 05:11:31 PM
 #9

you run 1050-1185 core at 880mv?Huh  Can you confirm your settings with GPU-z screenshot?

HOLY SHIT you got a good card.  

I guess mines low ASIC quality (66%), so I need the volts.

Here's mine



I am using 2.2.0 msi afterburner BETA 15.  You have to go into config to set Unofficial Overclocking to 2.

Without it, the program limits the max difference between memory and core speeds for stability.

So set it to 2.

Open MSI after burner set it to 710.  
Close it
Open MSI after burner set to 410.
Close it
Open MSI after burner set it to 200.
Repeat, etc
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
April 27, 2012, 07:07:38 PM
 #10

Can you try using Trixx 4.3.0? In the latest build (about a week old) it said it supposrted all sorts of 7xxx cards, and it now supports undervolt on every card i've tried too.

FreshJR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65



View Profile
April 27, 2012, 08:03:15 PM
 #11

I think Trixx was a no go.  I think this is because I could not figure out where to set it to allow unofficial overclocking modes.

 I also couldn't even find a way to adjust voltage.  Just a +- percent power slider.

Trixx sucks
ZPK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
April 27, 2012, 09:02:45 PM
 #12

MSI AB release stable 2.2.0 you can try use him.

Novacoin POS mining only now
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
April 28, 2012, 01:15:14 AM
 #13

I think Trixx was a no go.  I think this is because I could not figure out where to set it to allow unofficial overclocking modes.

 I also couldn't even find a way to adjust voltage.  Just a +- percent power slider.

Trixx sucks

Are you sure you used 4.3.0? I can go to 2GHz+ or lower than 100MHz on my 5870 on core, and the same for memory. My volts can also go from 450mv to 1300mv. If you are maxing/minning a specific gpu/memory clock, just hit apply and the slider should make room to go even lower/higher. There are no "hidden" settings or config or anything like that. You just set and go.

Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
April 28, 2012, 02:21:33 AM
 #14

you run 1050-1185 core at 880mv?Huh  Can you confirm your settings with GPU-z screenshot?

HOLY SHIT you got a good card.  

I guess mines low ASIC quality (66%), so I need the volts.


well actually if you look at what I posted before I got one good card and one hot one,but after much time/tweaking (and with help from ckolivas - cgminers author and advice from Sunbreak -a 30Ghash+ miner - both mine on the pool I run) I get 702Mhash per card stable.
no, I wont do gpuz, as soon as I start it cgminer crashes or runs way slow (like drops 20Mhash/card) so its result means nothing.Cards crash with the cmd line I pasted before if --gpu-vddc is set >0.92
Power draw at the wall does it for me Cheesy

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
April 28, 2012, 03:12:21 AM
 #15

i thought I would past my results ..

using AB:  downvolt the cards to 999 (jumps to 1.0 when saving)

5 x 7970.  SS 1250

close AB  start cgminer with clocks:   1040/900

edit:  killawatt 1050 at wall.
Code:
cgminer version 2.2.6 - Started: [April 27, 2012, 10:53 pm]    Rig:miner19
(5s):3089.79  (avg): 3016.78 Mh/s  |    H: 87.8  Q:243   A:692   R:0   HW:0   E:?%   U:39.86/m
TQ:?   ST:0   SS:?   DW:21   NB:4   LW:1563   GF:1   RF:0
Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user ?
Value:
GPU 0: 73.0C 2056RPM 36% 109 | 618.1/604.3Mh/s | 99% | 1040Mhz 900Mhz 1.17V A:140 R:0 HW:0 U:8.06/m I: 9
GPU 1: 70.0C 959RPM 0% 70 | 618.2/604.5Mh/s | 99% | 1040Mhz 900Mhz 1.17V A:138 R:0 HW:0 U:7.95/m I: 9
GPU 2: 74.0C 2258RPM 57% 131 | 618.2/602.6Mh/s | 99% | 1040Mhz 900Mhz 1.17V A:138 R:0 HW:0 U:7.95/m I: 9
GPU 3: 67.0C 1054RPM 0% 67 | 617.1/600.7Mh/s | 99% | 1040Mhz 900Mhz 1.17V A:133 R:0 HW:0 U:7.66/m I: 9
GPU 4: 62.0C 1109RPM 0% 62 | 618.2/604.7Mh/s | 99% | 1040Mhz 900Mhz 1.17V A:143 R:0 HW:0 U:8.24/m I: 9


before downvolting: was pulling 1440 watts at 1125/1000 stock volt

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!