Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 12:57:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac OS, Bitcoin core and SSD! Need your HELP!  (Read 1152 times)
iCan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
September 17, 2014, 09:30:47 PM
 #1

Hi guys!
I have little problem, I have SSD 159 GB on my Mac and lots of apps on it so 27 GB Bitcoin Q and 28 GB Armory take lots of space for me. So I want to ask if it possible to move databases on my second HDD drive (I have 2 inside) I try to make alias and name it same as sours move databases on second drive and relink it but it doesn't worked! Maybe you know how do it correctly?! Help pls!         

1511139449
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511139449

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511139449
Reply with quote  #2

1511139449
Report to moderator
Bitcoin mining is now a specialized and very risky industry, just like gold mining. Amateur miners are unlikely to make much money, and may even lose money. Bitcoin is much more than just mining, though!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


View Profile
September 17, 2014, 11:36:02 PM
 #2

Hey,
Take a look at this page:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=429695.0

I haven't tried this, but it looks like what you are trying to do.  Just need a link (e.g. ln)

:-)
Dare
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


Techwolf on #bitcoin and Reddit


View Profile WWW
September 18, 2014, 03:31:17 AM
 #3

I'm not sure what you mean by "alias", but a symbolic link is probably what you need. Close Bitcoin-Qt and Armory, move the blockchain folders wherever you want them, then run:
Code:
ln -s <destdir> <sourcedir>
<destdir> is the directory you moved the files too, and <sourcedir> is the directory where they used to be and in which Bitcoin-Qt expects them (should be ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin).

To regain the most space, you should link Bitcoin-Qt's "blocks" and "chainstate" directories, as the remaining files are miniscule and some are sensitive (wallet.dat). I don't know the specifics for Armory, but it's most likely very similar.

BTC: 1M8oUcBnkRDEhWWgV8ZXLTB6p1mgnejVbX
How Forum Activity Works
Bitcointalk Forum Rules
|
|
|
Firstbits (lucky vanitygen): 1WoLfRUGDx1
How Forum Trust Works
Bitcoin Source Code
frankenmint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


HoneybadgerOfMoney.com Weed4bitcoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 18, 2014, 04:12:56 AM
 #4

I'm not sure what you mean by "alias", but a symbolic link is probably what you need. Close Bitcoin-Qt and Armory, move the blockchain folders wherever you want them, then run:
Code:
ln -s <destdir> <sourcedir>
<destdir> is the directory you moved the files too, and <sourcedir> is the directory where they used to be and in which Bitcoin-Qt expects them (should be ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin).

To regain the most space, you should link Bitcoin-Qt's "blocks" and "chainstate" directories, as the remaining files are miniscule and some are sensitive (wallet.dat). I don't know the specifics for Armory, but it's most likely very similar.

armory installs and uses bitcoinQT running headless, at least that's what I have observed when using it.  (a full bitcoin node is on my pc but I never intended to use it - I think armory adds layers of backup and usability to the core qt software, which is nice)

Dare
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


Techwolf on #bitcoin and Reddit


View Profile WWW
September 18, 2014, 06:55:27 AM
 #5

I'm not sure what you mean by "alias", but a symbolic link is probably what you need. Close Bitcoin-Qt and Armory, move the blockchain folders wherever you want them, then run:
Code:
ln -s <destdir> <sourcedir>
<destdir> is the directory you moved the files too, and <sourcedir> is the directory where they used to be and in which Bitcoin-Qt expects them (should be ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin).

To regain the most space, you should link Bitcoin-Qt's "blocks" and "chainstate" directories, as the remaining files are miniscule and some are sensitive (wallet.dat). I don't know the specifics for Armory, but it's most likely very similar.

armory installs and uses bitcoinQT running headless, at least that's what I have observed when using it.  (a full bitcoin node is on my pc but I never intended to use it - I think armory adds layers of backup and usability to the core qt software, which is nice)

That's what I thought, as it required Bitcoin-Qt when I tried it out, but I've heard rumors of updates since then. The original poster mentioned a second 28GB of storage for Armory, so I wasn't sure if they had separated; otherwise whatever was used to check the disk usage simply counted Bitcoin-Qt's usage within Armory's. At any rate, it sounds like moving and linking only the "blocks" and "chainstate" subdirectories of Bitcoin-Qt's datadir should be sufficient to clear up the space.

BTC: 1M8oUcBnkRDEhWWgV8ZXLTB6p1mgnejVbX
How Forum Activity Works
Bitcointalk Forum Rules
|
|
|
Firstbits (lucky vanitygen): 1WoLfRUGDx1
How Forum Trust Works
Bitcoin Source Code
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 07:25:06 AM
 #6


Armory still requires bitcoind to run. It however now builds its own database of the blockchain, that's why the amount of data doubles. This was done to deal with RAM issues.

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
iCan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
September 18, 2014, 07:34:43 AM
 #7

Thx guys! It works with Bitcoin core, and now trying to do it with Armory! Thx for your help!

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!