Bitcoin Forum
May 14, 2024, 08:52:46 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Really basic question on wallets / exchange  (Read 1568 times)
bctnewb (OP)

Activity: 3
Merit: 0

View Profile
September 15, 2014, 02:53:28 PM

Hi,

I'm completely new to this so apologies for the basicness of these questions. This is my understanding so far...

• So as far as I can tell the "wallet" sits on my PC with my bitcoins in and is secure.
  • I can accept money into and pay money out of my wallet directly to/from someone else.
  • If I want to 'buy' bitcoins with my local currency then I need to do this via an exchange.

Assuming that my understanding is correct how am I affected if an exchange goes bust or shuts down?  For example, I read about the MtGox thing where apparently a lot of bitcoins went missing or were stolen or whatever - but basically people got screwed out of their bitcoins.  So if an exchange is just a place to exchange bitcoins with other currencies how did people lose their money?  I would assume that once the transaction had gone through the bitcoins would be in the peoples wallets so they would be safe...?  Or were people somehow 'storing' bitcoins at the exchange? Or did the people that lost money just happened to be in the middle of the transaction when MtGox shutdown (so they took the cash, but didn't send the bitcoins)?

I just want to try and understand how they lost the bitcoins when that happened as, from my basic understanding, it doesn't seem to make any sense?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
byt411

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000

View Profile
September 15, 2014, 04:00:18 PM

Hi,

I'm completely new to this so apologies for the basicness of these questions. This is my understanding so far...