Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:43:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CG miner AND msi can nolonger drop my memclocks (low enough)  (Read 1627 times)
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 03, 2012, 04:58:56 PM
 #1

So for months i was running 1000core and 400mem, Getting a happy 320mh/s per 6870, I have two, And they are in a gaming rig.
After a clusterfuck of driver changing.
MSI 2.1 gave 0's when "readingout" my gpu stats,
So i upgraded to 2.2, And i got proper readings.
With the mimimum memclock being 575<-normal
So, As usual i enabled the unofficial overclocking... I dragged the slider to 400, Hit OK, It said "OK" but the mem clock Always goes to 575, Regardless of what i select.
So i went "great, MSI 2.2, And Cat 12.3= no 400mhz memclock"
I decided to use CGminer to control the clocks, But to no avail...
I got the standard "GPU something reports OK for clock change, Check clocks to make sure"
So i check the clocks, And 1000core, 575mem....

Im wondering why i cannot bring my 6870's memory clock down anymore... before the driver cluster fuck i was using msi 2.1, cat 12.3

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
1480898586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898586
Reply with quote  #2

1480898586
Report to moderator
1480898586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898586
Reply with quote  #2

1480898586
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480898586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898586
Reply with quote  #2

1480898586
Report to moderator
drakahn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
May 05, 2012, 06:22:34 AM
 #2

I've run into this, i just deleted them from device manager and let it reinstall the drivers on restart

i use sapphire trixx instead of msi afterburner, but i imagine its the same thing

14ga8dJ6NGpiwQkNTXg7KzwozasfaXNfEU
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 05, 2012, 02:57:17 PM
 #3

I've run into this, i just deleted them from device manager and let it reinstall the drivers on restart

i use sapphire trixx instead of msi afterburner, but i imagine its the same thing

Hmm, I tried what you said, No luck

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 07:23:47 PM
 #4

BUMP!

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 02:01:50 AM
 #5

Go to the Afterburner folder in Program Files...then into the Profiles folder. Delete everything.

billington.mark
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2012, 07:44:29 PM
 #6

I had a weird memclock\gpuclock issue a while ago and it ended up being high temps... worth checking.

BTC - 1MarkBCmVn3yp1SB9RZZ7VfqJzkpV8Hmdo
BitMessage - BM-GtZkeAbmKGs77FEoigm9TmsQBSfvMB3N
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
July 04, 2012, 05:58:47 AM
 #7

Go to the Afterburner folder in Program Files...then into the Profiles folder. Delete everything.
This just seems like it would cause me to have a clean install of msia
W/e, Shouldnt hurt
I had a weird memclock\gpuclock issue a while ago and it ended up being high temps... worth checking.
Naw, It's nothing like that, Ever since the new amd drivers and msia, I've lost the ability to go lower

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 06, 2012, 11:37:52 PM
 #8

Various catalyst versions introduce different buggy underclocking issues. I believe 12.3 was one of them. Roll back or forwards on catalyst.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
July 06, 2012, 11:42:30 PM
 #9

Various catalyst versions introduce different buggy underclocking issues. I believe 12.3 was one of them. Roll back or forwards on catalyst.

this. I had the same issue when I allowed windows 7 to auto download and install drivers when it finds new hardware. Even though cat 11.8 and sdk 2.4 were already installed, when I switched one of the cards, win7 downloaded a later version of the dirvers and I had the same issue as OP.

reverting back to the previous driver/sdk combo fixed it.

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
July 07, 2012, 03:25:29 AM
 #10

Various catalyst versions introduce different buggy underclocking issues. I believe 12.3 was one of them. Roll back or forwards on catalyst.
FACT!
And Gosh it annoys me, I really liked having low memclocks on my gaming rig when i wanted to mine with it.

Various catalyst versions introduce different buggy underclocking issues. I believe 12.3 was one of them. Roll back or forwards on catalyst.

this. I had the same issue when I allowed windows 7 to auto download and install drivers when it finds new hardware. Even though cat 11.8 and sdk 2.4 were already installed, when I switched one of the cards, win7 downloaded a later version of the dirvers and I had the same issue as OP.

reverting back to the previous driver/sdk combo fixed it.

Naw, I would never have windows on auto update.

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
July 07, 2012, 03:29:44 AM
 #11

So for months i was running 1000core and 400mem, Getting a happy 320mh/s per 6870, I have two, And they are in a gaming rig.
After a clusterfuck of driver changing.
MSI 2.1 gave 0's when "readingout" my gpu stats,
So i upgraded to 2.2, And i got proper readings.
With the mimimum memclock being 575<-normal
So, As usual i enabled the unofficial overclocking... I dragged the slider to 400, Hit OK, It said "OK" but the mem clock Always goes to 575, Regardless of what i select.
So i went "great, MSI 2.2, And Cat 12.3= no 400mhz memclock"
I decided to use CGminer to control the clocks, But to no avail...
I got the standard "GPU something reports OK for clock change, Check clocks to make sure"
So i check the clocks, And 1000core, 575mem....

Im wondering why i cannot bring my 6870's memory clock down anymore... before the driver cluster fuck i was using msi 2.1, cat 12.3
I Have figured out the error!
Turns out one of the cores on the 6990 was defective, And was crashing and Halting, But not inturrupting much of anything other than readouts and anything that attempted to use the "crashed" core would cause a bsod, (I had not installed anyform of auto restart)

Why was CGminer failing on my desktop?
Well that one was high OC+heat related and is totally solved with a can of air now. For whatever reason CGminer's interface likes to lockup when instead it should flag a HW error.

Why the hell was GUIminer working on the "crashing" 6990 and CGminer was not?
I cant really answer that since i dont know... But perhaps gui miners poclbm has someform of crash reduction, Or like a "less harsh" mining style, Or a auto restart, Etc.

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!