Bitcoin Forum
May 10, 2024, 06:44:23 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Complete newbeee question - buying BTC with Paypal  (Read 1592 times)
es.blofeld (OP)

Activity: 15
Merit: 0

View Profile
May 11, 2011, 05:25:27 PM

Hello

I might be a little thick but I have just spent 2 hours trying to find a way to buy bitcoins with my PayPal account. I gone to various sites but I have yet to find a good place (i.e. a working internet site... most were non functional, or do not accept Paypal) that would allow me to do this.

Any pointer most welcome

Regards

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
According to NIST and ECRYPT II, the cryptographic algorithms used in Bitcoin are expected to be strong until at least 2030. (After that, it will not be too difficult to transition to different algorithms.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Garrett Burgwardt

Activity: 406
Merit: 256

View Profile
May 11, 2011, 05:31:52 PM

The problem with paypal is that paypal will initiate a chargeback, and since bitcoins are irreversible, the thief ends up with both paypal USD and bitcoins.

You can try http://cgi.ebay.com/25-Bitcoin-Certificate-NR-/280675399419?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item41598eb6fb

es.blofeld (OP)

Activity: 15

View Profile
May 11, 2011, 10:28:53 PM

The problem with paypal is that paypal will initiate a chargeback, and since bitcoins are irreversible, the thief ends up with both paypal USD and bitcoins.

Interresting - thanks for the clarification and link Smiley
zenid

Activity: 52

View Profile
December 12, 2013, 03:55:57 PM