Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2019, 06:15:31 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 [104] 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 ... 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 300675 times)
sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 501


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 12:38:01 AM
 #2061


I apologize in advance if this has been addressed in this thread, I did my damdest UTFSE but can't seem to find any numbers on overclocking. I found a small bit on UC, but those were mostly troubleshooting.
I am only doing this for fun, not because I think it will make me rich.

I can run stable at Freq: 225 / Volts: 726 <- Never had a single issue, ran hard for a week.
One bump in voltage to 727 and once the top left line of 0s for normal operation turned to Xs.
I shut down, brought up and changed back to 726 and all is good again.

I tried a few other variations and think it is time to pop the cover and check connections, use some canned air and give her a general massage.

If you have any resources I would truly appreciate them.

Thanks!

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
1569089731
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569089731

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569089731
Reply with quote  #2

1569089731
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1083


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 03:52:40 AM
 #2062

What you have done thus far is honestly about the best you will be able to do with over clocking on your S4.  It varies from S4 to S4.

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
sEpuLchEr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248
Merit: 250


Are we there yet?


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 05:23:54 AM
 #2063


I apologize in advance if this has been addressed in this thread, I did my damdest UTFSE but can't seem to find any numbers on overclocking. I found a small bit on UC, but those were mostly troubleshooting.
I am only doing this for fun, not because I think it will make me rich.

I can run stable at Freq: 225 / Volts: 726 <- Never had a single issue, ran hard for a week.
One bump in voltage to 727 and once the top left line of 0s for normal operation turned to Xs.
I shut down, brought up and changed back to 726 and all is good again.

I tried a few other variations and think it is time to pop the cover and check connections, use some canned air and give her a general massage.

If you have any resources I would truly appreciate them.

Thanks!

0726 is about as far as it will go with stock PSU, you could try increasing the freq by one step to 231.25 which is still pretty stable. That's the best I could get with my 4 S4 231.25 at 0726

Sandhog
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 08:40:16 AM
 #2064


I apologize in advance if this has been addressed in this thread, I did my damdest UTFSE but can't seem to find any numbers on overclocking. I found a small bit on UC, but those were mostly troubleshooting.
I am only doing this for fun, not because I think it will make me rich.

I can run stable at Freq: 225 / Volts: 726 <- Never had a single issue, ran hard for a week.
One bump in voltage to 727 and once the top left line of 0s for normal operation turned to Xs.
I shut down, brought up and changed back to 726 and all is good again.

I tried a few other variations and think it is time to pop the cover and check connections, use some canned air and give her a general massage.

If you have any resources I would truly appreciate them.

Thanks!

0726 is about as far as it will go with stock PSU, you could try increasing the freq by one step to 231.25 which is still pretty stable. That's the best I could get with my 4 S4 231.25 at 0726
Best that I could do was depended on the temperature. At 49 I could do 225 with 0725 bit above 52, it wasn't stable.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1083


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 08:51:16 AM
 #2065


I apologize in advance if this has been addressed in this thread, I did my damdest UTFSE but can't seem to find any numbers on overclocking. I found a small bit on UC, but those were mostly troubleshooting.
I am only doing this for fun, not because I think it will make me rich.

I can run stable at Freq: 225 / Volts: 726 <- Never had a single issue, ran hard for a week.
One bump in voltage to 727 and once the top left line of 0s for normal operation turned to Xs.
I shut down, brought up and changed back to 726 and all is good again.

I tried a few other variations and think it is time to pop the cover and check connections, use some canned air and give her a general massage.

If you have any resources I would truly appreciate them.

Thanks!

0726 is about as far as it will go with stock PSU, you could try increasing the freq by one step to 231.25 which is still pretty stable. That's the best I could get with my 4 S4 231.25 at 0726
Best that I could do was depended on the temperature. At 49 I could do 225 with 0725 bit above 52, it wasn't stable.

That's what I've been doing.

On cool days I clock up and warmer days I clock down

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
Sandhog
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 05:18:12 PM
 #2066


I apologize in advance if this has been addressed in this thread, I did my damdest UTFSE but can't seem to find any numbers on overclocking. I found a small bit on UC, but those were mostly troubleshooting.
I am only doing this for fun, not because I think it will make me rich.

I can run stable at Freq: 225 / Volts: 726 <- Never had a single issue, ran hard for a week.
One bump in voltage to 727 and once the top left line of 0s for normal operation turned to Xs.
I shut down, brought up and changed back to 726 and all is good again.

I tried a few other variations and think it is time to pop the cover and check connections, use some canned air and give her a general massage.

If you have any resources I would truly appreciate them.

Thanks!

0726 is about as far as it will go with stock PSU, you could try increasing the freq by one step to 231.25 which is still pretty stable. That's the best I could get with my 4 S4 231.25 at 0726
Best that I could do was depended on the temperature. At 49 I could do 225 with 0725 bit above 52, it wasn't stable.

That's what I've been doing.

On cool days I clock up and warmer days I clock down
Me too. It seem warmer days, it stop mining at higher frequency than default 200. I have to wait until Spring to see if I need to even lower than default. 
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 03, 2015, 02:53:03 AM
 #2067

One of my S4s just suddenly stopped working.  One moment it was working, the next it stopped responding to API requests.  When I checked it, it was still running, and the LCD indicated it had dropped to 0 GH/s.

I powered it off, waited 10 seconds, and powered it back on.  Everything starts up, fans running at full speed, but it doesn't actually start.  Fans run continuously at full speed and the LCD stays blank.

I've only had it about 2 weeks.

Any suggestions about how to fix it?

Thanks.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
727miner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 03, 2015, 05:39:25 AM
 #2068

One of my S4s just suddenly stopped working.  One moment it was working, the next it stopped responding to API requests.  When I checked it, it was still running, and the LCD indicated it had dropped to 0 GH/s.

I powered it off, waited 10 seconds, and powered it back on.  Everything starts up, fans running at full speed, but it doesn't actually start.  Fans run continuously at full speed and the LCD stays blank.

I've only had it about 2 weeks.

Any suggestions about how to fix it?

Thanks.

M

Try reseating the SD card.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1083


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
January 03, 2015, 05:41:56 AM
 #2069

One of my S4s just suddenly stopped working.  One moment it was working, the next it stopped responding to API requests.  When I checked it, it was still running, and the LCD indicated it had dropped to 0 GH/s.

I powered it off, waited 10 seconds, and powered it back on.  Everything starts up, fans running at full speed, but it doesn't actually start.  Fans run continuously at full speed and the LCD stays blank.

I've only had it about 2 weeks.

Any suggestions about how to fix it?

Thanks.

M

Try reseating the SD card.

That happened to me on a couple of my S4's when I first got them.  Ejected and reseated the MicroSD card and they have worked fine ever since.  They are probably right about the MicroSD card.

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
Sandhog
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 03, 2015, 05:43:57 AM
 #2070

One of my S4s just suddenly stopped working.  One moment it was working, the next it stopped responding to API requests.  When I checked it, it was still running, and the LCD indicated it had dropped to 0 GH/s.

I powered it off, waited 10 seconds, and powered it back on.  Everything starts up, fans running at full speed, but it doesn't actually start.  Fans run continuously at full speed and the LCD stays blank.

I've only had it about 2 weeks.

Any suggestions about how to fix it?

Thanks.

M
After you reseat the SD card, you might want to check your internet connection and your miner advance setting on the configuration tab. It take little time when you reboot before miner starts to work.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 03, 2015, 10:38:57 AM
 #2071

One of my S4s just suddenly stopped working.  One moment it was working, the next it stopped responding to API requests.  When I checked it, it was still running, and the LCD indicated it had dropped to 0 GH/s.

I powered it off, waited 10 seconds, and powered it back on.  Everything starts up, fans running at full speed, but it doesn't actually start.  Fans run continuously at full speed and the LCD stays blank.

I've only had it about 2 weeks.

Any suggestions about how to fix it?

Thanks.

M
After you reseat the SD card, you might want to check your internet connection and your miner advance setting on the configuration tab. It take little time when you reboot before miner starts to work.

I have two S4s, I know how long it takes them to "start up".  This one never starts up.

I'll try reseating it, and if that's doesn't do it, I'll try swapping the SD card from the other one.

Thanks!

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2015, 11:37:50 AM
 #2072

One of my S4s just suddenly stopped working.  One moment it was working, the next it stopped responding to API requests.  When I checked it, it was still running, and the LCD indicated it had dropped to 0 GH/s.

I powered it off, waited 10 seconds, and powered it back on.  Everything starts up, fans running at full speed, but it doesn't actually start.  Fans run continuously at full speed and the LCD stays blank.

I've only had it about 2 weeks.

Any suggestions about how to fix it?

Thanks.

M
After you reseat the SD card, you might want to check your internet connection and your miner advance setting on the configuration tab. It take little time when you reboot before miner starts to work.

I have two S4s, I know how long it takes them to "start up".  This one never starts up.

I'll try reseating it, and if that's doesn't do it, I'll try swapping the SD card from the other one.

Thanks!

M

As others have said, start by reseating the SD card, then reflashing it [or testing your other one]. S4s boot up in about 60 seconds, but you should hear the fans doing various things (other than stuck on 100%) during that time and the LCD will start showing various things.

audiotopix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 651
Merit: 512

www.neutroncoin.com


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2015, 01:19:34 AM
 #2073

I apologize if this topic has already been covered in this thread.

I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for Replacement fans in an Antminer S4.

If you could link me to a proper replacement I would sure appreciate it.

[]
.████WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK    TWITTER   DISCORD   TELEGRAM  REDDIT  INSTAGRAM  GITHUB████
MASTERNODESSINCE
2015
.PROOF OF STAKE  ANY AMOUNT
  OF NTRN
EARN    PIGGY
  BANK
[
]
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 04, 2015, 07:17:44 AM
 #2074

One of my S4s just suddenly stopped working.  One moment it was working, the next it stopped responding to API requests.  When I checked it, it was still running, and the LCD indicated it had dropped to 0 GH/s.

I powered it off, waited 10 seconds, and powered it back on.  Everything starts up, fans running at full speed, but it doesn't actually start.  Fans run continuously at full speed and the LCD stays blank.

I've only had it about 2 weeks.

Any suggestions about how to fix it?

Thanks.

M
After you reseat the SD card, you might want to check your internet connection and your miner advance setting on the configuration tab. It take little time when you reboot before miner starts to work.

I have two S4s, I know how long it takes them to "start up".  This one never starts up.

I'll try reseating it, and if that's doesn't do it, I'll try swapping the SD card from the other one.

Thanks!

M

Happens to me sometimes too. I've never tried simply reseating the SD card, but reflashing it always brings it back to life. I ordered 5 quality SD cards this week to hopefully solve the problem.
dcweb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 04, 2015, 11:25:38 AM
 #2075

I have now had quite a good run after a lot of headaches at first with crashing and odd behaviour at stock settings. I was scared at first to try any higher settings but eventually got the courage to give it a go. The ambient air temps of the area it lives in fluctuates between 24C and 32C. When the ambient air temp is at 32C the miner does reach 64C, but these screenshots were taken at an ambient air temp of 26C. Also I am just using the stock PSU on 240 Volts.

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-Liz1EUzgdcs/VKkfPIVc2qI/AAAAAAAABNU/1oOBLn_Y9iU/s800/antminer-s4-config.png

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-MqtCSCh5t3A/VKkfPMmpWwI/AAAAAAAABNM/H_ge5i6EH8A/s800/antminer-S4-status.png

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Ql7wAKuDwr8/VKkfP-gOjWI/AAAAAAAABNc/u1fWiYHQCZA/s800/antminer-s4-hash-rate.png

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-yFxvGLzOvzk/VKkfPTUDvoI/AAAAAAAABNY/InaaYImeSHU/s800/antminer-s4-graph.png
BITMAIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 741
Merit: 502


https://www.bitmain.com


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2015, 01:29:54 PM
 #2076

     10% discount has been offered to Second Hand S4, 0.3465$/Gh and shipping out within a week after full payment Smiley

Cloud Mining? Just Go to Hashnest.com          Best Liquidity   Lowest Price   100% Real Mining Back Up
sEpuLchEr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248
Merit: 250


Are we there yet?


View Profile
January 04, 2015, 01:35:48 PM
 #2077

     10% discount has been offered to Second Hand S4, 0.3465$/Gh and shipping out within a week after full payment Smiley

Expensive :p Though, it could potentially underclock to get really good efficiency. I really like the S4, but it's heavy, add in the shipping.. OMG... Not at the current BTC prices.

Are you guys releasing a new firmware for S4 that will support minerlink?

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2015, 02:33:18 PM
 #2078

I apologize if this topic has already been covered in this thread.

I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for Replacement fans in an Antminer S4.

If you could link me to a proper replacement I would sure appreciate it.

With any sort of ambient temp, you're going to need to leave the two rear fans as default. You can replace the front two fans with two Corsair SP120s's. [Affiliate link] [Non affiliate link]

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2015, 02:34:17 PM
 #2079

     10% discount has been offered to Second Hand S4, 0.3465$/Gh and shipping out within a week after full payment Smiley

Expensive :p Though, it could potentially underclock to get really good efficiency. I really like the S4, but it's heavy, add in the shipping.. OMG... Not at the current BTC prices.

Are you guys releasing a new firmware for S4 that will support minerlink?

Potentially, yes.

idonothave
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 04, 2015, 03:16:38 PM
 #2080

I have now had quite a good run after a lot of headaches at first with crashing and odd behaviour at stock settings. I was scared at first to try any higher settings but eventually got the courage to give it a go. The ambient air temps of the area it lives in fluctuates between 24C and 32C. When the ambient air temp is at 32C the miner does reach 64C, but these screenshots were taken at an ambient air temp of 26C. Also I am just using the stock PSU on 240 Volts.









You should know
...about Voltage: You can set there what You want, because it has no effect and does not change real voltage of PSU. If You watched cgminer script in S4 unit You knew, that there is always set the same value 0725.
...about S4 PSU: it is 80 GOLD PLUS PSU, running at the very top of its abilities. If You overburn it (by changing voltage via ssh in cgminer script), You can damage it, and I would like to see You how are You replacing it.
...about GHs hashing power: overclocking is lowering efficiency rappidly, if You get 10% more GHs, You loose more then 10% of energy at the same time. No more words about hw errors growing volume. I do not see any sense doing that, but if You want to play, play.
Pages: « 1 ... 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 [104] 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 ... 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!