Bitcoin Forum
June 17, 2019, 11:50:39 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 [140] 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 300566 times)
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 09, 2015, 11:07:16 PM
 #2781

Howdy!

I have 2 S4's that all of a sudden stopped mining. They are stock settings, no voltage change and I have tried a few different firmware's and they all show the same behavior. When I look at the Miner Status tab, all the values are blank.

The display on the front shows the correct IP. I have tried a few different pools, but no change.

Any suggestions?
Did you just happen to get your 2nd miner recently? If so disconnect one miner and see if it runs by itself without stopping.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 10, 2015, 12:40:17 AM
 #2782

Howdy!

I have 2 S4's that all of a sudden stopped mining. They are stock settings, no voltage change and I have tried a few different firmware's and they all show the same behavior. When I look at the Miner Status tab, all the values are blank.

The display on the front shows the correct IP. I have tried a few different pools, but no change.

Any suggestions?
Did you just happen to get your 2nd miner recently? If so disconnect one miner and see if it runs by itself without stopping.

I think it's odd for two to go exactly at same time.  I would agree try running one.   Maybe try another electric outlet on different circuit.  Unless you are just really having bad luck and have to give out at same time.

After that I would try to load firmware to see if it changes anything, make sure to keep settings.  (there is always risks with updating firmware).  But that would help rule out software.
Meech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 922
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 10, 2015, 01:24:38 AM
 #2783

Howdy!

I have 2 S4's that all of a sudden stopped mining. They are stock settings, no voltage change and I have tried a few different firmware's and they all show the same behavior. When I look at the Miner Status tab, all the values are blank.

The display on the front shows the correct IP. I have tried a few different pools, but no change.

Any suggestions?
Did you just happen to get your 2nd miner recently? If so disconnect one miner and see if it runs by itself without stopping.

I think it's odd for two to go exactly at same time.  I would agree try running one.   Maybe try another electric outlet on different circuit.  Unless you are just really having bad luck and have to give out at same time.

After that I would try to load firmware to see if it changes anything, make sure to keep settings.  (there is always risks with updating firmware).  But that would help rule out software.
Push in the reset button and hold for a few seconds.  This is typical for my S2's when I'm changing pools often.  Check to see if your at the current firmware.  When you reset if you have a static ip you'll need to go back and change it.  If your not running static ip's you should be.
Set your ip outside your dhcp range ex. 192.168.1.200
vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1003


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
May 10, 2015, 03:31:20 PM
Last edit: May 10, 2015, 03:43:53 PM by vegasguy
 #2784

So my S4 was working fine and then it shut off. I noticed that the power supply now has a permanent yellow led when plugged in and S4 wont fire up. I removed the power cord, and held the power button down for ten seconds and tried again to fire it up. Still yellow led "alarm", and nothing else. Does this mean the power supply is toast? I dont care if it is. I had heard that the S4's had major issues with their power supplies. Is there a 3rd party power supply I can buy somewhere that is of much better quality? Please any help appreciated. If you know of a much better quality power supply, please supply direct links. Thanks.

Note: I was having stability issues and sometimes losing a blade or two every 24 hours I would have to reset. I did install some VERY powerful 252CFM fans in the front, and that cooled it WAY down and was stable

Vegas

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 10, 2015, 03:39:11 PM
 #2785

I had prelude recommend these  (IBM DPS2000 [2000w] and IBM H-2880 [2880w]) which are nice.  Take a look a this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0;all

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1003


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
May 10, 2015, 03:46:24 PM
 #2786

I had prelude recommend these  (IBM DPS2000 [2000w] and IBM H-2880 [2880w]) which are nice.  Take a look a this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0;all

Thank you. My main concern is the quality is better than the bitmain, and that they physically fit the S4, and connectors are the same, and that my diagnostic of "yellow led" alarm is correct when saying PSU is toast.

Vegas

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 10, 2015, 04:48:07 PM
 #2787

I had prelude recommend these  (IBM DPS2000 [2000w] and IBM H-2880 [2880w]) which are nice.  Take a look a this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0;all

Thanks for the advertising  Grin

I'm currently working on a PSU + breakout board that will fit inside the S4 to replace the stock ones when they fry.



The last thing still missing is the cage/housing to attach the psus+ breakout board to the existing S4 frame like the original PSU.

I have a few boards in stock, but no delay yet on the housings.

The breakout board can use up to 2 Common Slot PSUs, so you will have quite some options to power the S4:
2x1200w 86% (DPS1200 FB A) for cheap fix and overclocking ability
2x1200w platinum if you want to overclock and stay efficient
2x750 platinum for stock settings and efficiency
1x1200w for underclocking (cheap or platinum, it's up to you)

Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1003


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
May 10, 2015, 05:31:50 PM
 #2788

...and to be clear. Im really looking for a complete ready to go, plug and play power supply, that just swaps, but is better quality than the bitmain oem psu.

Am I correct on my diagnostic. Yellow led "alarm" light on in back of PSU means bad power supply?

Vegas

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 10, 2015, 05:45:58 PM
 #2789

...and to be clear. Im really looking for a complete ready to go, plug and play power supply, that just swaps, but is better quality than the bitmain oem psu.

Am I correct on my diagnostic. Yellow led "alarm" light on in back of PSU means bad power supply?

Vegas

Once finished, this will be a drop in replacement for the original S4 PSU.

Regarding your yellow light, here is what BitmainWarranty answered in an older post:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=796839.msg10061064#msg10061064

Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 10, 2015, 06:41:39 PM
 #2790

I had prelude recommend these  (IBM DPS2000 [2000w] and IBM H-2880 [2880w]) which are nice.  Take a look a this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0;all

Thanks for the advertising  Grin

I'm currently working on a PSU + breakout board that will fit inside the S4 to replace the stock ones when they fry.



The last thing still missing is the cage/housing to attach the psus+ breakout board to the existing S4 frame like the original PSU.

I have a few boards in stock, but no delay yet on the housings.

The breakout board can use up to 2 Common Slot PSUs, so you will have quite some options to power the S4:
2x1200w 86% (DPS1200 FB A) for cheap fix and overclocking ability
2x1200w platinum if you want to overclock and stay efficient
2x750 platinum for stock settings and efficiency
1x1200w for underclocking (cheap or platinum, it's up to you)
No problem your work speaks for itself. Its worth getting the 2800 watt psu you can run two s4 if another one goes and if it doesnt you can run your oyher miners on it

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 10, 2015, 07:22:19 PM
 #2791

I had prelude recommend these  (IBM DPS2000 [2000w] and IBM H-2880 [2880w]) which are nice.  Take a look a this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0;all

Thanks for the advertising  Grin

I'm currently working on a PSU + breakout board that will fit inside the S4 to replace the stock ones when they fry.



The last thing still missing is the cage/housing to attach the psus+ breakout board to the existing S4 frame like the original PSU.

I have a few boards in stock, but no delay yet on the housings.

The breakout board can use up to 2 Common Slot PSUs, so you will have quite some options to power the S4:
2x1200w 86% (DPS1200 FB A) for cheap fix and overclocking ability
2x1200w platinum if you want to overclock and stay efficient
2x750 platinum for stock settings and efficiency
1x1200w for underclocking (cheap or platinum, it's up to you)

Your work speaks for it's self looking at that.  Very nice idea and nice looking board!
TTravis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 11, 2015, 02:21:46 PM
Last edit: May 11, 2015, 05:39:54 PM by TTravis
 #2792

I recently had a fan go out on my AntMiner S4.  Upon reading the following article, I ordered Delta PFC1212DE fans as a replacement.

https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204199879-Antminer-S4-fan-specification-and-possible-replacement-fans

I replaced the front and back fans, closest to the PSU.

The colour of the wires were not the same on the old and new fans.  They both had red, black, and blue which I connected together.  The 4th wire on the old fan is white which I connected to a yellow wire on the new fan.

Now when I turn the S4 on, the old fans power up as normal, but the new fans only come on for a few seconds and then shut off.

The S4 will run for a while before stutting down due to overheating.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Tom Travis
brianoakes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 11, 2015, 04:50:55 PM
 #2793

Thanks guys. I woke up this morning, and 2 of the machines are all of a sudden mining. Yesterday, I reset them to the defaults, left them off for a while and no change.

However when I woke up.... they were working. No knows. Thanks for the feedback!



Howdy!

I have 2 S4's that all of a sudden stopped mining. They are stock settings, no voltage change and I have tried a few different firmware's and they all show the same behavior. When I look at the Miner Status tab, all the values are blank.

The display on the front shows the correct IP. I have tried a few different pools, but no change.

Any suggestions?
Did you just happen to get your 2nd miner recently? If so disconnect one miner and see if it runs by itself without stopping.

I think it's odd for two to go exactly at same time.  I would agree try running one.   Maybe try another electric outlet on different circuit.  Unless you are just really having bad luck and have to give out at same time.

After that I would try to load firmware to see if it changes anything, make sure to keep settings.  (there is always risks with updating firmware).  But that would help rule out software.
Push in the reset button and hold for a few seconds.  This is typical for my S2's when I'm changing pools often.  Check to see if your at the current firmware.  When you reset if you have a static ip you'll need to go back and change it.  If your not running static ip's you should be.
Set your ip outside your dhcp range ex. 192.168.1.200

dimke_yu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2015, 07:52:07 PM
 #2794

I recently had a fan go out on my AntMiner S4.  Upon reading the following article, I ordered Delta PFC1212DE fans as a replacement.

https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204199879-Antminer-S4-fan-specification-and-possible-replacement-fans

I replaced the front and back fans, closest to the PSU.

The colour of the wires were not the same on the old and new fans.  They both had red, black, and blue which I connected together.  The 4th wire on the old fan is white which I connected to a yellow wire on the new fan.

Now when I turn the S4 on, the old fans power up as normal, but the new fans only come on for a few seconds and then shut off.

The S4 will run for a while before stutting down due to overheating.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Tom Travis

On Delta pinout is as follows:

Black -> GND
Red -> +12V
Yellow -> RPM sense wire.
Blue -> PWM control wire.

I am not sure for pinout on original S4 fan but I would say that you did it correctly. It could be they are too strong but they should work.

abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 954
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 12, 2015, 12:45:51 AM
 #2795

I recently had a fan go out on my AntMiner S4.  Upon reading the following article, I ordered Delta PFC1212DE fans as a replacement.

https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204199879-Antminer-S4-fan-specification-and-possible-replacement-fans

I replaced the front and back fans, closest to the PSU.

The colour of the wires were not the same on the old and new fans.  They both had red, black, and blue which I connected together.  The 4th wire on the old fan is white which I connected to a yellow wire on the new fan.

Now when I turn the S4 on, the old fans power up as normal, but the new fans only come on for a few seconds and then shut off.

The S4 will run for a while before stutting down due to overheating.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Tom Travis

On Delta pinout is as follows:

Black -> GND
Red -> +12V
Yellow -> RPM sense wire.
Blue -> PWM control wire.

I am not sure for pinout on original S4 fan but I would say that you did it correctly. It could be they are too strong but they should work.



TTravis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 12, 2015, 01:16:34 AM
 #2796

Given that black is ground in all the examples, and blue is control, I probably need to switch the other two wires.

Thanks,  I'll let you know.
vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1003


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
May 12, 2015, 03:29:40 PM
 #2797

Guys I never really did get an answer. Is there a "drop in" power supply that is already complete that I can replace on my S4 thats higher quality than the bitmain oem psu?

Vegas

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 12, 2015, 03:35:54 PM
 #2798

Guys I never really did get an answer. Is there a "drop in" power supply that is already complete that I can replace on my S4 thats higher quality than the bitmain oem psu?

Vegas

The OEM is pretty good as far as specs it is a gold PSU. You could get a platinum PSU if you wanted better. 

You might keep a look out for breakout board to make it easy to put out.  Once those are out it will be much easier to drop in any psu.
TTravis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 12, 2015, 05:27:30 PM
 #2799

Given that black is ground in all the examples, and blue is control, I probably need to switch the other two wires.

Thanks,  I'll let you know.

Result so far: 

I tried the above and fans did not come on.

When connecting Red-Red, Blue-Blue, Black-Black and leaving the 4th wire, (old fan White, new fan Yellow) disconnected, the fan comes on and runs full speed.
This is obviously because the sensor is disconnected.  Fan speed also shows 0 for fans 2 and 3  in mining status screen.
S4 is mining at full expected rate and temperature is good after running for an hour.

I would say that I am happy with the result.  Now I have a working S4 that would otherwise not be working.  Fans were $12 each on ebay.

Unless someone can tell me something more about the sensor wires, I think I will leave it alone and let it do it's job.

Also a word of warning.....  Don't hold a running fan in your hand, it will fly away, and keep your fingers away from the blades....  OUCH!

Tom

luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 12, 2015, 10:45:18 PM
 #2800

Guys I never really did get an answer. Is there a "drop in" power supply that is already complete that I can replace on my S4 thats higher quality than the bitmain oem psu?

Vegas

The guy a couple post backs answered your question currently you can get a psu from bitmain. or get what i recommend. The owner of the thread mentioned that he is working on a drop and play psu go back and read the post pm him for questions.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
Pages: « 1 ... 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 [140] 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!