Bitcoin Forum
July 28, 2021, 07:03:53 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: What algorithms are still CPU only?  (Read 1430 times)
eon89
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
September 25, 2014, 04:18:35 PM
 #1

HuhHuhHuhHuhHuhHuh

1627455833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627455833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627455833
Reply with quote  #2

1627455833
Report to moderator
1627455833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627455833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627455833
Reply with quote  #2

1627455833
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1627455833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627455833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627455833
Reply with quote  #2

1627455833
Report to moderator
1627455833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627455833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627455833
Reply with quote  #2

1627455833
Report to moderator
DubFX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 25, 2014, 04:24:06 PM
 #2

Dcrypt, Prime Constellations, CryptoNight and i think that also wild keccak but i'm not sure.
AltcoinInvestor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 25, 2014, 04:48:58 PM
 #3

m7m

check the magi: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=735170.0

it's about 10k satoshi right now. But I guess it'll get to at least 1mbtc.
OrientA
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 25, 2014, 07:01:55 PM
 #4

Dcrypt, Prime Constellations, CryptoNight and i think that also wild keccak but i'm not sure.

CryptoNight has GPU miners now. But the CPU miner is more efficient.
jontrue
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 704
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 25, 2014, 11:15:43 PM
 #5

XMG - Magi => https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=735170.0
reflector
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 263



View Profile
September 26, 2014, 02:35:41 AM
 #6

Bcrypt (blowfish) https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=640933.0
jasemoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1008


Forget-about-it


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 03:36:48 AM
 #7

GlobalBoostY is still cpu only. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=775289.680  they are starting to test GPU soon though..

$MAID & $BTC other than that some short hodls and some long held garbage.
Melbustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1003



View Profile
September 26, 2014, 04:03:49 AM
 #8

There's no such thing as "CPU only". You must mean: "For which coins are non-CPU miners currently not known to exist?"

Bitcoin is the first monetary system to credibly offer perfect information to all economic participants.
SquallLeonhart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1074



View Profile
September 26, 2014, 04:13:05 AM
 #9

I believe soon the CPU only coin would be GPU also... so mine while you can and dont invest in more mining gear..

Duelbits            ▄████▄▄
          ▄█████████▄
        ▄█████████████▄
     ▄██████████████████▄
   ▄████▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄███▄
 ▄████▐▀▄▄▀▌████▐▀▄▄▀▌██

 ██████▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀█████

▐████████████■▄▄▄■██████████▀
▐██████████████████████████▀
██████████████████████████▀
▀███████████████████████▀
  ▀███████████████████▀
    ▀███████████████▀
.
         ▄ ▄▄▀▀▀▀▄▄
         ▄▀▀▄      █
         █   ▀▄     █
       ▄█▄     ▀▄   █
      ▄▀ ▀▄      ▀█▀
    ▄▀     ▀█▄▄▄▀▀ ▀
  ▄▀  ▄▀  ▄▀

Live Games

   ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
 ▄▀ ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄ ▀▄
▄▀ █ ▄  █  ▄ █ ▀▄
█ █   ▀   ▀   █ █  ▄▄▄
█ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ █ █   █
█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█  █▄█
█ ▀▀█  ▀▀█  ▀▀█ █  █▄█

Slots
.
        ▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄
        █         ▄▄  █
▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄       █
█  ▄▄         █       █
█             █       █
█   ▄▀▀▄▀▀▄   █       █
█   ▀▄   ▄▀   █       █

Blackjack
|              ▄▄▀▀█▌
          ▄▄▀█▄    █
        ▄▀     ▀▄▄ █
       █    ▄▄    ▀█
    ▄▄█    █  █   ▐▌
  ▄▀ █      ▀▀    █
▄▀  ▐▌           █
█ ▄▀▀▄▄        ▄▀
▀▀  ▄  ▀▄▄   ▄▀█
  ▄▀   ▄  ▀█▀  █
   ▄▀ ▄▀   █  █
  ▄▀ █     █▄▀
   ▄▀
NEW GAME!
..CRASH...
|||
[ Đ ][ Ł ]
AVAILABLE NOW
HunterMinerCrafter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 04:28:10 AM
 #10

There's no such thing as "CPU only". You must mean: "For which coins are non-CPU miners currently not known to exist?"

In Motocoin we are basically attempting to structure our proof-of-play mining so that no particular hardware will ultimately have any opportunity for meaningful advantage over any other, or over mining by hand.  As far as I know this capability would be unique to the proof-of-play security model. (Or more generally proof-of-cognition work functions.)

Interestingly we somehow don't have enough miners of *any* sort of hardware.  (Especially wetware miners.) Difficulty has remained rather low since we unstalled the chain, and mining is easy, profitable, and fun. 

MOTO needs miners!
fudge
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 669
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 04:40:33 AM
 #11

CoinShield

Haшa гpyшa нaйpoзкopчyмaкyвaтiшa!
DubFX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 06:30:54 AM
 #12

There's no such thing as "CPU only". You must mean: "For which coins are non-CPU miners currently not known to exist?"

In Motocoin we are basically attempting to structure our proof-of-play mining so that no particular hardware will ultimately have any opportunity for meaningful advantage over any other, or over mining by hand.  As far as I know this capability would be unique to the proof-of-play security model. (Or more generally proof-of-cognition work functions.)

Interestingly we somehow don't have enough miners of *any* sort of hardware.  (Especially wetware miners.) Difficulty has remained rather low since we unstalled the chain, and mining is easy, profitable, and fun. 

MOTO needs miners!
Link please? I may look into that.
HunterMinerCrafter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 06:57:56 AM
 #13

Link please? I may look into that.

Thread is https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=591724.0
DubFX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 07:09:40 AM
 #14

Quote
450K premine (was partially used for rewards, the rest was sold in panic during the early days of Motocoin).
u kidding me? Grin
Also you have to play that game in order to get coins? That sucks...i expected something on a bit higher level.
OrientA
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 26, 2014, 07:46:41 AM
 #15

There's no such thing as "CPU only". You must mean: "For which coins are non-CPU miners currently not known to exist?"


Or which coins are CPU more efficient than GPU?
DubFX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 07:48:52 AM
 #16

There's no such thing as "CPU only". You must mean: "For which coins are non-CPU miners currently not known to exist?"


Or which coins are CPU more efficient than GPU?
Most/all of them have been named in previous posts so read them instread of writing another post.
HunterMinerCrafter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 03:54:47 PM
 #17

u kidding me? Grin

I think the premine is of little concern at this point, but I understand the reaction.

It is pretty obvious exactly when and how much the devs sold off.  (The short version of the story is that some people mistakenly thought that the network was under attack, and initiated some panic dumping.)  Note that I had no part in the launch planning or premine, and maintain the coin now strictly as a volunteer.  The original developers choose to have only minimal involvement these days.

I think a more realistic, related concern would be the holdings of the "mystery bot operator" but this is an ongoing debate.

In any case the more significant concern, for me, would be the total coin cap.  (On the other hand this technically makes the premine percentage smaller than any coin to date, HEH.)

Quote
Also you have to play that game in order to get coins? That sucks...i expected something on a bit higher level.

I am not sure what you mean by "on a bit higher level."  Could you please rephrase?  I'd love to hear any suggestions to make mining more appealing.
northranger79510
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250

Riecoin and Huntercoin to rule all!


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 05:18:18 PM
 #18

riecoin

Huntercoin: H9kttkrQidiQMG9NibmTgjgCKqWJMAkAXD
Riecoin: Like us on https://www.facebook.com/TheRiecoinCommunity
DubFX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 06:37:50 PM
 #19

u kidding me? Grin

I think the premine is of little concern at this point, but I understand the reaction.

It is pretty obvious exactly when and how much the devs sold off.  (The short version of the story is that some people mistakenly thought that the network was under attack, and initiated some panic dumping.)  Note that I had no part in the launch planning or premine, and maintain the coin now strictly as a volunteer.  The original developers choose to have only minimal involvement these days.

I think a more realistic, related concern would be the holdings of the "mystery bot operator" but this is an ongoing debate.

In any case the more significant concern, for me, would be the total coin cap.  (On the other hand this technically makes the premine percentage smaller than any coin to date, HEH.)

Quote
Also you have to play that game in order to get coins? That sucks...i expected something on a bit higher level.

I am not sure what you mean by "on a bit higher level."  Could you please rephrase?  I'd love to hear any suggestions to make mining more appealing.

I don't know, i stopped reading after i found the premine, you have to play that game to mine or just have it running as i doubt miners sit next to their comps and play. 
Joe_Bauers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 802
Merit: 1003


GCVMMWH


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 06:59:28 PM
 #20

Yacoin, currently at Nf-16, is not YET CPU only, but were close Wink
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!