Bitcoin Forum
May 01, 2017, 02:22:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2nd GPU = 14% CPU usage  (Read 1983 times)
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 09:34:35 PM
 #1

I just started mining last week.

I added a 2nd 5830 to my rig.

Before CPU usage was 1% on my Core i7 930.

With the 2nd GPU, my CPU is @ 14% usage when mining and when the 2nd instance of Phoenix 1.4 is open.

What should I do to get CPU usage down?

I'm on Win7 64bit.

Thanks!

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Header-only clients like MultiBit trust that the majority of mining power is honest for the purposes of enforcing network rules such as the 21 million BTC limit. Full clients do not trust miners in this way.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493605327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493605327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493605327
Reply with quote  #2

1493605327
Report to moderator
1493605327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493605327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493605327
Reply with quote  #2

1493605327
Report to moderator
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile
May 11, 2011, 09:37:24 PM
 #2

You can't.

It's the nature of multi-GPU mining - it'll max out at least one core.  No fix for it yet.
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701


Your Minion


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 10:17:39 PM
 #3

Agreed, it's the nature of the beast.
Dual 5850's do the same here on i7 regardless of cpu speed.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 11:16:20 PM
 #4

What about a 3rd or 4th GPU.  Will it go up another 14% and another 14% again???

How about if I had 3 GPU's on a Singl core Sempron 140, what would my CPU load be like?

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
TheShoura
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Testing


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:24:05 AM
 #5

it just makes the cpu 100%, or as your Core i7 has 8 threads, it will max out one thread per GPU instance when using multiple GPU

I have a dual core Athlon II 3.1Ghz with 4 GPU. The CPU is at 100%, all GPU still run max Mh/s Smiley

If you would like to send me a tip: 1HVGGWGWgHkyh9K8sntkZmXoiopX8Bsvv8

Security: 8452BCD9
ALWAYS gpg ident the person you're about to exchange with!
Dr. Arnold
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:32:29 AM
 #6

Consider yourself lucky as I get 50% cpu usage with both my 6950 and 5850 mining. The best I can get is 25% usage by limiting the affinity to only 1 core for both miners.

I've heard linux doesn't have this problem though so you could try that.
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 05:50:09 AM
 #7

Can't do linux for my main system, but maybe for future builds.

Also for a dedicated system, I suppose you could disable some cores and underclock it to save on power?  Or do you think this would hurt the GPU performance?

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 10:41:22 AM
 #8

Strange its now using 27%  Huh

I'm 100% sure I had both GPU's running and was only using 14% earlier today.

I did start and stop phoenix several times, but still thats strange.

Any clues?

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 10:42:05 AM
 #9

Anyone have any ideas?  I hate that it was working with 2 GPU's mining with 14% CPU load now its like 26% Sad

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
haydent
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 02:50:46 AM
 #10

i have started a thread at amd dev forum - opencl section about the 100% cpu usage bug with >1 gpu installed. feel free to jump over there and post your support for this issue being addressed...

http://forums.amd.com/devforum/messageview.cfm?catid=390&threadid=153211&enterthread=y

2x Gigabyte 6950 OC @ 920/450 w/ ati tray tools (1 shader modded) - 760Mhs on ozco.in 0% fee aus pool
btc: 1HS5Brzcsh7XkJn566XYbvfpa2JuBRBdss
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!