Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:46:58 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2nd GPU = 14% CPU usage  (Read 1932 times)
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 09:34:35 PM
 #1

I just started mining last week.

I added a 2nd 5830 to my rig.

Before CPU usage was 1% on my Core i7 930.

With the 2nd GPU, my CPU is @ 14% usage when mining and when the 2nd instance of Phoenix 1.4 is open.

What should I do to get CPU usage down?

I'm on Win7 64bit.

Thanks!

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
1480794418
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794418

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794418
Reply with quote  #2

1480794418
Report to moderator
1480794418
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794418

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794418
Reply with quote  #2

1480794418
Report to moderator
1480794418
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794418

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794418
Reply with quote  #2

1480794418
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480794418
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794418

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794418
Reply with quote  #2

1480794418
Report to moderator
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 11, 2011, 09:37:24 PM
 #2

You can't.

It's the nature of multi-GPU mining - it'll max out at least one core.  No fix for it yet.
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702


Your Minion


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 10:17:39 PM
 #3

Agreed, it's the nature of the beast.
Dual 5850's do the same here on i7 regardless of cpu speed.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 11:16:20 PM
 #4

What about a 3rd or 4th GPU.  Will it go up another 14% and another 14% again???

How about if I had 3 GPU's on a Singl core Sempron 140, what would my CPU load be like?

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
TheShoura
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Testing


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:24:05 AM
 #5

it just makes the cpu 100%, or as your Core i7 has 8 threads, it will max out one thread per GPU instance when using multiple GPU

I have a dual core Athlon II 3.1Ghz with 4 GPU. The CPU is at 100%, all GPU still run max Mh/s Smiley

If you would like to send me a tip: 1HVGGWGWgHkyh9K8sntkZmXoiopX8Bsvv8

Security: 8452BCD9
ALWAYS gpg ident the person you're about to exchange with!
Dr. Arnold
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:32:29 AM
 #6

Consider yourself lucky as I get 50% cpu usage with both my 6950 and 5850 mining. The best I can get is 25% usage by limiting the affinity to only 1 core for both miners.

I've heard linux doesn't have this problem though so you could try that.
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 05:50:09 AM
 #7

Can't do linux for my main system, but maybe for future builds.

Also for a dedicated system, I suppose you could disable some cores and underclock it to save on power?  Or do you think this would hurt the GPU performance?

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 10:41:22 AM
 #8

Strange its now using 27%  Huh

I'm 100% sure I had both GPU's running and was only using 14% earlier today.

I did start and stop phoenix several times, but still thats strange.

Any clues?

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 10:42:05 AM
 #9

Anyone have any ideas?  I hate that it was working with 2 GPU's mining with 14% CPU load now its like 26% Sad

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
haydent
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 02:50:46 AM
 #10

i have started a thread at amd dev forum - opencl section about the 100% cpu usage bug with >1 gpu installed. feel free to jump over there and post your support for this issue being addressed...

http://forums.amd.com/devforum/messageview.cfm?catid=390&threadid=153211&enterthread=y

2x Gigabyte 6950 OC @ 920/450 w/ ati tray tools (1 shader modded) - 760Mhs on ozco.in 0% fee aus pool
btc: 1HS5Brzcsh7XkJn566XYbvfpa2JuBRBdss
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!