Bitcoin Forum
February 19, 2018, 06:23:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCIe extender cables and crossfire  (Read 1452 times)
tarrant_01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 545
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 07, 2012, 09:23:53 PM
 #1

Is it possible to use pci-e extender cables and run cards in crossfire?

I have an MSI 890fxa-gd70 and 3 gigabyte 6950 1G cards on 16x to 16x extender cables.  The cards are hooked up to pci-e slots 1, 5 and 6.  AMD Vision is saying the bridges are not hooked up properly. I dont know how they could be hooked up improperly. I have 1 bridge between cards on slots 1 and 5 and a bridge between cards on slots 5 and 6.  I've been wrestling with it for a while.  I'd like to do triple crossfire for gaming and mine on the side.

1P95gCUCw3Tjb7yyoYtW3ARZZQyTpFgk6H
Automated Bitcoin Fork Extraction Tool WE DO TOUGH WALLETS: BCH | BTG | BCD | SBTC | UBTC | B2X | BCX | BTF Electrum 2FA, Trezor, Ledger, SegWit, Bech32
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1519064600
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519064600

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519064600
Reply with quote  #2

1519064600
Report to moderator
1519064600
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519064600

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519064600
Reply with quote  #2

1519064600
Report to moderator
1519064600
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519064600

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519064600
Reply with quote  #2

1519064600
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1115



View Profile
May 07, 2012, 10:48:37 PM
 #2

does it work without the extender?

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
tarrant_01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 545
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 07, 2012, 11:12:32 PM
 #3

Yes Sad I just removed the cables and it worked fine.

That's unfortunate.

1P95gCUCw3Tjb7yyoYtW3ARZZQyTpFgk6H
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!