Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 02:10:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Version 0.6.2 available  (Read 7735 times)
GroundRod
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206


View Profile
May 15, 2012, 05:46:29 PM
 #21

@Toffoo - Yes seeing some inappropriate switching to foreground behavior too.  Running 3 different Windows 0.6.xx versions here, no change in that which I've noticed.  Was trying to figure out how to document that just yesterday, somewhat hard to describe.

Just wanted to add...

Gavin's recommended upgrade path went smoothly, no problems to report there, although while reviewing which files had changed, was surprised to find that in windows explorer, under the Program Files/bitcoin subdirectory as well as the bitcoin/src (plus subs) & bitcoin/daemon folders, all the files date/time stamps remain the same, stuck on 1/29/2011.  Both the date modified and the date created fields, odd that I can't look at those quickly and be able to tell which files have been modified recently.  Mostly it would be nice to at least see the bitcoin-qt.exe file has a newer time stamp on it, before running....

My initial install was back one April 2nd 2012, can clearly see that as the folders dates modified & created are working fine, it's just the files themselves which aren't changing....

GR
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481465447
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465447

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465447
Reply with quote  #2

1481465447
Report to moderator
1481465447
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465447

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465447
Reply with quote  #2

1481465447
Report to moderator
R-
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

Pasta


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2012, 05:48:11 PM
 #22

We ♥ Gavin.

Needs to be mate into a t-shirt..and sold for Bitcoin.
coretechs
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 362



View Profile
May 15, 2012, 06:33:38 PM
 #23

I'm running into a minor annoyance that is happening on two separate Windows 7 x64 machines.  After exiting bitcoin-qt, the icon remains in the system tray until you move the mouse over it.  I'm not sure if it is a Windows issue or something specific to my display settings, but I don't recall it happening with earlier versions.  Anyone else seeing the same behavior?

http://bitcoindoc.com - The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin | http://nxtportal.org - Nxt blockchain explorer
Kupsi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


9.9.2012: I predict that single digits... <- FAIL


View Profile
May 15, 2012, 07:01:41 PM
 #24

Anyone else seeing the same behavior?
I see it on my Win 7 x64 machine. Wasn't like that on version 0.6.1.
Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
May 15, 2012, 07:06:14 PM
 #25

Anyone else seeing the same behavior?
I see it on my Win 7 x64 machine. Wasn't like that on version 0.6.1.

Yup.  I think I see it on my XP laptop as well. 

Buy Bitcoin from CoinbaseXapo
Faucets & Earn Bitcoin Sites: FreeBitco.in; BitsForClicks; Moonbit
Kupsi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


9.9.2012: I predict that single digits... <- FAIL


View Profile
May 15, 2012, 07:12:20 PM
 #26

I see it on my Win 7 x64 machine. Wasn't like that on version 0.6.1.
I was wrong. Tried version 0.6.0, 0.6.1 and 0.6.2 now.

0.6.0 = OK
0.6.1 = icon remains in system tray
0.6.2 = icon remains in system tray
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 15, 2012, 08:22:30 PM
 #27

I see that too on W7 x64, and additionally another display anomaly: Clicking the icon once pops the window into the foreground, and clicking again puts it back down in the tray. This isn't a bad thing, but it is different from how it used to work. It used to require a double click to open, and X it out to minimize to tray.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Equilux
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 02:12:31 AM
 #28

Hey, I didn't have time to check the thread if this already has been reported, but after installing, running it for the first time I get a "Runaway exception" error. It says "EXCEPTION: NSt8ios_base7failurE" and "CDataStream:Sad)read : end of data" on the last line it says "C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\Bitcoin-qt.exe in runaway exception"

I'm running windows 7 and 0.6 worked fine. I already uninstalled 0.6 before installing 0.6.2 but still the same error.

Bitsky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 542


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 05:05:12 PM
 #29

When sending coins from one of your addresses to another one of your addresses, the client only displays an entry saying "transaction to yourself" without listing the amount or the from/to address.
While this isn't a bug, it makes keeping track of your coins difficult. Blockchain.info for example lists the transaction just like every other one; I suggest that the client should do the same.

Bounty: Earn up to 68.7 BTC
Like my post? Feel free to drop a tip to 1BitskyZbfR4irjyXDaGAM2wYKQknwX36Y
h00ters
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 06:40:50 PM
 #30

bitcoin-qt has a flaw when you have thousands of transactions It starts to be a CPU and memory hog. Plus it looks like it was done in VB6. The GUI is crap, please go back to one of the beta designs as it was far superior.

I'm running this on windows, setting the priory to low, and setting the affinity to only using 2 CPU's on bitcoin-qt.exe. No real change, still a hog.

The client started to become a more of a resource whore around the ~1000 transactions mark... not sure 100% tho. I'm a little over 11k transactions.. and doing more and more everyday.

I've tried multibit, and Electrum.. both sux imho...  May give multibit another try, but hate running java.. *sigh*

I know of a few other users with the same issue... From my conclusion it seems that the bitcoin client does not like to have thousands and thousands of transactions

Any suggestions?
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 06:43:32 PM
 #31

lol VB6. It's called Qt and it's from Nokia: http://qt.nokia.com/
If you really have 11,000 transactions, why are you even using the GUI?

And if you know how to program in wx, you are welcome to maintain the old version. Luke-Jr will even help you set it up.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
June 14, 2012, 06:48:23 PM
 #32

lol VB6. It's called Qt and it's from Nokia: http://qt.nokia.com/

And that's why it sucks Tongue

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 06:49:25 PM
 #33

lol VB6. It's called Qt and it's from Nokia: http://qt.nokia.com/

And that's why it sucks Tongue
Looks far better than most Java stuff, you must admit.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 07:55:43 PM
 #34

lol VB6. It's called Qt and it's from Nokia: http://qt.nokia.com/

And that's why it sucks Tongue

It's actually not from Nokia... Nokia bought out it's creator (Trolltech) in 2008 and hasn't changed much since.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
h00ters
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 01:01:39 AM
 #35

lol VB6. It's called Qt and it's from Nokia: http://qt.nokia.com/
If you really have 11,000 transactions, why are you even using the GUI?

And if you know how to program in wx, you are welcome to maintain the old version. Luke-Jr will even help you set it up.

Happy I got some lol's out of the VB6 comment. Cheesy

So, run bitcoind instead of GUI you're saying?

Thanks!
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 01:04:03 AM
 #36

lol VB6. It's called Qt and it's from Nokia: http://qt.nokia.com/
If you really have 11,000 transactions, why are you even using the GUI?

And if you know how to program in wx, you are welcome to maintain the old version. Luke-Jr will even help you set it up.

Happy I got some lol's out of the VB6 comment. Cheesy

So, run bitcoind instead of GUI you're saying?

Thanks!
It would definitely be more efficient, especially if you have some way of automating your process (sounds high volume). It requires you to send it commands and get a response, like most daemon applications, so it won't be like clicking a bunch of buttons and away you go. But it will run with your existing wallet with no problems.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 12:47:47 PM
 #37

bitcoin-qt has a flaw when you have thousands of transactions It starts to be a CPU and memory hog. Plus it looks like it was done in VB6. The GUI is crap, please go back to one of the beta designs as it was far superior.

I'm running this on windows, setting the priory to low, and setting the affinity to only using 2 CPU's on bitcoin-qt.exe. No real change, still a hog.

The client started to become a more of a resource whore around the ~1000 transactions mark... not sure 100% tho. I'm a little over 11k transactions.. and doing more and more everyday.

I've tried multibit, and Electrum.. both sux imho...  May give multibit another try, but hate running java.. *sigh*

I know of a few other users with the same issue... From my conclusion it seems that the bitcoin client does not like to have thousands and thousands of transactions

Any suggestions?

Just curious, care to explain why you didn't like Electrum and MultiBit? Have you tried both recently?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 08:55:18 PM
 #38

I'm running into a minor annoyance that is happening on two separate Windows 7 x64 machines.  After exiting bitcoin-qt, the icon remains in the system tray until you move the mouse over it.  I'm not sure if it is a Windows issue or something specific to my display settings, but I don't recall it happening with earlier versions.  Anyone else seeing the same behavior?


This will be fixed with the next version, I created a patch for this. Was related to how Bitcoin-Qt was exit until 0.6.2.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 08:56:56 PM
 #39

I see that too on W7 x64, and additionally another display anomaly: Clicking the icon once pops the window into the foreground, and clicking again puts it back down in the tray. This isn't a bad thing, but it is different from how it used to work. It used to require a double click to open, and X it out to minimize to tray.

That's a new feature and intended! Should have been mentioned in the changelog, perhaps it was in and you didn't see it Wink?

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 08:58:02 PM
 #40

When sending coins from one of your addresses to another one of your addresses, the client only displays an entry saying "transaction to yourself" without listing the amount or the from/to address.
While this isn't a bug, it makes keeping track of your coins difficult. Blockchain.info for example lists the transaction just like every other one; I suggest that the client should do the same.

You should perhaps create an issue ticket directly on Github.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!